We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Maison William Wakeham
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Auberge Le Caribou(Riviere-au-Renard)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveller rating
35
28
19
17
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
35
28
19
17
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdining roomb bstay there againroad tripromantiquehost
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 108 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Had a wonderful dinner at the William Wakeham Maison. Superbly prepared food. Not budget category, but fresh and excellent. We passed it and decided to stop in and all members of our family were very happy with their meals. Outstanding, professional service.

Room Tip: Did not stay there but it was a beautiful historic home
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donna b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

The hotel is quaint, rooms delightfully decorated, the food is magnificent and the host, Desmond Ogden, does everything to ensure guests feel welcome and comfortable. If you want a truly memorable stay in Gaspé, stay at the Maison William Wakeham!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EvaG8_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We stayed here for two nights In May with our friends during a touring holiday in Gaspesie. It was a memorable experience due to the wonderful team working there and the owner/chef Desmond.
This is a historical inn and we stayed in the "Reine" and "Rustique" rooms. The Reine is like going back in time with the four poster bed and window seats. If you take the Rustique room you will be sharing with a moose head but this all adds to the charm and originality of the place! These are not your usual standard hotel rooms but stand out because of that!
We ate in the restaurant each evening and it was definitely a good decision. The service was professional yet friendly (thank you Real!) and we got good advice about the dishes on offer. The scallops (petoncles) were delicious and the lamb we had on the second night is definitely to be recommended! However the best of all was a lobster bisque made by Desmond and which we all thought to be the best we had ever tasted! Good wine list with very reasonable prices.
Breakfasts were delicious and freshly cooked to order with charming service (didnt get the name sorry!).
We all agreed that we had really enjoyed the hospitality at the Wakeham and we would recommend you give it a try if you are in Gaspe!

Room Tip: If you want to go back in time, then choose the "Reine" room!
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shoegirl58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

This hotel has unique rooms, every room is different. The food is among the best I have ever had anywhere. Desmond and his staff made us feel very welcome and their attention to detail is fabulous. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolWeber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Every one was so friendly and the food just right, then to round it all off, at breakfast we discovered the Desmond came from the North of England like myself. Would not hesitate to recommend this Auberge to anyone visiting Gaspe

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scouserted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews