We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A cabin stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eden Gateway Holiday Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Eden Gateway Holiday Park
Ranked #2 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Eden
Certificate of Excellence
Gisborne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A cabin stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

We were given the Spa cabin at a very good price. Five nights for the price of four "the gem of Eden" I think it was called. We stayed in summer but not in school holidays.
Couches in our cabin were very uncomfortable and hurt our backs.
The Cabin was very clean, but just a few little oversights, like a missing bedroom remote and some curtains missing their hooks. I think a quick check by someone to make sure these sorts of things were covered (and better couches) would have made it an excellent cabin.
Shower and water pressure were great.
Pool was cold but lovely and the proximity to town was good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freckles0201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    66
    18
    9
    8
See reviews for
63
70
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

We had phoned ahead and asked for a) a quiet location, b) a new cabin if possible and c) as far from the main road as possible. Ok, in school holidays you take what you get given but we were travelling in February and had the cheek to ask for what we wanted after relating to them a bad experience at Big 4 Burrill Lake.
WELL, we got a fantastic 4 berth cabin for the two of us furthest from the main road and kids area/pool and had a lovely elderly couple next to us.
Quality of the cabin was great and so well equipped. Cleanliness was excellent and the advice and service from the reception was extremely helpful.
Thanks BIg 4 for getting our experience back on a sensible track.
Peter & Janice

Room Tip: As a couple, don't travel in school holidays and get a cabin as far from the road and reception...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Morang, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

The sites need some care to regrow the grass as they were dusty. The Camp Kitchen is not available at this time as they are renovating, but in the time of our stay, no work was done. The Amenities Block is old and needs renovating, as there was very little hot water available in either the Men's or the Ladies showers no matter when you used them. There is little to no TV reception at the Powered Sites, this needs to be addressed as well. Overall we were not impressed with the state of the Big4 Park as they want to charge high rates and their facilities are very poor.
J & M

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forster, Australia
Level Contributor
953 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

The location of the park was very close to the centre of town and a lot of the attractions. There was very little noise from traffic during the night and it was nice to have the call of the bell birds during the day. The facilities were very clean.
The only improvement I would suggest is a new park map in order to find your site. The present one is very confusing and the scale all wrong.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

We stayed over the xmas period with a family group in our caravan.
The kids facilities were great, great playground, fantastic pool (very busy at times), jumping castle, outdoor movies most nights.
The parks roads are only partly concreted and this made it hard for our younger kids to ride scooters & bikes.
The grounds staff were grumpy at times, we were unable to gain access via the boom gate one day through no fault of our own and the man said what have you done to it in a grumpy tone.
Not a great way to treat your paying guests.
The amenities are way underdone for the amount of people over the xmas period, thank god we have a van with its own bathroom.
However in saying this the water pipes burst twice leaving us with no water for a few hours, bursting at the capacity I would say!
Nowhere for your sullage hose to drain, which made the site wet & muddy at times, would hate to see whats its like in winter.
Overall a good park with good kids facilities and set in a lovely bushy area, I can see they are trying to make improvements but the amenities should be a big priority.
Eden itself is a lovely little coastal town, with beautiful beaches.
The park is only a few minutes drive from the shopping strip, which has a Bilo supermarket and lots of specialty shops and cafes/take away.
A great place to visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

Arrived at check in time to be told cabin not ready, come back in an hr & half. When we got in cabin was still dirty, ants galore thick dirt on window sills & a razor blade not ours left in shower. Floors not washed. Need to pay for bbq but would run out after 5 minutes keep feeding in money. Didn't heat well & eventually gave up & brought food in side to continue cooking. Pool too small for massive size of park. Enjoyed our time away but for $240 a night & a cabin I had to clean would not recommend to anyone, very disappointing.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank francakil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melton, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. Site was spacious and easy to enter - plenty of room to move the van around. . Swimming pool was warm and clean with plenty of shade for relaxing by the pool. Amenities were clean and shower pressure was great! close to shops. Easy to access from the highway. We will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marnie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eden hotels
3.6 mi away
The Seahorse Inn
The Seahorse Inn
#4 of 8 in Eden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Garden of Eden Caravan Park
2.2 mi away
Eden Beachfront Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Discovery Parks – Eden
0.9 mi away
Twofold Bay Motor Inn
0.7 mi away
South Coast Holiday Parks Eden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden Gateway Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Gateway Holiday Park

Property: Eden Gateway Holiday Park
Address: 99 Princes Hwy, Eden, New South Wales 2551, Australia (Formerly Fountain Caravan Park Eden)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Eden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Eden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Eden Gateway Holiday Park 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The gem of the Sapphire Coast If some fool tries to tell you that Australia isn't beautiful, take them to the Sapphire Coast. A tour of the region's rugged coastlines, lush forests, golden beaches and blindingly blue waters will have their eyes goggling and their jaw-dropping! The diversity of this geographical gem is what makes it so magnificent. Like a precision-cut sapphire, it has many facets, each showing the area in a new light! Discover it for yourself with an unforgettable stay at the Eden Gateway Holiday Park. Its cosy villas are nestled among the vibrant parklands, just a hop away from the breathtaking Twofold Bay, Lake Curalo, Nullica State Forest and the stunning strip of Aslings Beach. Pet friendly - excluding Dec/Jan School Holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Eden Gateway Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing