We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant place.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Croyde
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Bakery B&B and Self-Catering Accomodation
Ranked #7 of 21 Croyde B&B and Inns
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant place.”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I spent 5 days at the old Bakery whilst on a surfing trip with my son.
Pippa and David are very welcoming and I could not recommend this place more highly.
From the home made banana cake and tea on arrival to the home made muesli, home made bread and fresh eggs... superb
It is a perfect spot, in a lovely village with 2 great pubs who serve great food.

Room Tip: Our room had 2 single beds an ensuite and great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
21
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Witney
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We have just returned from two wonderful days in Georgeham staying at The Old Bakery. Pippa and David are excellent and considerate hosts and the accommodation and breakfasts were all that we could have wished for. David and Pippa attend to every detail to make a stay enjoyable – providing a warm welcome, kindly attention and detailed information on what to do, where to walk, best beaches, where to eat and so on. The Old Bakery is also three minutes walk from two very good and friendly pubs that serve first-rate food in a traditonal setting. Our stay at The Old Bakery seemed far too short – but we will be back! Highly recommended.
Gerald and Barbara

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeraldWitney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Felt very welcome at this village B & B good location for beaches and two excellent pubs a short walk away both serving excellent food. Good breakfast with all the usual options available. Comfortable room, nice and quiet at night enabling a good nights sleep. Would recommend to anybody visiting the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter-knightley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Feeling welcome, looked after and in immaculate accommodation made our brief trip to North Devon work perfectly. The DVD collection, guest lounge, sunshine on the terrace, great breakfast and brilliant local pubs for evening dining made this a wonderful get away. Above all though are your lovely hosts who offer the warmest of welcomes.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

From the hello to the goodbye we felt very welcome. Excellent communication before our stay and the understanding of our situation was very appreciated. The room and bathroom was very clean. It was good to finally visit somewhere that thought about the layout of the room and have a socket next to a mirror this is always a bugbear of mine. The welcome cup of tea and homemade cake was a real treat especially in the cosy guest lounge. Breakfast was well cooked and there was plenty of it, especially nice was the homemade bread and marmalade. Thank you David and Pippa for a lovely stay, we will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Top quality, well cooked English Breakfast (vegetarian option too) plus a very generous selection of cereals, meusli, fruit compote, yoghurt, fruit juices, home made bread, jams, marmalade etc. all served up by friendly non-overbearing owners in a cared for and cosy bed & breakfast. I would certainly come back.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank NiceDaysOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

All 3 generations were happy with this excellent b&b from the very start with a welcoming tray of refreshments, fresh, inviting rooms, and books, dvds and games for the children. Breakfast offered plenty of choice including home-baked bread! I feel we couldn't have been better looked-after.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Croyde
1.7 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,756 reviews
3.0 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
822 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
3.4 mi away
The Smugglers Rest
The Smugglers Rest
#2 of 5 in Mortehoe
62 reviews
2.5 mi away
The George inn
The George inn
#10 of 40 in Braunton
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Bakery B&B and Self-Catering Accomodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Bakery B&B and Self-Catering Accomodation

Property: The Old Bakery B&B and Self-Catering Accomodation
Address: The Old Bakery Chapel Street | Georgeham, Croyde, Braunton EX33 1JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Braunton > Croyde
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Croyde
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Bakery provides both B&B and self-catering accommodation run by David and Pippa Morton. The Garden Room comprises a cozy separate self catering cottage for two with an open plan layout. The main house has three guest bedrooms, a guest lounge, dining room and kitchen making it suitable for singles, couples, families and small groups of all ages. Our aim is to provide comfortable, relaxed and friendly accommodation with some features which make it a bit special and different.The three guest bedrooms are all en-suite and furnished in contemporary style with flat screen TV's incorporating DVD players. Each has a kettle and we provide complimentary fair trade tea and coffee as well as toiletries. Upstairs we have one twin room with a shower and one double room with a bathroom featuring a lovely roll top bath. Downstairs our ground floor room can be arranged as either a twin or super-king double, plus it has a sofa bed that can sleep up to two extra people. The shower room is large enough for a standard wheel chair and has been adapted to suit people with limited mobility. B&B guests can use the kitchen once breakfast has been cleared away offering a flexible semi self-catering option. Groups booking all three rooms have the further option of fully self-catering and of having the use of the premises till 5.00pm on the day of departure. Group bookings must be for a minimum of 2 nights. Groceries can be pre-ordered and delivered by the village store directly next to The Old Bakery. Other Facilities and Features:- Guest lounge, free Wifi, library of DVDs, books, magazines, games and puzzles, Patio and garden, storage for surfboards, wetsuits and bikes, passes to Putsborough Beach Car Park at reduced rates, home produced eggs, bread and solar electricity. Our priority is to make sure you have a great stay and we are available to assist in any way we can. We want you to leave refreshed and with some wonderful memories! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Bakery B&B And Self-Catering Accomodation Croyde, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing