We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly pub”

The Manor House Inn
Ranked #4 of 11 Restaurants in Croyde
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$20
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Manor House Inn sits in the pretty village of Croyde with glorious sandy beaches and delightful countryside. The original pub in Croyde is a 16th century former coaching inn, where the old coach house still stands. There is a large restaurant & conservatory overlooking the courtyard and large children's play area. The bar is spacious and in character with the building, where there is a wide range of local ales, ciders and beers along with an extensive wine list. A freshly prepared, locally sourced menu & specials board is available every day, from local fish, meats & vegetables to simple sandwiches. There is also a comprehensive children's menu. We show all major sporting events via Sky &BT Sport on our large screens as well as regular live music, pool table, darts and skittles. You can be sure of a warm welcome at The Manor House Inn - just as it should be!!!
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly pub”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Stayed in Croyde recently and would say the Manor was the friendliest restaurant/bar that we ate at. Would recommend the carvery, (Weds and Sundays only I believe) even had the option of a few slices of all the meats on offer, not limited to just two choices! Local Beers also worth a try.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JamKam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    148
    43
    29
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hertforshire, UK
Level Contributor
106 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Best pub in Croyde”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We found the Manor to be the best pub in Croyde, unless you are one of the young surfer crowd, in which case head for Billy Budds or the Thatch. The pub is child and dog friendly with very helpful staff, it is far better in my opinion than some of the reviewers on this site have written. Live football on TV in main bar and also in games room out the back. The games room was a bit soulless though and recommend you stick to the bar. Food and drink very good, but a little on the pricy side - you won't find anywhere in Croyde cheap! Nice sitting out area, and there's a fenced chilren's activity area out the back. Also good for a breakfast at weekends. Carvery on Sunday and Wednesday particularly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eurotraveller58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good beer garden safe for children”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Bit like Dr Who's tardis, very friendly barman who gave good info about what each cider was like.
They have a brilliant beer garden to the rear with small play area and also have coin operated kiddie rides.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank NottinghamCrazylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Terrible atmosphere!!”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Came back after a lovely visit in spring and was very disappointed! I dont know whats happened since we last visited but atmosphere was awful, land lady doesnt appear to have people skills with her staff (they were working very hard) think she needs to handover to someone else before she ruins te place completely!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average food but don't agree with treating of the staff”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

My husband and I came for a meal here and I have to say the food was very average and not really worth the price we paid. However, this wasn't the problem we had. An elder woman who worked there (never saw her lift a finger though) was very rude and obnouctious to customers and staff! At one point she was shouting at one of the waitresses in full view of all the customers for not clearing away plates fast enough (the young girl looked shattered, it was a busy night and from what we saw she was working away as hard as she possibly could!) I dont agree with this as the girl must of felt so small and intimidated and she was only very young,trying her hardest. She looked as if she was going to cry! we were served by two girls called Sophie, they were both very polite, friendly and helpful! We will return to give it a second chance, but would like to see the old hag not around on our next visit

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank RebeccaLouise34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Manor House Inn also viewed

 
Georgeham, Braunton
 
Croyde, Braunton
 

Been to The Manor House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing