We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice views, rude staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Apartments AR Melrose Place
Ranked #103 of 124 Hotels in Lloret de Mar
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice views, rude staff”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I came here on a girls holiday in August 2013. We were very pleased with the appartments for what we paid, they were spacious and had lovely views of the sea, unfortunately the staff were incredibly rude and uncooperative. There was a 150€ deposit to be paid for each room upon arrival which was not mentioned during any stage of the booking, also some sort of tax had to be paid ontop of this however when I tired to query this the staff member could not understand me and so I couldn't figure out what this was for, in the end me and my friends just paid it because of the language barrior. We were given a list of items that were in each appartment and a cost for how much each item would cost if we were to lose or damage them, when arriving in our rooms we discovered all of us were already missing many of these and so we had to keep reporting these to the staff so that we wouldn't be charged for their loss. The man who we dealt with us upon check in was very rude and unhelpful when I asked to speak to a manager or someone who could speak English he just shrugged his shoulders. The hotel is situated in reasonable distance to the beach and the bars however this does include a rather steep hill which became a pain when trying to carry our food shopping back up to the hotel. I wouldn't reccomend staying here if you are looking to party hard because me and my friends were told to be quiet at 10pm one evening when we were drinking on the balcony, I would say that we are quite a tame group of friends and not rowdy at all but felt as if that's how they treated us. The pool is incredibly small so me and my friends only went in it on one occasion during our weeks stay. The only attractive feature of this hotel is that the rooms were perfect for us as they were very spacious and we loved the balconies, however I would not stay here again as the staff were incredibly rude and unwelcoming, possibly because we were a group of 18 year old girls and they assumed we would be trouble, however this was an unfair judgement.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 513Lilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    11
    13
    15
    20
See reviews for
15
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

ME AND MY PARTNER STAYED AT MELROSE APARTMENTS FOR 3 DAYS,the apartment was large and clean ,we had a lovely sleep every night the large bed was comfortable,we heard no noise .despite the fact there was a lot of the apartments booked,OUR RECEPTION YOUNG LADY [ROXANNE WAS ALLWAYS POLITE TO US ] roxanne spoke very good english, and made us breakfast which was lovely with our fresh orange, THE BARMAN SU WAS EXCELLENT, he made our drinks spoke perfect english we had plenty of chats with him, WE WOULD DEFITNELY COME AND STAY HERE AGAIN, me and my partner travel to all parts of spain and we love every part we have been,

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank martin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I visited the Melrose Place Apartments in October 13 with my partner but we were part of a larger group of friends. It didn’t exactly get of to a great start when we arrived at 2pm to be told we could not check in until 4pm but when 4pm arrived some of the rooms were still not ready.

As has been mentioned several times they want a €120 deposit from you in case of damages. OK, if you are a single sex stag party I could understand this but this blanket policy is ridiculous in my opinion. They also give you a list for everything in the apartment so they can charge you in case of breakages or missing items so make sure you check it carefully and report any missing items.
That said you can use a credit card and we had no issue getting our deposit back at the end of the holiday.

The apartments themselves are pretty basic, twin hob, microwave, toaster and a fridge. We had missing pillows which it took three requests over as many days to get the extra pillows on ‘the list’
We also had a remote for the TV but not for the satellite.

The floor was pretty grubby, no way had it been cleaned prior to our arrival and the shower was loose in ALL the apartments. If there are two of you, get in the shower quick so your partner ends up with half a cold shower lol.

To sum up, the apartments were basic and a bit grubby but they were fine for somewhere to crash and I should point out we obviously went at the end of the season and we did have a sea view.

Another couple in our group had no patio furniture and when this was raised it was made clear they had no intention of sourcing them any!

The pool is very deep, certainly not for young children but there was hardly anyone hanging around during the day so sunbed availability was not an issue.

The reason nobody was hanging around was the service from the ‘bar’ and the quality of the food.
Do your self a favour and stick to a ham and cheese roll, anything more complicated than that takes and age and is clearly microwaved!
The bar, which is supposed to stay open until 1am, was always shut when we got back on an evening, sometimes as early as 10am.
The day staff (mainly students as far as I could tell were policte enough but the little barman/nightwatchman had a really miserable attitude, thoroughly unpleasant to the point whether I was weighing up if a smack in the chops was worth €120!!

If all this is worrying you, don’t worry too much as there are a few bars just at the bottom of the hill, we gave up eating and drinking at the bar at the hotel and just wandered off site. In particular we spent lots of time at the Bodega Christina, basic menu but good quality and cheap booze! There is also a supermarket at the foot of the steps.

From all the reviews I was expecting ‘Cardiac Hill’ to be something akin to the north face of the Eiger! In reality it was not that bad and I am chronically unfit!

It is a bit of a trek into town though but at the end of the night, a taxi back from the far end of town is only circa €6.

All in all, If you have already booked a holiday at Melrose Place apartments then don’t worry too much, it’s not the greatest place on earth but I’m sure you’ll have a good time. We had a great week despite the accommodation!

If you are considering booking a holiday here however then I would strongly advise you to avoid, there are much better options in Lloret and the surrounding area!

Room Tip: Phone another hotel lol
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee1340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lloret de Mar hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

If it was possible to score this as a minus, I would. Quite frankly, the star they get here is by default. I went to Lloret with my fiancée, and this was our first trip abroad together: this "hotel" made it the perfect start. Not. After being dumped in no mans land by our transfer (which took over 2 hours and NOT the specified one hour) with no directions to the place from our driver, our initial impression was that we had been dropped off in Beirut. Thinking they had made an error with our drop off point, we aimlessly wandered looking for the place, being given umpteen different sets of directions from locals and other hotels. It took the best part of an hour to find it, and when we did it nearly killed us walking up the hill to it. We are by no means unfit people! When we finally arrived, we noticed thatvit was apartments, and NOT a hotel as advised in our booking. We waited 20 minutes for someone to come to reception, as there was no means to get their attention, and were immediately startled when they tried to take 120 euros deposit from us before giving us our key. When I refused to pay, I was told I wouldn't be staying there unless I did. This fee was never explained in our booking, but when we told reception this, we were made out to be liars. Guys, if you want to avoid this, as it takes a chunk from your spending money, threaten them with your embassy/consulate, and they will change their tune. After 30 more minutes of arguing, I came away with my 120 euros. Good job, as we hadn't seen the room yet! (And they also had the cheek to ask for a tourist tax fee which, apparently is Catalan law. Bull! I've been before, to Barcelona, and hadn't been asked for this silly fee. Anyway, back to the room.....dirty, run down, cramped and very old fashioned. NOTHING LIKE THE PICTURES!!! And in the four days we stayed, it was never cleaned or given fresh towling. An absolute shambles. The TV didnt work, there were shutters covering the balcony doors (which did come up if you could be bothered to manoeuvre them back down) and the place was too noisy. The bar was never opened beyond 9pm, despite us being told 1am, and the security/night porters did not speak any English. Sure, it's helpful if we learn a bit of the lingo, but this is not very comforting for tourists that the guts in charge of your security are clueless as to what you're saying. Other than that, other little problems were a lack of lighting in the doorways, a vending machine that never had anything you wanted, or if it did, ate your change, and a table area by the pool that you were not allowed to eat or drink at - so if you wanted any refreshment, you were restricted completely to the bar area and its lack of air con. This place is bad. Real bad.

Room Tip: I doubt they have good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Toastie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2013

You get what you pay for I have to say I was pleasantly surprised when we arrived after the terrible reviews I had read apartment was large and clean everything you need for s/c only bad thing was the cardiac workout I had twice a day when returning to the apartment defiantly not a walk for faint hearted or not fully mobile,,, staff were friendly and helpful no problems at all

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PettyManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2013

when we arrived the night watch man didnt have a clue on how to check some one in he took are deposit that you have to pay incase you brake any thing they charge you for it its 3 euros per cup or plate an glasses 100 euros for a microwave ect wile he was running around trying to sort out room keys hed askd for are passports witch he left unatended twice he didnt say when he wantd them for just kept saying in the morning well i wasnt goin any were with out an speshly as he left them twice its self catering but the rooms dont even have a kettel there is a fridge but it didnt work very well are drinks were cooler by being left out in the shade there were no pillows for the sofa bed an no sheets we had to hire them the next day when the staff were in witch wasnt often the bar was shut more then it was open so if u wantd a snack or drink you had to walk to the shop witch is at the bottom of a killer hill me an the kids used the pool its very deep even at the shallow end it lookd dirty an i didnt see any one clean it all week when we got out of the pool an went up to are room we got a know on the door and were told off for making the floor around the pool wet i cudnt let my children out on the balcony as the glass was very wobbly an lookd unsafe the windows an doors are very drafty an when you have the shutters down they rattle like mad so if ur just lookin for some to sleep its ok but the beach is cheaper i wudnt recomend this place to any one with small children or any one with moblity issues as its on a very steep hill its not child friendly or even adult fridenly the staff were missrable an only did what they had to the bar was hardly open there are a lot more nicer an just as cheap places to stay

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanne c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 October 2012

My boyfriend and i stayed here in early October. We both really enjoyed it. We read some of the reviews and were a bit worried but we had no problems. Yes you have to pay a 120 euro deposit but it does tell you that when your booking, and you get it back with no problems at the end of your stay. We arrived around 4pm and were greeted by a really nice man who was really helpful, told us where all the local shops were and everything we needed to know. Our apartment on the first floor was great! Had everything in that we needed (apart from a kettle) but you can always boil water on the hob. The company own a few hotels in the local area and the staff did sometimes have to close our bar for a few hours to go to other hotels but they always gave notice of when this was going to happen. All staff were very friendly too.
The only thing i would say is make sure you wear shoes when using the hob in the kitchen as i got an electric shock and when i told you receptionist his response was just 'you should wear shoes' which is quite dangerous!
But apart from that can't fault this hotel all in all had a great holiday and we have already said we will be going back there next year! :))

Room Tip: Doesn't matter which room you stay in they all have the same view but i think the one bedroom ap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lloret de Mar hotels
0.5 mi away
Apartaments Lloveras
Apartaments Lloveras
#80 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
23 reviews
0.9 mi away
Apartments AR Santa Anna II
Apartments AR Santa Anna II
#78 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
66 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bolero Park Apartments
Bolero Park Apartments
#82 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Santa Ana
#79 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
47 reviews
0.5 mi away
Els Llorers
Els Llorers
#8 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
827 reviews
0.3 mi away
ALEGRIA San Juan Park
ALEGRIA San Juan Park
#89 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartments AR Melrose Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments AR Melrose Place

Property: Apartments AR Melrose Place
Address: Reina Fabiola 1, 17310 Lloret de Mar, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Lloret de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 124 Hotels in Lloret de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartments AR Melrose Place 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Apartments AR Melrose Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melrose Place Hotel Lloret De Mar
Apartments AR Melrose Place Lloret De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing