We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as bad as most reviews make out”
Review of Hotel Clipper

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Clipper
Ranked #101 of 125 Hotels in Lloret de Mar
cheshire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Not as bad as most reviews make out”
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We booked a weeks holiday in the clipper hotel llorete de mar via on the beach. The rooms available where Standard with a choice on bb or half board. We payed £705 for a week half board 14 aug. After reading some reviews I was a little concerned but I do like to make my own mind up but I did learn you had to upgrade to superior if you wanted air con which is defo a must for me, you also get a tv. When we arrived at the hotel first impressions on reception where clean and friendly. Good start. We decided we would look at the standard room before asking if we could upgrade. On entering the room it was very warm, very basic, and tired. We asked if we could upgrade and luckily thre was availability, the staff where great. It cost us 85euros to up grade which we didn't think was bad at all. On entering the superior room it was like walking into a totally different hotel, it was cool, airy and bright and slightly larger than the previous one. We made a wise move. But don't forget the price for the standard room was good like the saying goes you pay for what you get. There wasn't many English in the hotel and the majority of guests were under 30 years old. It could be noisy at times but we asked reception to sort this out and they did, everyone enjoys holidays in different ways, young like to party all night lol. The food was really nice lots of selection breakfast time and tea time, the only Chritisim I would have is they should label foods so you know what your eating, there was always something nice to eat and the salad was gorgeous. The maids came in daily emptied bins, fresh towels. We where a 10 min walk from the night life and beach but it wasn't an issue, you could take the route threw the shops and bars having a Quiter drink on the way or walk along the main rd. Bars didn't get busy till 9.30 ish, later for the teens which there are plenty off, but don't be put of we're in our 40's and we enjoyed ourselves. A beautiful resort, very lively but also relaxing but plenty to do if you want to keep busy.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are much better with air con and tv
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holidays070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    30
    22
    24
    56
See reviews for
14
35
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

On the first day my friends and I moved into a triple room. I was not expecting anything special, this is just a ** hotel, so the simplest furniture and a shower were fine with me.

Our adventure started when coming back to our room at 10pm we've discovered ants to be everywhere, including on the bed's and in some of our clothes. It took us about 3 hours to convince the receptionist that any-ants spray will not fix the problem and that we do really need to change the room fro the night.

In fact, the guy first pretended he did not speak English, then suggested to submit a complain( btw available only in Spanish). Furthermore insisted that i cannot take it back to my room and should fill it in ..in Spanish in his presence and that i can come back in the morning. Unfortunate for the guy, i had Google translate on my cell phone and decided that if i have no place to sleep - I can as well spend the night filling the pages in Spanish. Miracle! As soon as he understood that I am really going to complete it ..in his presence and it will take me long time, he found us a room in about 20 minutes.

Next unpleasant surprise was a very high noise rate. Hotel is buzzing with teenagers until 2-3am and there is no chance to sleep. Our room was on the 4rth floor.

Few days after i left a white shirt on my bed and most likely cleaning lady took it together with the bedclothes. I tried twice, first speaking to a woman who did not understood a word and just waved at me asking next person in the line to come by..then a manager came and all she could do is just send me downstairs to the laundry room to ask for "la camisa blanca". She said they aren't responsible...if i lost it. I gave up on the shirt not to spoil my vacation and moved to Barcelona shortly after.

What can i say...i've been staying in hostels a lot when travelling around Europe through the September of 2010, but then also in China (Xian, Beijin) ona previous year. ALL OF THE HOSTELS I'VE EVER BEEN TO WHERE MUCH BETTER THAN THIS HOTEL.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank caribery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lloret de Mar hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

This has got to be the WORST hotel I have ever been to! The pool is full and mostly in the shade...not one english person and nobody speaks it...the room are a disgrace....Cattle live in better shelter than that! My advice...save your money .. and go to blackpool...at least the food is edible there

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sheasmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ayr, scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2009

Although the clipper is a good 10 min walk from the centre, it's ideal!! I was wary wen i booked up and seen the reviews on here but they couldn't be more wrong!!

The hotel has a lovely reception area with comfy couches. The rooms are basic but ideal, theres no air con or tv either unless you upgrade to a superior room. Pool is great, we could always get a sunbed no matter wot time of the day! Not many brits here, full of continentals but wen ur on holiday who cares!!

Staff are ok and friendly enuf, u still get a couple of crabbit ones like anywhere else. Food is ok too! Breakfasts the best!

The only problem we encountered was that a day or two after we arrived, a bunch of inconsiderate italian lads moved into room next door to us n would not shut up!! Having said that, this was not the hotels fault!!

I will be back at the clipper for sure!!!

One other thing is tho DONT BOOK THROUGH ICELOLLY.COM - THEY RIP U OFF!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rbell1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2009

We actually stayed in the apartment block in front of the hotel. We had rooms facing the Clipper hotel, and it got pregressively noiser during the week we stayed from 29th August - 5th September. It acted like an 18-30 hotel, dread to think what it was like peak period. The spanish lads would all sit on their balconies, morning and night with mega phones screaming down them, playing loud music through them, singing football chants to each other. This would bad enough during the day, but at night they would do this at 5/6am for a few hours. We were woken everynight but the noise from this hotel. The staff didnt seem to care that their guests were disturbing not only their hotel but the TRIMAR apartments opposite and the San Juan Hotel next door. I didnt even stay there but it was our worst nightmare! The hotel looked dated, and they played trance music around the pool from about 9am all day. It wasnt for families at all or couples. It was full of young rowdy people when we were there that week.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dnbkittie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tachov
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2009

I stayed there in July 2008 with my wife (we´re 23 and 25 years old). German guests were horrible - runnig across the corridors in the night, they kicked to the door, smoked marihuana ... and staff can not stoped it. But food was good, and staff was OK. We from Czech republic thanks them ... and the rooms were very basic ... :-(

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Habrdle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2008

i advise any one who are British and over 25 and like good food
stay clear of this hotel it is noisy full,of continental teenagers who like to run about the corridors at all times of the night . The rooms
are basic and clean but the walls are paper thin you can here
everything.The food is continental and is the cheapest meat available,the soup kitchens have more choice in england so
i will not be going to lloret de mar ever again
york

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank maryannYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lloret de Mar hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Norai
Hotel Norai
#41 of 125 in Lloret de Mar
95 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ninays
Ninays
#35 of 125 in Lloret de Mar
103 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Proa-Astor
Hotel Proa-Astor
#56 of 125 in Lloret de Mar
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Armonia
Hotel Armonia
#84 of 125 in Lloret de Mar
48 reviews
0.0 mi away
ALEGRIA San Juan Park
ALEGRIA San Juan Park
#89 of 125 in Lloret de Mar
64 reviews
0.5 mi away
Montanamar Hotel
Montanamar Hotel
#47 of 125 in Lloret de Mar
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Clipper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Clipper

Property: Hotel Clipper
Address: Avenida Vila de Tossa 46, 17310 Lloret de Mar, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Lloret de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 125 Hotels in Lloret de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Clipper 2*
Number of rooms: 369
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Clipper reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clipper Hotel Lloret De Mar
Hotel Clipper Lloret De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing