We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great motel for a stop over”
Review of Halfway Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Halfway Motel
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Eden
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Our room was a one bedroom apartment and although it was small, it was perfect for a one night stop over. It looks like they're part way through refurbishing - new TVs, comfy beds, new bed linen and carpet. The kitchen is very small but apparently new ones are about to be fitted. The bathroom is dated but fine - no toilet roll holder. We had a splash in the pool and again, a bit dated but just fine for a cool off. The owners are very friendly and the location is right in town. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank squeaky08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night on trip home from Northern NSW. Booked via bookings.com and paid $170 for standard King room. Room was very small with King bed taking up most of the space. Small table and 2 chairs were handy. Bathroom very cramped and very dated... 1 person at a time only. Shower head was broken and therefore water went out everywhere when turned on. Had basic soap, shampoo/conditioner provided. Bed was super comfy and doona and sheets lovely. Cobwebs in corner next to bedside table was a bit off putting. Carparks are tiny so be careful where you park if you have a large car!! Biscuits provided are worth eating - yum!! Hotelier David very friendly and helpful when suggesting local Chinese restaurant Golden Ocean which is only a 10 min walk up the road. Now that was a fantastic recommendation!!! Overall for this price would have preferred bigger room and bathroom that was not so tired looking.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Missdaksie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the 2 room with our 4 & 7yr olds, not a lot of room to sit at the table and you will need to wash the glasses before you use them, the toilet roll holder was non existent and the lamp shade are hanging by their metal frame but what makes it is the staff/owner, nothing to much trouble, friendly, helpful and lots of advice on things to do with best spots for the kids.
Even though it is on the corner of the highway it is quiet at night and the beds are really comfortable. Kids loved the pool. Older units but nicely renovated. We planed the stop at the last minute for a 1 night stop over, next time we go to Sydney we will plan in advance for a 2 night stop at this motel on the way home.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilfiery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Not a particularly friendly welcome, old fashioned room with not much in the way of facilities - a fridge and a kettle and nothing else. Toiletries consisted of a bar of soap. The shower was a disaster - constantly juggling with the two taps to try to get the water at the right temperature.

Everything reasonably clean.

The barbecue area looked very good, although we didn't put it to the test.

The wifi was off most of the time and patchy when it did come up.

Ok for a night but we wouldn't go back.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

This was the place that came up on a google search as being, as the name suggests, halfway between Sydney and Melbourne so booked a night for our journey with our 3 and 6 year old kids. We had a 2 room suite with a double in one room and twin beds plus kitchenette and dining area in the other. The layout posed a problem for us as a family as we had to put the kids in the double bed as we did not dare leave them unattended with the hob/knives in the kitchen, but this meant they were in the room with the front door which was a little unsettling. On first glance all was great and the shower room was recently re-fitted, although on closer inspection the kitchen was a little grubby it all seemed slightly shabby. BUT it was just a stopover for us and offered a comfortable night sleep at a good price with friendly staff. We got great fish and chips from the chippie near the Whale Museum but pretty much everything else seemed closed by 6pm on a Wednesday eve! I dare say if we find ourselves doing the same journey again we may well stay here again but don't think I would wish to use it as a base for a holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizzy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We stayed in this motel for 1 night while travelling to Melbourne. Found it to be a nice, reasonably priced place, conveniently located on the Princes Highway. We had diner in the "mystique" restaurant which is part of the motel, food was good and well presented. Would stay here again

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hans v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Nothing to write home about. Rooms very small and dated for the rather expensive rates. Bed was comfortable.

Parking was a nightmare. Three guests WITH 4WD and boats on trailers took up almost half of the available spaces in the entire parking area. SOME people have no concern about fellow travellers. But then again what can you expect from bogans from Victoria.

Township just a short walk. Fishermans Club at the end of Imlay Street is worth a visit. Food very good and beer is cold.

Would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms look all the same to me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eden hotels
3.1 mi away
The Seahorse Inn
The Seahorse Inn
#5 of 8 in Eden
208 reviews
0.8 mi away
Eden Motel
Eden Motel
#3 of 8 in Eden
126 reviews
0.3 mi away
Twofold Bay Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Coachman's Rest Motor Inn
0.9 mi away
Eden Nimo Motel
Eden Nimo Motel
#7 of 8 in Eden
25 reviews
0.4 mi away
Heritage House Motel & Units
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halfway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halfway Motel

Address: 118 Imlay St | Princes Highway, PO Box 21, Eden, New South Wales 2551, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Eden
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Eden
Price Range: £53 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Halfway Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Also adjoining the motel is Mystique Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Halfway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing