We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We keep returning!”
Review of The Thatch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Croyde
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Thatch
Ranked #3 of 21 Croyde B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Poole
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“We keep returning!”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We went to Croyde last NYE and NYE this year too, and both times we have had a gret time, we have even stayed for a night in The Thatch's accomodation for a cheeky weekend away, and you can't complain at all!

The staff are very friendly and always willing to chat or give advice when needed. The food is proper pub grubm and the lasange is all i every have when i eat there as it is so yummy! We have spent NYE in The Thatch twice now and it's a great night!

The bar itself can get quite busy due to it's reputation, which for the pub isn't a bad thing, but it does mean you may need to fight for a seat, the oly down side (which isn't really a bad thing) is that it is very warm in there! so don't wear too many layers!
Enjoy people!

Room Tip: we stayed in the accommodation oposite the pub, so can't advise on the accommodation above the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Example1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    55
    25
    12
    4
See reviews for
57
58
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We rented a familyroom (no.11 at Billy Budd's) for two nights in the new year. We wanted somewhere near the sea with family room and somewhere to eat. Thats what we got. The room was pretty good, double bed in main room with TV, then bunk beds in a small room off it and a large bathroom with bath and shower. Not totally modern and uo to date but fine and clean. £100 a night including breakfast for two adults and two teenagers was pretty good for us.

We ate in the pub the first night. It was decent pub food, good choice but the portions were enormous!! Spare ribs were great but about twice as much as I needed!! Breakfast was similar - a good fry and loads of it.

Good base in Croyde, the guy in the surf shop opposite was very helpful advising us about best place to bodyboard!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RRR08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

After a disappointing visit several weeks ago, the Thatch has once again lived up to it's usual formidable reputation. The pub was pleasingly busy with a warm, cosy atmosphere within its thick, stone walls. I ordered the beef nachos, a Thatch signature dish, and I was not disappointed.

The food came out quickly considering the number of souls inside Croyde's premier hostelry that night. The nachos were spicy, plentiful and tasty - in fact I couldn't finish them because of the mini food mountain on my plate. The service was polite, friendly and perfectly efficient.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I have stayed here a handful of times over the last 4 years. The rooms are always clean and cosy. The food is superb and the atmosphere in the bar is welcoming whether there are 5 people in there or 100 people. A fantastic setting, only half a mile walk from the beach and cliff paths.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Stayed here for two nights in November 2013. Shared a twin room with a friend.

The room was one of three that shared a bathroom. I was a little concerned about sharing a bathroom as always usually go for en-suite, but was doing a weekend on a tight budget. I needn't have worried; the bathroom was spotlessly clean, and as there were a total of six people sharing it, I never saw the other people.

The room did include a sink, along with the two single beds. Again, room was very clean. Included hanging and shelf space. Tea/coffee. I think there was a hairdryer too.

The room rate included breakfast and the breakfast was very good. I had the veggie full english both mornings. There are a number of other options for a poked breakfast. Also cereals and juices to help yourself to.

Last but not least, the pub itself it a lovely place to hang out in the evening. Friendly bar staff and plenty of nooks for your group of fiends to gather.

Will definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YellowDubDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

We visited Croyde and visited The Thatch twice during the week we were there. The pub itself is a beautiful building, and the interior is designed to make the most of the building. The food was really well cooked and presented, great value and huge portions! They were very accommodating and we were made to feel very welcome with our 2 year old twins. A great place to visit for a drink or a meal.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Yet another great evening at the The Thatch. We were celebrating my daughters 21st. A nice touch of balloons on the table and I was able to take a cake in to. Nothing seems to much trouble in here We had a lovely guy take our drink orders then some one came and took our food order. Wow what big portions, But lovely cooked food. We all had different. I can really recommend the steak and ale pie really tasty,ny mum had scampi never seen so much scampi on one plate. The roast beef was out of this world. Unfortunatly my dad was taken ill during the evening,so we had to cut short our evening. But the staff still bought out the birthday cake hlighly embarassing for my daughter,well us mums are allowed to do this. Any way I would like to thank all the staff at the the Thatch for their hospitality and great service. We will return.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salli L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Croyde
0.8 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,748 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Fortescue Arms
The Fortescue Arms
#3 of 4 in Woolacombe
105 reviews
3.4 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woolacombe
811 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
782 reviews
0.4 mi away
Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thatch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thatch

Property: The Thatch
Address: Croyde, Braunton, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Braunton > Croyde
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Croyde
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Thatch Hotel Croyde
Thatch Croyde
The Thatch Croyde, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing