We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing customer service”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Great Southern Inn & Backpackers
Ranked #5 of 7 Eden B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 March 2014

My partner and I had dinner here last night and it was great. The meals are huge! But wht I liked most was the exceptional local staff. I had a issue with my initial meal , which is irrelevant the issue because it was handled immaculate. Not only was I delt with by the kitchen staff to liaises the issue ( felt like they could handle constructive critisim / customer dissatisfaction ) I was given a new meal and a refund after I insisted that was not necessary. I have been to many types of restaurants and I like to be positive in my recommendations, great southern hotel has taken top of my list for hospitality service, internationally, I travel a lot. Thanks to the beautiful staff from 5pm 16th march for making our stop perfect along with snug cove BnB, perfection.

Room Tip: Good pub meals huge servings, great local value
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
There are newer reviews for Great Southern Inn & Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2013

What a great place to stay.... we were a group of 24 that booked into the Hotel last Saturday night.Thank you to everyone for looking after us and making us all feel at home. Great food, amenities and service from all the staff. If you're going through Eden, and you need a comfy bed and a good meal, look these guys up!!!

Room Tip: Book early
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

If you are in Eden and looking for a good value Pub meal then you cannot go past the Great Southern Restaurant, great meals and good value, sit out on the deck and enjoy a great view of the Ocean, staff were very friendly, would certainly visit again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank RossLyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Stayed one night in a double room. Almost half a centimeter of dust on all the baseboards, dirt covering all the surfaces and carpet warped and stained. Asked if there was a cleaner room available and the manager reluctantly 'upgraded' us to a balcony room which featured a wooden door rotting at its base. A previous occupant had left a pair a pair of large hoop earings on the dresser, which had, unlike the previous room at least been wiped down at some point. Found hairs in the bed of different varieties and had an altogether horrible night.

Asked about the wifi which is supposed to be included and were given a password which didn't work by the flippant manager. Did not bother to ask again as we were tired of disputing with the manager.

The only positive is that the bar cannot be heard from the room, though we were awoken late at night by a drunken conversation in the street between some exiting patrons.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Gordon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2011

Small room, just the basics, seems there are upgrades available to larger rooms. Bar, restaurant, and gambling on the first floor. Restaurant food was good and they had a nice patio view of the ocean. Staff were very nice, friendly, and helpful. Located in the restaurant
and shopping area of this small oceanside fishing community. Prepay for the room and just leave the key in the room door when you leave.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lars_of_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stinj O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elettrica-mente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eden hotels
1.1 mi away
Eden Motel
Eden Motel
#3 of 8 in Eden
123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heritage House Motel & Units
0.1 mi away
Twofold Bay Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Whale Fisher
Whale Fisher
#6 of 10 in Eden
49 reviews
0.6 mi away
Eagle Heights Holiday Units
0.5 mi away
Snug Cove Villas
Snug Cove Villas
#10 of 10 in Eden
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Southern Inn & Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Southern Inn & Backpackers

Address: 158 Imlay Street, Eden, New South Wales 2551, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Eden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Eden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing