We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Location, run down and dirty accomodation.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Croyde
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Parkdean - Ruda Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2014

This site is in a beautiful location but the caravan we stayed in was dirty and in need of general m'tce. The oven only had one shelf and did not get hot enough to cook a fresh pizza. the toilet smelt of urine and needed a new toilet seat. A pair of shoes were left under the bed - proving that very little vacuuming had taken place. Several of the kitchen cupboards did not have knobs, 2 doors were completely missing from the lounge cupboards. The carpet was filthy. The shower surround needed a good scrub.

The site itself was quite noisy to late into the night. Seagulls are also a problem that needs addressing..

I could go on - but it pointless. The caravan is cleaner now than when we arrived ! So be aware the pictures may not represent the caravan you end up in !

The toilets adjacent to the club/bar area are disgusting...The bar area itself was in need of a good steam cleaning!

The childrens soft play area was shut on Sunday because it had not been cleaned. When I asked why not I was told that not enough staff! At £1000+ per week per caravan in August- I think this is the poorest of excuses. Do the maths over 300 caravans just in the area of the site we stayed in, then tent and mobile home pitches, and other 'brick 'accommodation.

The swimming pool is too small. When the site is busy entrance is restricted.

The entertainment was of a 'red coat' style Karoake versions of popular songs that were used to illustrate some sort of story that none of us worked out. The childrens entertainment was 'unusual' more of a 'work out' than entertainment - although the young children seemed to enjoy themselves. The area where the childrens entertainment was presented included a shop to encourage parents to spend ridiculous amounts of money on 99p store toys and 'go large' drinks ! Why ?

All in all this is a poor excuse of a 'family holiday site'.

Room Tip: Try somewhere else..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank PFwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chevon M, Manager at Parkdean - Ruda Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Thank you for raising your concerns with us directly and allowing us the opportunity to look into this, so that we may respond to your concerns.

Kind regards,
Chevon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,024)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

632 - 638 of 1,024 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2014

Just back from a week in a lodge at Parkdean, great location, ideal for young families, the lodge was tried with some maintenance needed, one other gripe, they have a large recycling area but nothing for cardboard, seems odd.
Overall we have a great time and would go back.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank keith01444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

After reading some reviews on here, especially the don't go half board one, we were rather worried, especially as we had booked the bank holiday week-end?, having been to Ruda before although many years ago, we did go half board and we were so very glad we did, as if not, we would not have found a table to eat any food on!! As half board you have a table reserved for you, yes you do have to tell them the night before when you want the table for and also what you want for the 3 courses, on day of arrival you need to do this asap, We found the portions large, and well presented and were on the whole very good, we could have had the carvery on the Sunday but chose off the set menu, which is given when checking in. I personally did not think breakfast was that good which is served in the café (no reserved tables there) for your half board breakfast you have a choice of apple or orange juice ( rather watered down) then cereal or yogurt, cooked breakfast ( you could only choose 5 items from the breakfast which seemed rather mean when there was a choice of 8 items, and children could only choose 3 which I thought was bad, then toast and preserves, we found going in at or after 10 was a nightmare with long queuing they serve it till 12, just before 10 was a lot quieter, showers were clean and neither of us found we had to wait, but maybe we just got there at the night time, so near to the fab surfing beach of croyde which is ideal, did not use the pool so can't coment on that, we did hear the band on sunday night from the camper!! it sounded good and did finish at 11pm, We stayed in taw field which was ideal and looked over the sea ( with a field between us and centre of park) would we go again yes.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank fisherman44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I was advised by Parkdean that I will be receiving a feedback email but as I haven't received one yet I thought I would up date trip advisor.

I stayed at Parkdean Ruda for the third year in August for a week with my husband and 2 children. We love Croyde especially the beach. Ruda does have some good facilities, the play park, the shop and arcades, however, the fish and chip shop is poor and the entertainment bar has an awful smell.

We usually stay in a 3 bed but this year we decided on a 2 bed as the vans aren't cheap in August. Our caravan was right behind the swimming pool and all the shops. Our view out of our caravan was a dirty cream wall and the other fencing. We were also put in seagull alley (the warrens) where all the seagulls liked to perch and make a tremendous racket at all times of the day and night. We could hear the entertainment and the very early about 430 am delivery lorries and refuse collections. I can honestly say I didn't have much sleep at all.

Parkdean seriously need to reconsider the positioning of these caravans!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sootsas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chevon M, Manager at Parkdean - Ruda Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience.

We are sorry to hear about the noise disturbance suffered due to the location of your holiday home.

We have shared your comments with the Management Team at Ruda to be aware of.

Kind regards,
Chevon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We visited as three families on caravan touring and camping fields and had a great time. Location is great for beach, Croyde Village (a short walk across the fields) and the NT's Baggy Point.
Facilities are top notch and not too dear, although peak season the showers, toilets etc coped well and no complaints. The club had some dubious acts on in the evening but kids seemed to enjoy themselves.
A little on the expensive side but Ruda's central location saved us £5-£10 a day in car park charges elsewhere.
We asked the three grandchildren if they wanted to go to Spain next year or Croyde and they all voted for the Devon beach holiday.
Just a word of warning the traffic in Braunton is a joke. Long queues and delays throughout the holiday season are unacceptable. If the local council wants the stacation visitors to return they need to do something about this bottleneck.
Note to Ruda management - although good security patrols where in evidence throughout our stay a group of itinerants did slip onto the touring site and pitched up for a free day of surfing and use of the showers etc. They stayed from 1000hrs through to about 2000hrs before slipping away.

Room Tip: Book early for the best pitches
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Coventry-Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We have been holidaying in the area for many years and had previously visited Ruda when my eldest son was very small. It was a nice pool, tired and a bit scruffy, quite small considering how busy it can get but was fine for a quick splash with our son. Our sons disability became more pronounced as he got older and last year (2013) when we visited he was a wheelchair user. I knew that there were several steps up to the pool reception but knowing that they have wheelchair accessible holiday units on site that perhaps they had another access for wheelchair users into the pool. I was giving them the benefit of the doubt due to the pool building being a 1960s (probably) building. When I went into the reception, I asked about wheelchair access and the receptionist told me that she would have to ring for one of the lifeguards to come around the back of the pool to meet my son and husband there. So I said fine and this is what happened. The path around to the back of the pool was uneven and mostly laid to grass and then the disabled access to the pool turned out to be the emergency exit which came out on the pool side. My husband wheeled my son around the pool side in full view of everyone and then asked where the disabled changing rooms were? The disabled Toilet (which they saw as a changing room) was down 8 o so steps from the pool side to the same level as the male and female changing rooms. My husband explained that this was not exceptable and had they not heard of the DDA act 2010 and was told they didn't need to comply with the DDA because they were only open 7mths of the year. They said my husband and son could change pool side in full view of everyone! Needless to say it was embarrassing and frustrating our son had been very excited about going swimming, and this had totally ruined all enjoyment of it. We didn't stay long and were given a refund and an offer of free swimming tokens for the rest of our weeks holiday!!! why would we put ourselves through that again? we returned the tickets and were given assurances that these access issues were on radar to be rectified over the coming winter. The Staff knew nothing about anything. If you are not accessible just say so!!!! instead of messing people around. I cant believe that Park Dean have received a Gold Award for their parks for 2013??? When the only mention of Accessibilty on their website is for how accessible the website is!!!!! Wheelchair bookings cannot be made online, I assume so they can answer which parts of their parks are actually accessible, which doesn't appear to be very much. Even the wheelchair space in the car park (one only) was obviously added on as an afterthought and was stuck out on a limb, we should have know then!! But why in this day and age is the onus still on the disabled person to do all the digging? Park Dean, Pull your finger out. These awards should be making you set yourself up as the market leaders not what you are doing which is setting a poor example. Plus think about the massive part of the market you are missing out on. We will not be staying on a Park Dean site ever in future until as a company you sort yourselves out

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

It was our first time staying here in Ruda and the receptionist was most unhelpful and lacking in the simplest forms of customer service skills. She didn't inform us that because we were early that we couldn't use the apartment parking facilities, so we drove there to park but you needed the fob to get in with the accommodation key! She never gave us a map or advised us on anything.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chevon M, Manager at Parkdean - Ruda Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Thank you for your review.

We are sorry to hear about the service that you received from the team. We have shared your comments with the Management Team at Ruda to be aware of and apologise for any inconvenience caused.

Kind regards,
Chevon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Croyde
4.5 mi away
Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel
1.3 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,867 reviews
0.5 mi away
Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Bideford Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts
0.7 mi away
Combas Farm
Combas Farm
#1 of 21 in Croyde
154 reviews
0.2 mi away
Freshwell Camping
Freshwell Camping
#6 of 10 in Croyde
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkdean - Ruda Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkdean - Ruda Holiday Park

Address: 7 Moor Lane | North Devon, Croyde, Braunton EX33 1NP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Braunton > Croyde
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Croyde
Hotel Class:4 star — Parkdean - Ruda Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a beautiful golden beach...Add in a generous helping of rolling surf, a sprinkle of thatched roof cottages, and a traditional village pub serving home cooked food... and you've got all the ingredients for an amazing holiday.Ruda Holiday Park is set right by Croyde Bay beach, a magical place with miles of rugged heritage coastline to explore, spectacular views of Lundy Island and, if you venture into the village, the most delicious Devonshire dairy ice cream! * Set right by the golden sands of stunning Croyde Bay * Surf School and hire shop on park * Direct access to South West Coastal Path * Amazing Tropical Adventure Pool on park * Fantastic Showtime Entertainment ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ruda Holiday Park Hotel Croyde
Parkdean - Ruda Holiday Park Croyde, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing