We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great birthday weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Croyde
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great birthday weekend”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We went here 4-7th April for my birthday, the hotel was lovely, very clean and had everything you would need. The staff were very friendly and efficient. The breakfast was great, food was very fresh and tasty. The facilities are really good, we never used the pool or the sauna but they looked good and well maintained. The whole site was kept clean and tidy. We were made to feel very welcome. The hotel room had a kitchen, which was great as it gave you the option of self-catering if you wanted it. The hotel was very quiet. The beds were comfortable. Michele, Martin and their teams all do a great job. We are having our wedding here next year and know we are in good hands.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 128, this was on the ground floor, with a patio area and views of the tennis court...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikkie4477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    102
    31
    9
    2
See reviews for
204
52
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Amazing place 4th year In a row we've been back kid friendly loads of fun!
Went to the bar for the first time tonight to watch the football! Took a beer in (probably a bad idea) general manager Steve willis came along rude and aggressive told me to get out or they would cancel our room! Over a beer? I went straight outside and binned it! Half assed apology once complained about! Makes me not want to go back! Party of 20 also beer and cider were flat.... Still stay they're but never go back to bar!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Tommehk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
143 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Early season visit in one of the holiday cottages. Very quiet as just before schools broke up so had the place to ourselves. Some welcome improvements to the cottages - new TV, curtains, bedding and a dishwasher. Staff as helpful as ever. Such great and affordable accommodation in a beautiful location. Love it!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Hard_Woman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

3 of us went here with a seven year old in February half term. The big bedroom was fine but the little one was very little and had 2 bunk beds and not much else. There were however 2 bathrooms. The kitchen was good and well supplied and led straight into the living room area. All was clean and tidy and could not be faulted on that. The living room (tv has poor reception) looked out onto the tennis courts which was ok but personally the noise would have been too much for me in summer with only a little pathway in between and people walking to and fro as well towards the beach (which is reasonably near and can be accessed easily although it is not a flat walk) I wouldn't like to sit out and eat on the table provided during busy times! Others look out onto green areas so ask if you are booking. The swimming pool seems a bit small for the summer season but was ok for us. The kids are well looked after and the food is good though the sausages at breakfast left much to be desired, I was reminded of the school canteen! The shop is small and the reception staff are fine when they are there but shut early so you can get a bit confused if you are tired after a long journey. Beware last in the line of 'cottages' we had had a shower attached to the end wall opposite the gate to the beach, this could be very noisy high season. However over all if you like this type of holiday you will have fun I am sure.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dtlaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
335 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I've only ever stayed here on surf trips before and, after the wettest and stormiest winter on record, was rather dreading a February half term trip with my 8 year old daughter, another dad and his 2 girls. How wrong could I be?

It's a brilliant place to take children. There are lots of outdoor and indoor distractions including a great heated pool jacuzzi and steam room, pool, table tennis and snooker tables and a large fun zone with shuffleboard and other over-size games. Outdoors there's a playground, football goals, mini golf and a putting green. And 2 tennis courts. The restaurant is clean and the food is of pub grub standard and excellent value (especially compared with the Thatch). Each evening there was a children's disco with party games which adults could join in with. My daughter made friends with other girls who share her burden of having season tickets at Fulham.

There's a gate which leads out onto the dunes with access to magnificent Croyde Bay, although its not too safe for swimming. Luckily we were there the first week after the big storms and we had a couple of days of lovely sunshine. We all went in the sea (with wetsuits on of course).

The cottages had just been refurbished and were comfortable and warm. The tariff worked out at just under £60 per night which was excellent value.

I'll definitely be back for an off season trip.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BrightonShredhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We have just returned from a much needed break with daughter, husband and dog. We stayed in a Waggy Tails Cottage which was very functional. It was fairly clean although there were human hairs around the bath and the floor felt very gritty underfoot. The kitchen was well equipt albeit a little grubby. The enclosed area for the dog was perfect and the accomodation was well appointed for the lovely local walks. Bring some sleep shields if you like a darkened room as the curtains are very flimsey and do not block out any light. My daughter and I were hoping to use the spa and were extremely dissappointed by the limited opening times ie from 9am -5pm on Sunday (the day we had planned to go out for the day!) and only after 6pm on Tuesday and Wednesday. The lockers in the pool werent working so consequently we had to use a box by the pool for our belongings, shoes were left by the entrance to the pool and were all over the place. The pool wasnt very warm either. We had booked the food package which was good value although the vegetarian options were limited to only two dishes a pizza or a lasagne and we were told that there was a cavery for the meat eaters in the party on the phone but that didnt materialise. The staff serving were friendly but the service was very slow considering the amount of people using the restaurant. There are a number of eateries in the village and if we come again we shall explore these. We tried the The Thatch for lunch and it was wonderful. We were certainly expecting more than the limited menu we were given having read previous reviews. I should imagine if you were staying for a full week the choices offered for main courses would be pretty boring. The entertainment for the children looked fun, the adults entertainment that we experienced consisted of a disco and a quizz. Perhaps the facilities were not fully functioning due to the low numbers. All the staff were lovely, very helpful and polite and the site is in a great position. We will try and come back later on in the season for another try but overall it was a relaxing, value break.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thehikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We stayed for a weekend in September, if some parts a little tired exceptional facilities and very clean, perfect for dog owners and you are on the dunes in less than 5 mins. We were out f season so very quiet, BBQ area and private enclosed terraces safe for your pooch. Reccommended - will stay again although on the expensive side.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Croyde
0.9 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,746 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
780 reviews
3.7 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woolacombe
806 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Fortescue Arms
The Fortescue Arms
#3 of 4 in Woolacombe
105 reviews
7.5 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort

Property: Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
Address: Croyde Bay, Croyde, Braunton EX33 1QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Braunton > Croyde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Croyde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing