We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boring...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
H.TOP Royal Star & SPA
Ranked #87 of 124 Hotels in Lloret de Mar
Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Boring...”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Well... Im a 17 year old boy who likes to go on holidays with my family. We love a good laugh, a good drink and couple of songs on the karaoke. I went with 3 other people (Dad, Mum and sister) and when we first arrived at 12 in the afternoon, we were very pleased and excited to get our holiday started. The rooms you cant complain with, we had no noise and nothing was broken or skanky etc.
We went to the entertainment every night and to be honest, this hotel needs to sort out there views on good entertainment. It was trashy and cheesy and boring. You cant fault the animation staff though, they were so happy and joyful with every kid on the premises.
Lloret de mar overall was good. The shopping was amazing and loved everything, you could get good fakes, nice clothes and the shops are really cheap too.
Because of the junky entertainment we had a look round the town every night to see what we could do instead of falling asleep at the hotel. But honestly there was one measly bar we found that wasnt filled with teenagers or just litterally no one in. The food at the hotel was Ok. There were a different selection everynight but got a bit boring after a while. Sunbeds were a nightmare.
The drinks and cups situation was a pain and i dont see why they dont get get off there bums and collect glasses like a normal hotel. All in all, i expected so much for Lloret de mar and HTOP ROYAL STAR, but its safe to say that it doesnt deserve 4 star and i shall never return again :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lloydy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HTOPHotels, Director Comercial at H.TOP Royal Star & SPA, responded to this review, 26 September 2014
Dear lloydy K.

Firstly we would like to thank you for your constructive criticism which we must allow to improve our product serve to costumers. We would also like to convey our concern and we will try to improve as much as possible.

Also we apologize if some our services concerning our entertainment haven’t been as positive as possible. For us is very important to be attentive to amble and address some of the defects..

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,805 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    496
    472
    326
    316
See reviews for
643
492
45
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

arrived at htop royal star on the 31st july left 7th august and couldn't wait to getaway.
on arrival first impressions were mixed,bit run down from outside but reception was clean and tidy.
booked in eventually and was given a pack of cards and instructions on how,when and where to use them(confused.com)you can only get one drink if you show a black card followed by a white one which bar staff keep until you return the smallest plastic glass you will ever see on a AI holiday.you have to show cards for food and even in then you still have to show cards to get a drink.card system a joke..the food was mostly cold unless you fancied melting ice cream.the chips were soggy and cold for breakfast yes breakfast..one of the days there was pigs trotters and rabbits legs on the menu with chips and meat balls cold veg plus fish..the coffee machine didn't work correctly(had to bang it)even then it was a lottery.THERE IS NO SEPERATE MENU FOR CHILDREN.the snack bar was well inside the hotel ,which again needed cards to get in,the only food in the snack bar was cold burgers hot dogs and chips,there was ham and cheese with a toasting machine which had one handle broke and other held on just by a small screw(very damgerous)
the corridors were clean and had settees scattered along them which were constantly used as a sleeping area for drunken youths of which this hotel was full of.
the room or pen was so small it was only large enough for two persons MAX not 3 adults and a child.A double bed and 2 single beds in a room 18 ft by 10 ft.airconditioning was turned of at around midnight(when I questioned this I was told it was to stop it over heating and to open patio)I opened patio to be greated by around 20 drunken youths singing dancing swearing etc...there were lights above the beds on closer inspection there was a 4 inch holein the wall with bare live wires showing
the pool area was very over crowded with severe lack of sunbeds and space.no life guard on duty meaning around 2pm every day when the drink had worn off the pool became full of youths diving in drinking and just being a total pain.on one occasion human excrement was thrown from a pool side room on to the side of the pool where kids were playing and adults were sitting.day after cups were thrown from same area the toilets around the pool were blocked and full.the other cubical had no lock on the door the urinal was over flowing(still same when we were leaving).entertainment in the day was three so called entertainers mixing drinks into a jug with fruitand handing it to adults,night time was even worse,disco with dj that no one ever saw due to him sitting behind his set up..needless to say most nights were spend out spending money we hadn't budgeted for..the hotel is next to a main road between fenals and lloret and is very noisey especially with emergency vehicles.
in total this hotel is basically for groups of drunken youths that cause havoc and distress forother family holiday makers..NEVER should this be rated 4star,Apart from the cleaners who were excellent doing there job every other members of staff were rude and unhelpful.wasted a week of my life at this place..PLEASE STAY AWAY

Room Tip: try another hotel..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pete160870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HTOPHotels, Director Comercial at H.TOP Royal Star & SPA, responded to this review, 27 September 2014
Dear Pete16087.

Very sorry that you have gone with this low rating and also sorry not have met your expectations towards us.
Thank you very much for your good comments relating the hotel and the cleanness of the hotel
As always thank you for taking the trouble made this statement with our best disposition to convince customers like you to change the feedback for us .

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lloret de Mar hotels

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

just returned from a week stay at this hotel.. to say the least it was a nightmare.On first impressions arriving late it looked ok but when we got into the room we knew it would be a long week..3 adults and one child crammed into a small room with beds side by side with no space between..air con is turned off at night supposedly due to overheating although they don't seem too interested and got told to open the patio!! Restaurant is an absolute joke queing for everything which to be honest if u call pigs trotters and rabbits legs and meatballs something worth queing for then good luck.!!.all cheap food mass produced and cold ..didn't enjoy one meal in this place.Even had to queue for drinks in restaurant!! the whole card system is a farce..My 8 yr old son could not enjoy his AI as it was just too much hassle to get drinks at pool..ice creams were locked away in restaurants so only ones available were to pay for.Entertainment was rubbish..don't believe what they advertise because it dosent happen!!! Kids club is a joke and wouldn't trust leaving my child there..pools are too small and 90 sunbeds for 900 guests, well you can guess the hassle! This hotel is geared up for gangs of young kids there to party..not at all a family hotel and if I was offered a free stay I would turn it down..4 star..lucky to get 2!!

Room Tip: Only have 2 people in a room as this is all there is space for
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HTOPHotels, Director Comercial at H.TOP Royal Star & SPA, responded to this review, 25 September 2014
Dear Dawn.
First of all, we would like to thank you to share your opinion on Tripadvisor. It is always important for us to read the opinions of our guests, in our work to improve the service offered to our customers.
We are very sorry about the points that didn’t reach your expectations. We will definitely take all of your comments into account and will pass the information to the concerned departments.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Please read this review before you book here.

We booked a FAMILY holiday for two weeks in July 2014 and I have to say thanks to this hotel it was one of the worst holidays I have ever had.

I'll be fair and start with the positives about this hotel.

1. The reception staff are really friendly and work very hard.
2. The food (although very limited in choice) is very good.
3. The hotel is very clean.
4. My kids seem to like the kids club and the entertainers, they always seem to make a fuss of my kids and they knew them on a first name basis.
5. The hotel is placed in a good area where is five minutes from the town and beach.

BUT SAYING ALL THAT.........
We booked a nice two week relaxing FAMILY holiday and got..........
A hotel full of foreign 18 to 30'see youngsters who like youngsters will do what youngsters do best is get drunk dure in the day and then party all night. They took over the pool playing silly diving games, which was very dangourous as they was many kids playing in the pool and they was no life guard at anytime to police it. At night (after midnight) they would make playing music really loud, shout, sing, party in there rooms. Many times you would be woke to people having sex (remember this is ment to a family hotel). Many occasions I smelt people smoking dope not only on their balconies but also around the pool. One occasion one of our friends over heard someone snorting something in the female toilets (take your guesses at what that would have been), one day someone actually through excrement from the balcony onto the pool area. YES someone actually through their own feaces into an area where kids where playing.

On top of all this the hotel itself the entertainment at night was extremely poor, it was worse than anything you have seen on Phenix Nights.

The beer they served was poor, watered down and full far too much of gas.

The whole all inclusive system was frustrating. You was given cards which you had to hand in every time you wanted a drink, resulting in you having one PLASTIC glass per person and YOU had to return this glass to get another drink if you lost this glass then you was fined 2 euros. So basic you did the glass collecting.

Not enough sun loungers to meet the number of guest in the hotel and the pools where far too small.

The park was out of action for the first week and half as they were maintaining it (this could have been done out of peak time!)

The gym was awful, nothing in there worked.

As you can see I was extremely disappointed as where all the other English guests I spoke to on this holiday. I can'tell blame the youngsters for acting the way they did, this is what young people do, however I can blame a hotel the advertisers themselves as a family hotel and ends up being a zoo!!!

Please if you are thinking of booking here and have kids the think again, I would not recommend this hotel to anyone, I certainly wouldn't go back and I certainly won't ever use another H Top hotel again. They say they are a four star hotel, I think they just scrape a three.

Room Tip: Don'the bother views are terrible and no matter where you are placed you will get noise of peopl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HTOPHotels, Director Comercial at H.TOP Royal Star & SPA, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Dear Andrew
Thank you for taking time and write a review on TRIPADVISOR .We deeply regret that the hotel did not meet your expectations and we take a note of your comments with the aim of improving .
Thank you very much for your kind comments regarding our Reception Staff and about the quality of the food as well as the situation of the Hotel.

We hope to see you soon and to show you that we hear the feedback from our customers and that we work to offer them an unforgettable experience in our different HTOP HOTELS.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Somerset
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Just arrived back from a 5 day break. We arrived around midnight on our first day. It was a smooth but bit of a long process checking in and our registering AI cards for our stay. It would have been nice if they had offered us some refreshments. There was 6 of us staying (2 families in 2 rooms). We had a nice room with balcony overlooking the pool. The paper thin walls was dusturbing! You can hear everything! One night people in next door appt came back after midnight swearing and shouting..it actually quite scared me. I was going to call reception but it all calmed down by 12.30am so let it go. The pool area was quite small with us not being able to get a sunbed (towels were on them way before the 9am!) We ended up going to the H.Top Royal Beach down the road which was much bigger and pleasent. Meals were very good - a vast selection for everyone. My teenage boys were happy. The AI card system I found was so regimented. You not only have to show it as you enter the dining hall you also have to show it to get your drinks in the same area. Why?! The evening entertainment was rubbish! Well..apart from the Flamenco dancers on one of the nights. We only stayed 5 nights it may have got better. The djs did not interact with crowd they just sat there behind the music system with glum faces. They could have dimmed the lights a bit so we could dance..All in all we enjoyed ourselves. Lovely Fenals beach, great boat trip to visit nearby Tossa de Mar, free bus to take you to the Water Park which was great but very expensive. I wouldnt like to stay at this hotel again but would like to come back to the area most likely Tossa next time.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ebony04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HTOPHotels, Director Comercial at H.TOP Royal Star & SPA, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Dear Evony04

First I would like to thank you the time it took to share your experience on TRIPADVISOR .
It is due the guest opinion that we have the opportunity to improve and definitely we will do it taking into consideration your comments.
Thank you very much for your kind words towards the cleaning are passed on to motivate them even more.
We thank you for sharing your opinion and we hope to welcome you back to our HTOP HOTELS around all the Costa Brava and Costa del Maresme.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

stayed here 19th april 2014 nice hotel rooms very clean ,bar staff fantastic very friendly, the food was good,bit of a bull bate as spanish were on there gollies as well, overall enjoyed stay not bad for a cheap holiday.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miff1100r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HTOPHotels, Director Comercial at H.TOP Royal Star & SPA, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Dear Miff1100
Thank you so very much for taking the time to review HTOP ROYAL STAR on TripAdvisor.
I am delighted to read of your experience and thank you for your extensive compliments. It is a pleasure for my team and I to be in a position to help in making your stay such a good and enjoyable one and very much look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit.
Thank you once again for staying with us and for your time in posting your review.

Thanks MIFF110!!!!

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

I am sitting in the hotel at the moment . I have read the reviews and was petrified. But this place is really good it's busy but you would not notice staff are really friendly food is good pool is nice. We normally stay in pretty nice hotels and although this is not luxurious it is perfect no matter what level of comfort you are used too. If it's not you may just be a little fussy .

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Murrzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HTOPHotels, Director Comercial at H.TOP Royal Star & SPA, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Dear Murrzer

It is a great pleasure for us to receive your review and to read that you enjoyed your stay at HTOP ROYAL STAR.

We would like to thank you for mentioning many of the points of interest our hotel offers to the guests. We are glad to know that you were positively impressed by our staff and that the standard of service experienced was the one you expected. Thank you also for letting us know about those aspects which were less positive.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for your future stay. We will be delighted to offer you our assistance for your next holidays in LLoret de Mar.

Thank you Murrzer!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lloret de Mar
0.4 mi away
H.TOP Royal Beach
H.TOP Royal Beach
#63 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
2,028 reviews
0.2 mi away
H.TOP Palm Beach & SPA
H.TOP Palm Beach & SPA
#73 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
997 reviews
11.1 mi away
H.TOP Calella Palace
H.TOP Calella Palace
#25 of 43 in Calella
1,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Alba Seleqtta Hotel
Alba Seleqtta Hotel
#24 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
647 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Samba
Hotel Samba
#90 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
1,585 reviews
14.1 mi away
H.TOP Platja Park
H.TOP Platja Park
#21 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H.TOP Royal Star & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H.TOP Royal Star & SPA

Property: H.TOP Royal Star & SPA
Address: Avda. Vila de Blanes, 70, 17310 Lloret de Mar, Spain (Formerly H TOP Royal Star)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Lloret de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Lloret de Mar
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Lloret de Mar
#41 Luxury Hotel in Lloret de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — H.TOP Royal Star & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-Star H•TOP Royal Star & SPA hotel is a nice family oriented hotel located in the lively city of Lloret de Mar, (north-east coast of Spain). Positioned at 10-minute walk from Fenals Beach Creek and a 15-minute walk from the Lloret de Mar beach. This classic 397- room hotel offer plenty of fun activities and relaxation comforts for adults and children. It is situated at 85 Km from Barcelona – El Prat Airport and 25 Km from Girona Airport. Lloret de Mar is one of the most popular cities in Costa Brava known for the lively nightlife and its clean&safe beaches. FACILITIES Rooms • Social room (ping pong, billard, etc.) • Restaurant • 2 Bar • 2 Swimming pools • Sun terraces • Laundry • Souvenirs/gift shop Children • Miniclub • Playground • Baby cots and chairs Spa area • Heated indoor pool with waterfall • Turkish bath • Sauna • Fitness room Staff • 24 hour Front Desk services • Multilingual staff • Housekeeping Others • Facilities for guests with disabilities • Currency exchange • Car hire* • External medical service* • Air-conditioning / Heating • Safe boxes* • Wi-Fi* • TV • Luggage storage • Showers for check-out • Lifts • Bikes* • Parking* *Some of these services are extra or require a deposit (ask at the Hotel) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your H.TOP Royal Star & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Royal Star Hotel
Royal Star Hotel Lloret De Mar
H.TOP Royal Star & SPA Lloret De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing