We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent dinner in wonderful surroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Toftaholm Herrgard Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lagan
Certificate of Excellence
Eskilstuna, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner in wonderful surroundings”
Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

The dinner was really good, with very nice service. The room was ok, a little small, with a nice, clean and generous bathroom. The breakfast was all you can wish for. I will certainly recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerstin280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    38
    18
    6
    5
See reviews for
28
87
3
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Toftaholm was the second stop on our 14 day tour of Scandinavia. We were so looking forward to discovering the rural side of Sweden after the hustle and bustle of Stockholm. This hotel more than impressed with it's long, pastoral and serene drive past the entrance and down a narrow country lane followed by the entrance to the hotel grounds. The hotel has three main buildings off a manicured circled drive surrounded by one of the most beautiful and peaceful settings one can imagine with the highlight being a several acre private lake with walking trails.

Reception is a cozy lodge type atmosphere with restaurant behind. Check in was flawless and staff very attentive. We had a corner room on the second floor which gave us an additional window overlooking the lake area. Although the facilities are quite old they have been updated in a comfortable country style. In addition, the smart television and internet speed were quite a surprise.

As a tour group we ate in the restaurant twice and both times we were impressed by the quality of the food and attentiveness of staff. This is the kind of place one could stay for several days and enjoy the peace and tranquility of quite rambles among the pastures, woods and lakes of the area. In the end we could not have been more pleased with our short stay.

Room Tip: Second floor corner rooms have a bit more space and another window which in this setting adds to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nwesterner2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Just some K's from the main road approx 70 K's south of Jønkøping you find a sign with Toftaholm Herrgård.
We came by motorbike and hadn't booked beforhand- so we took the chance.
Arriving to the place- passing the portals to the property you immediately sense the "grandeur" of old times. The place is just beautiful and well kept. As we understood the property had been in the same family since 1389 !!, and we really got the feeling of traditions..
Welcomed by the owner with friendly smile, made us feel welcome, in fact so welcome that we forgot to ask the price for a room, were priced per person and not per room.
We got one of the 12 rooms in the main building, and the room was located twds the entranceaway from the beautiful lake- but- can you imagine - outside the main window was a huge mirror mounted on the roof ! Coming into the room you got the impression that you had a direct wonderful view of the lake ! Smart.
The restaurant offered a menu of the day as well as a la carte. We went foior the full treat- with wine. Excellent service- a very good kitchen made the meal perfect..

Expensive but worth it !

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view to the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helge M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2013

If you want a hotel in which to relax with fantastic service and great food then this is it.

The staff could not be more helpful, the rooms are a nice mix of old and new with internet enabled TV's and good wifi and it has a lovely quiet location on the lake.

Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SerialTraveller75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwestern USA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

In addition to lodging, the Toftaholm Herrgard Hotel offers lunch and dinner in its restaurant. We did not stay at the hotel, but had lunch there to celebrate a special occasion. The food was excellent, albeit on the expensive side. The staff was very friendly and speaks both English and German. They were very accommodating to our kids, offering a kid's plate of Swedish meatballs that was not on the menu.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monemmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alpharetta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

An amazing place in the middle of the Swedish Countryside. It was like taking a step back in time. The rooms were antique like but quite comfortable. The bathroom was large and had everything we needed. The whole place was spotless. The food in the restaurant was wonderful. This included dinner and breakfast. The grounds were beautiful and serene. If you are looking for lots to do this probably isn't the place for you. If you are looking for peace and quiet definitely this is your place. The innkeeper was a noble gentleman who was quite in charge and quite charming. Everyone there was accommodating and helpful. Truly a most pleasant experience. If I was giving an innkeepers award I would bestow it here!

Room Tip: I believe any room would be a good room by the way the property is set up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loves2travel56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We visited three times during the summer of 2011. Cooperating weather helped make our stays most memorable. It is not inexpensive. We traveled with two dogs and the staff could not have been more accomodating. Dinners are outstanding but the breakfasts are even better.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosiegracie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagan
9.7 mi away
Hotel Vidostern Varnamo
Hotel Vidostern Varnamo
#2 of 2 in Varnamo
58 reviews
10.9 mi away
Scandic Varnamo
Scandic Varnamo
#1 of 2 in Varnamo
138 reviews
7.7 mi away
No photo provided
Motell Lagan
#2 of 2 in Lagan
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Hotel Terraza
Hotel Terraza
#1 of 1 in Ljungby
50 reviews
22.3 mi away
Hotel Radmannen
Hotel Radmannen
#1 of 1 in Alvesta
34 reviews
13.9 mi away
Hotell Garvaren
Hotell Garvaren
#1 of 3 in Ljungby
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toftaholm Herrgard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toftaholm Herrgard Hotel

Property: Toftaholm Herrgard Hotel
Address: Toftaholm Herrgard 1 | Vittaryd, Lagan 341 55, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Kronoberg County > Lagan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lagan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Toftaholm Herrgard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Toftaholm Herrgard, a gastronomic stronghold dating back to the 14th century. Here, the guest and the food come first, a welcoming fire burns inside the door and our kitchen makes sure only the very best reaches the table! There are excellent opportunities for relaxation, romance and family celebrations at our manor. The wine cellar invites discoveries, the relaxation area offers a chance to unwind and the 45 charming and comfortable hotel rooms are all individually designed in a classic manor-house style. Toftaholm is located in the lovely Smaland countryside, a stone's throw from the E4 between Varnamo and Ljungby, close to the Kingdom of Crystal and the Furniture Design Centre, golf and good communications. The location offers excellent opportunities for exercise and recreation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Toftaholm Herrgard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toftaholm Herrgard Hotel Sweden/Lagan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing