We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first trip to the area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Omaha Airport Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Carter Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The hotel is a short ride to the Old Town Market in Omaha where there are great shops and restaurants.We had a junior suite that was very spacious and the bed was really comfortable. The room was clean it was a great plus not to be bothered by housekeeping in the morning, they always came to clean after we had left for the day. There is a gas station convenience store across the street with a Subway if you need anything. I did hear some noise from that area at night, but it did not keep me awake. Cindy at the front desk was great and was able to give us a late check out. We enjoyed our 4 night stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janeg818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2013

my husband is in the military and so we drive across the country frequently moving or going to see family. I always choose to stay at Holiday Inn Express and even drive out of my way to find one because I know that they will be quality and there will be a breakfast for my two small boys (3 and 5). I also tell all of my friends and family to go there as well so I was very dissapointed when I booked two rooms in Carter Lake so that I could stay the night with my parents and they could take the boys back to their place. My husband and I left ealry in the morning for our flight and I really appreciated the budget valet parking but I was informed by my parents that when they went to breakfast the next morning that the breakfast and staff were very rude. They ran out of pancake mix in the machine and although there were still 10 or so other people besides my parents and children in the breakfast area and it was still before the end of breakfast, the attendant informed them that it wasn't worth opening a new bag of mix. I'm so glad that my
children were not worth it. We also chose this hotel over others in the area because it had a hottub and pool. I noticed a note at the front desk that the hot tub was out of service, ok so we'll only go to the pool. although this is an indoor pool it was freezing cold. Like 50 degrees. My children wouldn't even set foot in it. I may need to reevaluate my favorite hotel chain and get a loyalty card to a different company.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akomanetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Omaha Airport Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear akomanetz,

Thank you for leaving us a review about your visit. It is regrettable that this stay was not 100% satisfactory due to your experience at breakfast and pool facility's condition being sub par. Your comments will be shared with the hotel management and appropriate action will be taken to rectify these instances.

Again, thank you for your review and our apologies for the shortcomings.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Good place to stay close to the airport. Fairly new and well kept. It's located across the street from a busy gas station, convenience store and Subway. The neighborhood is questionable and I would be careful about leaving anything in the vehicle.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WolfCreekFarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We will be making several trips to Omaha now that our daughter is going to college in the great city. We are still on the look out for the best stay for the value. Holiday Inn Express Carter Lake is somewhere I would stay again. The hotel was very clean. The breakfast was good. The only complaint was room service did not come till 5:00 pm on day. Other than that we were pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 907momof3907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

If you need an airport close to the hotel, this is your place. A little outdated, yes, but it was comfortable and clean and had all the necessary amenities. There is a gas station and large convenient store across the street, but there are not really any restaurants within walking distance. There was a somewhat questionable crowd at our hotel that night, so I am not sure if that was an anomaly or if this area attracts different people. My stay was fine and I really have no complaints, but once I drove into town, I realized how awesome Omaha really is, and there are a lot of cool areas (Old Market, etc) with hotels that have shopping and trendy restaurants within walking distance which were reasonably priced. While I was satisfied with the HIE, I wish that I would have taken advantage of downtown Omaha and stayed there!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k86j84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

There was nothing wrong with the facility with the exception of housekeeping knocking in the door twice before 9:00AM on the morning of check out. I understand the sense of urgency to get the rooms clean but...... Otherwise good for the traveler with a short stay. Very close to the airport.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leland1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed here the night before we had an early flight the next day. The staff was friendly. The hotel is close to the airport. Plenty of lights outdoors at night with a gas station next door. The rooms are out dated. The beds are not comfortable at all. The bathroom was dirty with hair on the floor. The first room we got the AC was broken. The second room we moved to the AC worked but it was still dirty. Other than a quick night before a flight I'd never stay here with my family. There is a Candlewood next door and that will be where we stay next time before a flight.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigtwagner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Omaha Airport Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear bigtwagner,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are so glad you liked the friendliness of our staff. Please accept our apologies for the issues you had with your room accommodations. Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the facilities and guest services we offer to our guests. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carter Lake
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Omaha Airport
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn, Inn & Suites Omaha
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Omaha Airport Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Omaha Airport
Hampton Inn Omaha Airport
#2 of 6 in Carter Lake
53 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Omaha Airport
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Omaha Eppley Airport/Carter Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Omaha Airport Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Omaha Airport Inn

Address: 2510 Abbott Plaza, Carter Lake, IA 51510 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Omaha Airport Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Carter Lake
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Carter Lake
Price Range: £66 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Omaha Airport Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Plus Omaha Airport Inn and Suites in Carter Lake, Iowa is conveniently located to Eppley Airfield, Downtown Omaha, CenturyLink Center, TD Ameritrade Ballpark, Old Market and Omaha's Henry Doorly Zoo. Best Western Plus Omaha Airport also provides complimentary airport shuttle to and from the Airport every half hour as scheduled starting as early as 3:30 a.m., seven days a week. We also offer a complimentary local shuttle within a 5 mile radius of the hotel. Best Western Plus Omaha Airport Inn and Suites offers a 24 hour business center in the lobby, indoor pool, hot tub and 24 hour fitness center and on site sundry shop. All guest rooms are non-smoking and feature either one king or two queen size beds, microwave, mini refrigerator, premium cable television programming, flat screen color televisions, a desk chair & workstation and comfortable seating area in each room. Suites, with the one king or two queen bed configurations offer additional space and a separate seating area for entertaining. The oversized living space features a sofa sleeper convertible bed, additional flat screen color television, microwave and refrigerator. Additionally, Best Western Plus Omaha Airport is ADA compliant and guests have easy access to the hotel, the guest rooms, hotel amenities and hotel function spaces. Our hotel has accessible standard rooms and suites, including suites with one king or two queen size beds, including both physical impairment and/or hearing impairment units. Sorry no pets, but service animals are, of course, welcomed. Start your day early with our continental breakfast of cereal, milk, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, fresh fruit, assorted breakfast bars and breads and beverages such as juice, coffee and/or hot chocolate. The continental is served as early as 3:30 a.m., seven days a week. Each guest is invited to enjoy our free hot breakfast is served from 6:00 a.m. - 9:30 a.m. daily, in the centrally located breakfast room. Our Downtown area features such attractions as the CenturyLink Center Omaha Convention Center, the TD Ameritrade Ballpark, the Freedom Park Navy Museum, the Bob Kerrey Pedestrian Bridge, the Historic Old Market restaurant and bar district, and nearby attractions such as the Joslyn Art Museum, Durham Museum, and the Omaha Henry Doorly Zoo. The City of Council Bluffs and area shopping is only a short drive (only 10 - 15 minutes away). Council Bluffs offers 3 world class casinos, the Mid-America Center, additional shopping & dining opportunities, a Go Kart track and a luxury movie theater. The hotel shuttle will take guests to the Council Bluffs Mid-America Center, nearby restaurants, shopping and Casinos (within 5 mile radius). Some of the other notable businesses and attractions are University of Nebraska at Omaha (UNO), Creighton University, Gallup, The Nebraska Medical Center, the Children's Hospital, Offutt Air Force Base, Union Pacific Railroad, Omaha Steaks, Omaha World-Herald newspaper, First Data and Oriental Trading Company. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus Omaha Airport Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Carter Lake
Carter Lake Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing