We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Thatch

The Thatch
Ranked #2 of 11 Restaurants in Croyde
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Quality food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

I had a steak & ale pie at The Thatch and really enjoyed it. We found the service to be good, the food great quality, and a reasonable price. We highly recommend this place to any visitors to Croyde. We had a lunch this time, but have eaten there in the evening too, which was just as good.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bigdaz26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    497
    349
    142
    61
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely food, great service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

We ate a lunch at The Thatch and thoroughly enjoyed it. We visited as a party of 4 adults and 1 child, and we all ate what was on our plates! I had the Chicken Breast, Chips, Salad and Coleslaw. It was delicious! Generous portions, nice and fresh, and the chips were piping hot. We all really enjoyed our visit, and found the staff to be friendly and polite.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anna I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Large portions of slightly overpriced poor food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Disappointing food for all the family over several visits. The fish platter special was very odd and unappetising, the other dishes were stodgy. Drinks are also expensive. Nice atmosphere but this place is trading on its location.

Helpful?
Thank DJL76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The end of a perfect day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Having had a lovely day sightseeing, a walk along the beach, a mooch around the shops, what more could we want, than a cold drink , and a lovely meal in the thatch. The staff are so friendly and welcoming , and the food was very good, with large portions, and a good menu to choose from.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Well fed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Surfing then on to The thatch nice pud food huge portions and surfing on the tv what more could you want!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Happytravelersara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Thatch also viewed

 
Georgeham, Braunton
 
Croyde, Braunton
 

Been to The Thatch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing