We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not exactly luxury as stated.”
Review of The Thatch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Croyde
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Thatch
Ranked #6 of 22 Croyde B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We booked a Superior room at a cost of £110 per night including breakfast at the Priory which is opposite the Thatch. When we checked in it was quick and efficient and the receptionist took us across to the accommodation. First impression was that the room was nice but I certainly wouldn't call it superior!! We stayed in London at a 5* hotel for less money last weekend and that definitely was superior!!! We looked out of the window hoping for a view of the garden but it was a dump for broken chairs!!!!
We went across to the pub for lunch and it was terrific - both the food and the portion sizes were extremely good value for money and all the staff were great.
Later when we returned to our room to get ready for the evening, we noticed a number of bulbs were missing, ie over the bed, over the mirror in the bathroom and over the shower head! also the "bath" towels were small, I am only a size 10 and they just about went around me!! The TV was so high up the wall that it hurt our necks to watch it!! The kettle lead was not long enough to reach the socket so we had to get a chair and put the kettle on it! On reading the information booklet we were surprised to find that checkout was 10am on a Sunday!! no time for a lay in!!
There is no Wi-Fi in the room and in this day and age and at the price level this is a must.
We had booked a table in the restaurant for dinner and was then given a menu and told to choose what we wanted and then go to the bar and order and pay (before we had eaten!!) food was ok but nothing special.
Breakfast: I went to the bar and asked where we should sit and was told "anywhere" but when we took a table someone else told us "you can't sit there" so we were moved - after about 10 minutes with no service I went to the bar and ask how breakfast is served - we were given a menu and told to choose a breakfast from it!!! I then had to ask if there was any cereal and juice.
some white slices of toast was put on our table (it would have been nice to have been asked if we wanted white or brown) and by the time our breakfast arrived the toast was stone cold.
Maybe we were just unlucky but for the amount they are charging compared to other local B&B's and 4 star hotels it is not good value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fishingCambridge_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2014

We went to Croyde last NYE and NYE this year too, and both times we have had a gret time, we have even stayed for a night in The Thatch's accomodation for a cheeky weekend away, and you can't complain at all!

The staff are very friendly and always willing to chat or give advice when needed. The food is proper pub grubm and the lasange is all i every have when i eat there as it is so yummy! We have spent NYE in The Thatch twice now and it's a great night!

The bar itself can get quite busy due to it's reputation, which for the pub isn't a bad thing, but it does mean you may need to fight for a seat, the oly down side (which isn't really a bad thing) is that it is very warm in there! so don't wear too many layers!
Enjoy people!

Room Tip: we stayed in the accommodation oposite the pub, so can't advise on the accommodation above the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Example1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We rented a familyroom (no.11 at Billy Budd's) for two nights in the new year. We wanted somewhere near the sea with family room and somewhere to eat. Thats what we got. The room was pretty good, double bed in main room with TV, then bunk beds in a small room off it and a large bathroom with bath and shower. Not totally modern and uo to date but fine and clean. £100 a night including breakfast for two adults and two teenagers was pretty good for us.

We ate in the pub the first night. It was decent pub food, good choice but the portions were enormous!! Spare ribs were great but about twice as much as I needed!! Breakfast was similar - a good fry and loads of it.

Good base in Croyde, the guy in the surf shop opposite was very helpful advising us about best place to bodyboard!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RRR08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

After a disappointing visit several weeks ago, the Thatch has once again lived up to it's usual formidable reputation. The pub was pleasingly busy with a warm, cosy atmosphere within its thick, stone walls. I ordered the beef nachos, a Thatch signature dish, and I was not disappointed.

The food came out quickly considering the number of souls inside Croyde's premier hostelry that night. The nachos were spicy, plentiful and tasty - in fact I couldn't finish them because of the mini food mountain on my plate. The service was polite, friendly and perfectly efficient.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I have stayed here a handful of times over the last 4 years. The rooms are always clean and cosy. The food is superb and the atmosphere in the bar is welcoming whether there are 5 people in there or 100 people. A fantastic setting, only half a mile walk from the beach and cliff paths.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Stayed here for two nights in November 2013. Shared a twin room with a friend.

The room was one of three that shared a bathroom. I was a little concerned about sharing a bathroom as always usually go for en-suite, but was doing a weekend on a tight budget. I needn't have worried; the bathroom was spotlessly clean, and as there were a total of six people sharing it, I never saw the other people.

The room did include a sink, along with the two single beds. Again, room was very clean. Included hanging and shelf space. Tea/coffee. I think there was a hairdryer too.

The room rate included breakfast and the breakfast was very good. I had the veggie full english both mornings. There are a number of other options for a poked breakfast. Also cereals and juices to help yourself to.

Last but not least, the pub itself it a lovely place to hang out in the evening. Friendly bar staff and plenty of nooks for your group of fiends to gather.

Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YellowDubDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We visited Croyde and visited The Thatch twice during the week we were there. The pub itself is a beautiful building, and the interior is designed to make the most of the building. The food was really well cooked and presented, great value and huge portions! They were very accommodating and we were made to feel very welcome with our 2 year old twins. A great place to visit for a drink or a meal.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Croyde
0.8 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,834 reviews
0.4 mi away
Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
3.5 mi away
Holmsleigh Bed & Breakfast Braunton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Silver Cottage
Silver Cottage
#2 of 41 in Braunton
123 reviews
0.5 mi away
Combas Farm
Combas Farm
#1 of 22 in Croyde
153 reviews
0.7 mi away
Freshwell Camping
Freshwell Camping
#6 of 10 in Croyde
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thatch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thatch

Address: Croyde, Braunton, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Braunton > Croyde
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Croyde
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Thatch Hotel Croyde
Thatch Croyde
The Thatch Croyde, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing