We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fanciful, unique, charming, cozy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Auberge sous les Arbres
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Gaspe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2013

I flew in to Gaspe in the evening with my mom, and we had a long day of traveling, so I was looking forward to rest. The taxi driver took us into town and dropped us off at La Maison Carter and the inn keeper was already walking up the stairs to meet us and help us with our bags. The outside patio was lit in the darkness and I already loved the place. He remembered details about both my mom and I from what I had told him in my email, and was very helpful and friendly. He showed us to our room upstairs which was quite decorated, including an interesting doll in a glass case, and I also noticed the eclectic wallpapers. There was a big tub, warm comforting lighting, and antique dark wood furniture. I remember wishing I was staying a day longer in Gaspe because I felt so comfortable. It was 10:15 by now on a Sunday so we assumed there was nowhere to get food but he pointed us in the direction of a great restaurant right across the street looking out over the water, and a bank next door to get Canadian money. We ate delicious fresh caught fish and chips and had a beer. The next morning we ate crepes for breakfast downstairs and drank coffee in the adirondack chairs outside and prepared to take the bus to Port Daniel. I really want to go back, and I will definitely stay at La Maison Carter.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BOWBARR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2012

Stayed only one night in September. A lovely, quiet inn in a great location - day trip to Forillon Park or Perce Rock.

All common areas and rooms are furnished with beautiful antiques and art from Quebec and Europe. Pleasant staff.

This inn has a very upscale feel at a moderate cost relative to similarly appointed hotels we have visited.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

The auberge is mostly an old house with interesting features. The room we had was equipped with a large fress-standing bath on a platfor, across from the bed, shielded by curtains! It looked great, but would have been better for a leisurely soak than a quick shower. The staff were helpful and friendly, but in contrast to another reviewer, we found breakfast lacking. It appeared that much of the breakfast was kept in a chiller cabinet overnight and simply reheated in the morning. This included cooked items. Needless to say, we stuck to the pastries and fruit, which were fine. Overall, a good place to stay. For meals, there are some friendly restaurants nearby, though we did not enjoy our meal in the big hotel next door (the Hotel des Commandants).

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicholas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

The facilities and location are top notch, but the hospitality is what really sets this place apart. We spent 3 nights here while touring the area, and the owners really took care of us. No need to speak French. Breakfast is great. What a lovely spot!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MountainWannatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We loved our recent 3-day stay in Gaspe, and this inn was terrific! I don't know why anyone would stay elsewhere! The location was just off the main street, the room was spacious, modern, and clean, and the innkeepers so warm and helpful. Nearby Forillon National Park is spectacular, and they helped with our daily trip planning. The grounds are lovely, and we were disappointed that we couldn't stay longer.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dhuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

We just spent a week at Maison Carter on business. The suite we took was just perfect for our needs. There was great antique desk we could set up on our computer and a lovely sitting room where we could relax after completing our daily work. The Auberge was central to everything....several excellent restaurants within walking distance. Andree-Claude and Pierre are marvellous hosts, very knowledgeable about the region.

Room Tip: All rooms are ample sizes, beautifully decorated with antiques. The rooms in the new wing seem a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExperiencePEI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

The hotel was great. Beautifully renovated. Extremely clean. Luxury sheets. Great location across from cafes and shops. Quiet. The only thing I am going to say, and this wasn't a problem for us at all, was that there were lots of stairs. From the parking lot to the reception is the equivalent of 1 flight of stairs. In the front, to get to the street is the equivalent of 3 flights of stairs. Again, it was a great place (5 stars) and if stairs aren't a problem, would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank djs22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaspe
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Commandants
23.6 mi away
Perce Au Pic de l'Aurore
12.9 mi away
Motel du Haut Phare
Motel du Haut Phare
#3 of 12 in Gaspe
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Motel Adams
Motel Adams
#6 of 12 in Gaspe
81 reviews
12.7 mi away
Auberge Le Caribou
Auberge Le Caribou
#1 of 1 in Riviere-au-Renard
44 reviews
24.8 mi away
Riotel Perce
Riotel Perce
#4 of 16 in Perce
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge sous les Arbres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge sous les Arbres

Address: 146 de la Reine Street, Gaspe, Quebec G4X 2R2, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Gaspesie Region > Gaspe
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Gaspe
Price Range: £73 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge sous les Arbres 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Auberge sous les Arbres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Sous Les Arbres Gaspe, Canada - Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing