We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unfriendly service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal Magnolia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Magnolia
Certificate of Excellence
New Providence, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unfriendly service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed there for a week in September. Hotel is nice and clean, location is great, price is good, and hotel’s owners are friendly. What else to expect? However couple of things really irritated us in cafeteria: each piece of food we took – was traced by very unfriendly stuff. When I took an extra fork – service lady explained to me that I already have a fork on my table. My husband wanted to fill in his thermos with hot water - and was told – that this is not allowed: this put us in real shock. And many-many small things, when we add them together it created really uncomfortable atmosphere. Hence, I would not recommend this place to my friends…

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irina r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    57
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
31
60
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Stayed here for a week ...Nice litle hotel.After reading all the reviews before we left i was quite assured a great review would be left but there aree a couple of niggly litle things.Price is great location is good ..up a steep hill so be careful with the elderly in the heat..

only one of the staff speak much english and most of the guests are german or spanish and all seem to know each other and are very clannish.

Breakfast is ok always something to find ..

most of the staff ok some a little moody but like i said they dont speak english so its our fault for not speaking spanish.

all in all a decent place to lay your head .oh rooms very small and only 2 sockets one in bathroom ..for 3 people this was a little problem with charging and hair straighteners etc .

the managers wife birthday party was there the week we stayed n we got an invite .very pleasnat affair but then again no one spoke english .

i would nt stay again because of language barrier but if you want a cheap place to sleep then this place is great .. 5 minute walk to beach n bars ..

we lost hot or cold water differing days 3 times in one week but this can happen anywhere .

Room Tip: beg for balcony no air con and small rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank menbex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Me and the girlfriend went away for 2 days last week. we was suppose to stay at apartmentos magnolia which is something completely different with poor reviews but reading the reviews at this place i wished i had booked a room here instead. little behold after 2 hours of walking around Lloret in a Thunderstorm for 2 hours late at night we discovered our holiday booking site onthebeach.co.uk had given us the complete wrong place so we had to walk to Hostal Magnolia with attempt to pay for a room there instead.

As soon as we arrived the gentlemen who worked the late shift was extremely pleasant and helpful he sorted the problem straight away and gave us a room. Entering the room we was very happy with a very comfy bed, nice and clean bathroom, a large wardrobe,a flat screen tv and fresh clean bedding and towels.

The next morning the lady that we presumed was the manager was also very helful and friendly she informed us that we was actualy supppose to be staying there and was apologetic for our troubles the night before; we did have a little trouble with the breakfast lady she was very rude and confused about why we was entitled to the breakfast we had paid for even when the manager had told her we had paid for 2 nights and 2 breakfasts she continued to argue with her then when the manager made her point with the lady and told us to follow her into the dining area were the breakfast was the lady then turned and said to us "this is not correct" which i thought was extremely rude and unprofessional.

However despite that one staff member all the other staff was very professional, friendly and helpful we was glad to have stayed in the accommodation that we originally hoped for and would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Callum S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex uk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Family run hotel very friendly could not be more helpful. Excellent breakfast and evening meal great choice. Rooms were compact but adequate and very clean. Quiet area in a side street near to the beach and bars.
Compact pool area
A non smoking area would be be ideal

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony, great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richard598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

We have just returned from a week at Hostal Magnolia and I would highly recommend it to anyone. I stayed in a double room with my teenage daughter, which was small and did not have air condition but we slept with the balcony door open.
Room was immaculate with clean towels every day, I am very fussy about cleanliness and could not fault it.
Staff were friendly and helpful, especially Goyo, who spoke a number of languages. Nothing was too much trouble.
We stayed B&B, breakfast was continental, plenty of meats, cheese, cereal, breads and pastries. You could sit inside or in the beautiful garden to eat.
Drinks in bar on an evening were very reasonably priced and good measures of vodka! :)
Free wi-fi was good to be able to keep in touch with family back home and it reached up to our room on the 5th floor.
Location is perfect, 5 minute walk away to the beach and shops. Little shop just round the corner from hotel sold drinks, snacks and gifts all at reasonable prices.
I would definitely return, one of the best holidays I have had.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a balcony as no air con.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank claireycats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Have just returned from a short break with family at the Hostal Magnolia. I booked this based on the reviews I had read and we weren't disappointed. The room was small, double and single with no balcony, but no detriment as we only slept there. The room was spotlessly clean and serviced daily. The pool is small, but we as we had mainly to ourselves it was like having a private pool. The staff are lovely and nothing is too much trouble. Can highly recommend the Sangria........... Free WiFi proved a godsend for the ipad attached teenager!!! Good location, excellent value for money. Highly recommended

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alisoncross2812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Just returned from a long weekend with friends at the Hostal Magnolia. First impressions were that our room was small, basic with no air conditioning, this was expected as we paid such a small price and were aware this was a 2 star property. However, we did not realise the wonderful stay we were about to have. The staff are the friendliest I have ever met in any hotel/apartment I have stayed in. Honestly, they could not do enough for all the guests who stayed there and the atmosphere was one of staying with family. Safe, friendly and welcoming. Our room was cleaned every day, fresh bed sheets and towels. The breakfast was really nice for the price and the surroundings lovely, the tables are set in the garden, amongst orange trees, pots full of herbs, lots of pretty flowers and a fishpond, The pool is small but there is a good atmosphere late afternoon, we would return from the beach and sit there drinking cocktails chatting with the staff and having a dip til late evening. The food and drink prices cannot be beaten. Lovely mojitos 2.50!! plus the owner would pop out every now and then with free little snacks for everyone, bread, cheese tomatoes, ham, crisps. There was a good mix of nationalities there, We were the only brits. Families, young groups, older couples. But everyone was respectful of their fellow guests and staff. All in all, a little haven in a very busy resort. I would highly recommend for anyone on a tight budget or those who want to stay with a wonderful hard working family at their lovely establishment. Big thanks to all the staff there.

Room Tip: Rooms are small with no air conditioning so request a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nattybelle81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lloret de Mar hotels
0.5 mi away
Els Llorers
Els Llorers
#9 of 127 in Lloret de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rosamar Maxim - Adults Only
Hotel Rosamar Maxim - Adults Onl...
#16 of 127 in Lloret de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rosamar & Spa
Rosamar & Spa
#11 of 127 in Lloret de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rosamar Maritim
Rosamar Maritim
#22 of 127 in Lloret de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Acapulco Lloret de Mar
Hotel Acapulco Lloret de Mar
#15 of 127 in Lloret de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aparthotel Costa Encantada
Aparthotel Costa Encantada
#10 of 127 in Lloret de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Magnolia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Magnolia

Property: Hostal Magnolia
Address: Sant Jaume 8, 17310 Lloret de Mar, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Lloret de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 69 Speciality Lodging in Lloret de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Magnolia 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome home. Welcome to the HOSTAL MAGNOLIA, a little and familiar establishment located in a quiet area from Lloret de Mar in la Costa Brava. It lays 200 meters from the central beach and their owners, Santiago and Conchita are waiting for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hostal Magnolia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Magnolia Lloret De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing