We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Beautiful accommodation...exceptionally well...”
5.0 of 5 bubbles

Review of Sea Gem - OC145

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
16 reviews
Seagem Croyde Holiday Cottages Aeriel
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Croyde, Braunton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lesley J
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful accommodation...exceptionally well placed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

we stayed here in February, amidst all of the storms, the cold, the rain and wind, but what a very warm welcome we had. This place is beautiful, very very comfortable, we had an array of treats left for us, specialist teas/coffees/cream tea etc.....from the bedroom you can see the sea, the facilities were excellent and everything brand new. Extremely close to the beach and village we had a wonderful, relaxing mini break, we would so recommend this accommodation, a great hideaway for two....we will be coming back !!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: everything !!
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Mar 2014
We are so pleased that you had such a wonderful stay at Sea Gem. We offer great rates on all of our properties off peak and super last minute deals, just visit the website. Thanks, The Ocean Cottages Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
455Mark
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect accommodation in a perfect location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

A real home from home experience with the 5 star touches. Perfect for couples, single travelers or a group of 4. We had the most amazing week here with our 5 year old grandson. Walking distance to the gorgeous beaches, village and local pubs and a short drive to the nearest supermarket. The facilities in Sea Gem are superb.....we are regular travelers and will be back, excellent value for money and top class facilities.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Mar 2014
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Sea Gem. We offer great rates during off peak periods on all of our properties and some super last minute deals, just visit our website. We hope to welcome you back soon. Thank you, The Ocean Cottages Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCBath
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An Amazing Apartment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

I booked Sea Gem at the last minute for a few days away with my youngest son who was off work and fancied catching some of the Autumn Swell. What a find it was. Sue, the owner, has recently built the apartment on the side of her house and this is a new venture for her. The apartment has been beautifully done. It was so lush that my 17 year old son actually wanted to move in and live there! The whole place has been done to a very high standard including a great kitchen beautifully filled with lots of useful equipment. Sue had also left us a lovely little fruit cake for our arrival and also milk and tea/coffee etc.

Sea Gem is also ideally located for three fantastic beaches Croyde, Puttsborough and Saunton. Croyde being a walk away and the other two an easy short drive. There are some amazing walks from the doorstep around Baggy Point and over to Saunton and back over the top. Also walking distance are shops/cafes/pubs in Croyde, The Blue Groove and Sandleigh Tea Rooms two of my favourites! There are two really good pubs a short drive away in Georgeham. The King's Head and The Rock Inn. Also on Monday night in Georgeham from 5pm to 7pm are the best fish and chips that you can pick up from the van and drive down to Puttsborough and sit and eat watching the evening surfers.

I can not recommend Sea Gem highly enough. You will not be disappointed when you walk in and you will certainly have a very comfortable stay.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: I liked the whole apartment and furnishings etc
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Dec 2013
Thank you for your lovely review and we have to say that Sea Gem has ranked very highly with all of our guests during 2013 which has been its first season. Sue the owner there is always delighted to welcome people to stay and the position of the property in relation to the beach and the village has proved very popular. So delighted that you have enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to Croyde in the future - as you discovered Croyde is beautiful whatever the time of year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneSou...
Southampton
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“a cut above other self-catering places”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Sea Gem is a real gem. It's been equipped to a very high standard - way above the usual self-catering places. Little touches are there - loo rolls, soap, towels, linen, hair dryer etc. Lovely cream tea and milk in the fridge on arrival! Wonderfully comfy bed and a walk in wardrobe. Perhaps I would swap the dishwasher for a washing machine but that's personal preference. A short walk to pubs and restaurants and the beach. Highly recommended.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: the bed
Liked least: shower - could do with more power
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. Sea Gem has proved very popular with our guests in this first season and we are sure that it will continue next year too. The owner Sue goes out of her way to make everyone feel very welcome - its the little things that count isnt it! Ocean Cottages look forward to hearing from you again and welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Treborrec...
1 review
“Amazing little place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

The property was quaint and romantic, we arrived to a a full spread of scones, clotted cream, jam and fresh strawberry's. We enjoyed this to a bottle of champagne with a few strawberry's thrown in.

With kitchen diner lounge area downstairs with bedroom above the property was laid out like a dream. The Jamie Oliver inspired theme even the cooking equipment was nice to use.

Bedroom has a nice big window two people could stand out of and view the sea... and see a massive badger in the garden. We saw one of the badgers stealing the apples from the garden which seemed quite special.

The only thing making the property better would have been more seclusion in the patio area.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Scones / badger
Liked least: Patio seclusion
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2013
So delighted that Sea Gem has provided you with everything that you required - and more! It is just as it says a little 'gem' in Croyde and has proved extremely popular. Short breaks out of season are encouraged and Ocean Cottages hopes that it can welcome you back to enjoy the deserted beaches, breathtaking coastal walks and fireside lunches! Thank you for the lovely review and the owner has addressed the issue of privacy to the rear courtyard so next time you come this should be all in place!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerri T
1 review
“Amazing apartment!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We loved every minute of our stay at Seagem. Sue made us feel very welcome. The apartment has been thoughtfully designed, with lots of extras that we hadn't expected. The welcome pack was a nice touch, as are the facilities for young children. The furnishings and equipment are to a very high standard, and definitely give a luxury feel. We would happily live there!! I'm hoping we can stay there again next year.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Everything was high quality, which was great for the price.
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2013
Hi there

This apartment is proving to be a favourite to lots of people and we are glad that you were no exception to this rule. The location is ideal isnt it to access the beach and the amenities and we are very pleased that you enjoyed the 'little extras' that Sue provides. She is a very good hostess!

Look forward to welcoming you back with us again in the future.

Kindest
The Ocean Cottages Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A delightful place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

The cottage is a modern well equipped place to stay in a beautiful part of Devon. It is perfect for couples and is within walking distance of both the beach and the village of Croyde. Croyde has a good choice of places to eat with a wide variety of food available.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The cottage is modern and well equipped.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2013
Hi There,

Thank you for your lovely review! It is a fantastic property within walking distance to both the beach and village. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

The Ocean Cottages Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing