We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weez - just ok, but Croyde - wonderful” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kittiwell House Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Croyde
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kittiwell House Hotel
Ranked #20 of 23 Croyde B&B and Inns
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Weez - just ok, but Croyde - wonderful”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed at Weez house for a week in June, we had read a review in the Sunday Times some time ago and were very excited.

On arrival, it was very small, and the furniture had seen better days.

Things were ok, but not the luxury bolthole we had hoped for.

Sadly, due to the grounds not being maintained, a labernham tree blocked the path meaning having to climb across the bank to get to and from the house.
I badly injured my leg on the last day due to this. Neither the owners or Marsdens, who we hired through, were interested.

Not the end of the world, but a worry to dismiss my concern.

On a positive note, Croyde was lovely, with a beautiful beach.
We also loved the thatch!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah_from_Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

We stayed in one of the self catering cottages, thatchers legget, and it was just superb. It was very stylishly decorated, immaculate and superbly equipped. We took a 6 month old and the owner made every effort to ensure it was baby equipped. It had a travel cot, cot and the owner added a nice touch by providing a changing mat. Little things like that really make a difference. The owner is really lovely and welcoming and I can't recommend the place enough. There is a gorgeous outside patio area too with BBQ that is fab on a nice summers evening.

Not only are the cottages and B and B kept beautifully and are in lovely grounds, it is located in the perfect position for Coastal walks to Puttsborough, Saunton Sands andcof course Croyde beach. You ever need to use your car.

A really fantastic place.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AJAMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford
Level Contributor
244 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

My wife and I stayed here as part of a trip to the West County. In the reviews other visitors spoke of comfortable beds and lovely breakfast. The bed was the most uncomfortable one that I have ever experienced in a hotel, and last year I visited over 30 hotels on business and pleasure. The breakfast experience was very good, and the staff were lovely. So if you like hard beds, this quaint hotel may be the one for you.

Room Tip: If you like quaint, any room will be enjoyable
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michaelunison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2011

We had a very nice stay at Kittiwell house. The hotel is a lovely thatched house and is nicely decorated inside. Room was very clean with good quality bathroom toiletries. Excellent location with lots of parking and a short walk to local restaurants / pubs or beach. We were recommended the Hobbs bistro for dinner where we had an excellent meal. Although the hotel is signposted we had a little bit of difficulty finding it as it is set back a bit from the main road, so would recomend asking for the final bit of direction when booking. We would definitely stay again

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveOs23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2011

Our stay in Weez House in grounds of Kittwell House was perfect for a winter surf trip. The views of Croyde bay was fantatsic and Weeze House itself was really cosy as was the hot tub!! Fantastic attention to detail throughout and we recieved a very warm welcome.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank T0pcat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2010

We stayed at Kittiwell house for a long weekend, and couldnt fault it. We stayed in the Heather room, which was full of charcter with its decor and features, and the sunken bath was fab. The room was spotless and well maintained.

As in all the previous reviews the breaksfast was outstanding, there was so much choice and the quality of the produce didnt disappoint. It is in a great location, away from the centre, but easily walked in, in less than 5 mins.

We are looking at going back later this year.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slangston75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2010

We had a great weekend at Kittiwell, the room was lovely and clean and the hostess looked after us very well. Breakfast was delicious and huge! Big selection of hot and cold things, the warm muffins were to die for. Would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CCC2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Croyde
0.9 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,679 reviews
0.6 mi away
Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kittiwell House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kittiwell House Hotel

Property: Kittiwell House Hotel
Address: St. Marys Road, Croyde, Braunton EX33 1PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Braunton > Croyde
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Croyde
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Kittiwell House Hotel Croyde, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing