We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming and traditional”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Croyde
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Vale Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #17 of 21 Croyde B&B and Inns
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Welcoming and traditional”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

If your looking for a traditional Devonshire place to stay then here's your place, not to far away from the centre , vale cottage is very cosy and like its thatch roof very traditional. The standards are very homely and comfortable and the hosts great and very accommodating. Down to the town for breakfast but the walk is very nice and you do get a choice a places to eat from. If you want a quiet break any a great place for your surfing base then here's your place. A little tip for you though! Dont follow your sat nav when you get near there as the roads are very narrow and it's quicker to stay on the main road although a bit longer.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tradersonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
18
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We would like to say a big thank you to Chris and Terri for having us at their lovely b&b. The accommodation was very homely, comfortable and warm. We had a really nice welcome too.
We regularly come to Croyde for a quick get away to surf and of course visit The Thatch, which we would highly recommend to all.

Thank You Chris & Terri, we hope to visit again sometime in the near future!

Aaron and Christina

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

GREAT place - don't be fooled by the average ranking. Vale Cottage is excellent as the reviews attest. Chris and Terri are wonderful hosts and the rooms are really quaint cottage rooms. We stayed in the suite with a separate sitting room for 2 nights in December. Really good value for money, especially in comparison with other B&B's in Croyde. It is a short walk out of the center of the village, but it only takes 5-10 mins max to walk to the Thatch for breakfast, so it's worth it for walk. Hard to beat as a place to stay in Croyde.

Room Tip: Having the sitting room, with extra space was worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcusS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twickenham
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Very reasonably/rightly priced, great cottage, perfect and quiet accommodation, clean and great room/bed. Chris and Terri, well, the 2 greatest landlords you'll ever meet, moved to croyde 10 years ago, they are a great family, very welcoming, very informative for a surfing beginner, hiker, or new/1st timer.
I had a great time, thank you. Hopefully see you soon

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brouge_The_Old_Goat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

We had a great weekend! Chris and Terri are so friendly and helpful. Beds comfy, our family of four was accommodated with a great sitting room too and apart from hitting my head a few times lol my fault as I'm 5'10'', the cottage was great! Thanks x

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iannikki2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Just like to echo all the comments below - we had a really nice time at Vale Cottage, Chris and Terri are super friendly. The rooms were really comfortable and the cottage itself is within an easy walk of the town itself. Thanks for lovely weekend!

Mark & Sarah

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

We've just got back from a holiday in Cornwall and Devon and stayed at Vale Cottage in Croyde. The cottage is absolutely stunning, a real credit to Chris and Terri. We were made to feel very welcome, and it was fantastic to be so close to the village. Can't recommend this B&B enough! Croyde village is so pretty and the pubs and bars are fantastic! We personally really liked the Thatch pub, it serves good food at reasonable prices but there is enough choice in the village to suit everybody! The Beach is stunning too, it's nice and clean and safe due to life guards being on duty. When you stay at Vale cottage you get vouchers for breakfast at Blue Groove which we thought was a really good idea as you can have breakfast whenever you want up to midday and they had an excellent choice as well. Thank you Chris and Terri for a wonderfull stay!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank natashka76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Croyde
0.9 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,756 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
798 reviews
0.9 mi away
Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Freshwell Camping
Freshwell Camping
#8 of 10 in Croyde
1 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Vale Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vale Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Property: Vale Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Address: Vale Cottage Cross, Croyde, Braunton EX33 1PL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Braunton > Croyde
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Croyde
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chris and Terri welcome you to Croyde Bay, and to their 14th century thatched cottage. Vale Cottage offers quality B&B accommodation all year round in the beautiful village of Croyde. We have excellent facilities for surfers, and serve hearty home-cooked breakfasts to see you through the day! Closest pub: 5 mins walk. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vale Cottage Bed And Breakfast Croyde, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing