We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this pub!”
Review of The Thatch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Croyde
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Thatch
Ranked #5 of 22 Croyde B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Calne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Love this pub!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

One of the best pubs in Devon! Been here many times now. Food has always been excellent, massive portions, great value for money. Ace location and no matter what time of year we visit there is always a fantastic atmosphere in this pub. Staff always friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Sam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    55
    25
    12
    4
See reviews for
57
57
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Angmering, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Was travelling down to devon and found the Thatch near where we were staying in Woolacombe. Food was extremely tasty and the staff were excellent great place for all ages to enjoy a good laugh and a great bite to eat.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Very nice place, very friendly. A busy little pub with great food and they dont keep you waiting for drinks or your food. Very good experience all round and would def recc to people. Have been here on and off for 10 years and its never changed.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The Thatch is somewhere that we've visited for years. After going again last weekend it never seems to change - food is never outstanding but portions are big and it's hot and hearty after a day in the sea. Location is top and a convenient stroll from the dunes and beach, staff are young and busy and it's just the perfect venue to get together with friends and enjoy a relaxed evening. We'll always go back, and they always seem to have plenty of other people who feel the same way!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ella D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cotswolds, england
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The thatch is a pretty ,commercial pub which fulfils a niche
Its staff are friendly
The rooms are simple ,clean and tidy
Stayed with grown up family, and was prefect for them - good noisy busy bar -
Food was ok
Breakfast service did let the place down a bit - a sign telling people where to order and what to do would be good... both mornings sat and watched loads of people wandering around with no direction - food comes out in haphazard way.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frednred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Eaten in thatch bar side many times several times this week
Booked a table seven thirty for daughters birthday today
Was seated waited 15 minutes asked to be served a drink
When waiter came like a bus another came wanted food order
Food came great food
Wanted more drinks had to look for staff in a restaurant not used to this good staff know when your empty
Went to pay told staff good pub good food but poor restaurant
Eaten in bar many times always buy staff a drink
Good service good food
I wish i had waited in bar for a table
£80 for 4 mains and few drinks
Restaurant price not even pub service
My view great pub great food playing at being a restaurant
If tonight had not been my daughters birthday i would have gone mad at managment
John sherratt
Tourist

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Visited the Thatch twice during a 5 day trip to Croyde.

Food was excellent and the staff friendly and helpful.

A little expensive, particularly drinks but overall a great place and well worth visiting if in the area.

Can be really busy so be prepared to queue for a while when ordering food.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerrilee82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Croyde
0.8 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,734 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
3.4 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Fortescue Arms
The Fortescue Arms
#3 of 4 in Woolacombe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
7.2 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
0.4 mi away
Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thatch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thatch

Property: The Thatch
Address: Croyde, Braunton, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Braunton > Croyde
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Croyde
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Thatch Hotel Croyde
Thatch Croyde
The Thatch Croyde, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing