We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely Easter break”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Croyde
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Breakers Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 21 Croyde B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We targetted Croyde for an Easter break with the expectation of great walks and some body boarding - which we achieved. Jenny and Richard made us very welcome, even with our early arrival. During our stay we made use of both lounges with and without tv, and also made use of the books available to read. The b&b was right near the beach where we had lovely sunsets. The tub to wash the wetsuits and a place to hang them up was a great idea. What was a lovely touch was coming back to the room to find out what the tiger onesie had got up to. Was he reading his book, listening to music on his headphones.... who knew. Also, thank you to Jenny for looking after our smelly urchin shells too. We all had a great time and would heartily recommend Breakers as a place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fgwickens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

Excellent location for the next door surf school, half hourly bus and steps to the beech. Run by friendly people who genuinely seem to want you to have a great time. Shared TV and lovely quiet shared upstairs tea and coffee area (with a view of the chickens). Other rooms have views of Lundy and the surf. Really quiet with just the wrens waking us up in the morning.

Room Tip: If you are really tall, it would make sense to ask about head height upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deptford_AS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

My parents found Jenny & Richards B&B whilst down in Croyde to celebrate my 40th, excellent location and Jenny & Richard make you feel very welcome. We have returned several times since then. Very clean, great facilities, including tub to wash wetsuits, and place to hang them. Great views of Croyde beach. Also a great up-stairs lounge that you can use with fridge, tea & Coffee on tap.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed in ''Little Breakers'' and had a fantastic stay. The views are outstanding and you can see the ocean from almost every room. The location is perfect for surfers with walking access to the beach within a couple of minutes. 'Little Breakers' is clean and very comfortable. We can't wait to plan our next trip. Beatrice

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeatriceRoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My friends and I stayed at Breakers twice and both times we had a lovely stay.
The B&B is great with a very filling breakfast and the self-catering was an amazing bungalow!

The couple owning it is lovely, definitely will be going back.


Dan

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I have stayed at Breakers many times and I have yet to find anywhere to compare with Breakers for a relaxing break.

Perfectly situated at the Down End part of Croyde, you will find a quiet B & B with plenty of parking, comfortable rooms with en-suite shower rooms, a resident’s lounge outside the bedrooms that has free refreshments, comfortable chairs, games and a wide selection of reading materials, all excellent if you encounter some bad weather. Downstairs there is another lounge with a TV and DVD player available.

Breakfast is served in a separate dining room. Breakfast is a very filling affair and sets me up for the day’s activities, with little need to think about more food until the evening. Most bedrooms give a view of the beach, surf conditions and the wonderful view of Baggy Point.

Owners Jenny and Richard are both friendly and helpful and run the business very much “hands on” and this ensures that the quality of service stays very high.

Down End gives great access to Croyde Beach by crossing the road and walking down steps onto the sand. The bus service to Braunton and Barnstaple stops at the end of Breaker’s driveway.

The distance to Croyde village’s pubs and restaurants is close enough to negate the need to drive the car and perfect for walking off a filling meal.

There are facilities for rinsing and hanging wetsuits if you’ve spent the day in the surf, locally there is horse riding and a good selection of mountain bike rides and walks. There is also hang gliding and paragliding just over the hill on Woolacombe Down.

In summary, a wonderful place to stay, whatever the season and weather.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WaliserZauberer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Really well managed B&B, very accommodating. Decor might be typical of a B&B - i.e it's not a 5* Hotel decor, but the lounges are exceptional for a B&B, really nice choice of quality teas, real milk, massive amount of space. Very clean & A GREAT STAY. Right on the beach with sea views.

Room Tip: THey are all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Croyde
0.9 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,800 reviews
3.8 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
879 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Fortescue Arms
The Fortescue Arms
#3 of 4 in Woolacombe
121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
3.5 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#10 of 15 in Woolacombe
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakers Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakers Guesthouse

Address: Breakers Down End, Croyde, Braunton EX33 1QE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Braunton > Croyde
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Croyde
Price Range: £32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachside Bed and Brrakfast overlooking Croyde Bay with stunning views, ensuites, lovely gardens, private parking, two lounges, safe surfboard and cycle storage. One minute walk to beach and short stroll to village with pubs, restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Breakers Guesthouse Croyde, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing