We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Got potential”
Review of Bayview Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bayview Motor Inn
Ranked #7 of 7 Eden B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I realise travelling melbourne to Sydney via coast in the Christmas holidays doesn't give you much choice or if any choice for accommadation if not pre booked, but! For the price this place is not good, should be more in the back packers range.
Upon arriving at the reception area wouldn't find a friendlier person,Costco was nothing but friendly happy and helpful. The views are lovely the grounds and pool is nice. The rooms are a mager let down. Old , tired, dirty (not filthy) and beds are lumpy.

Room Tip: If no where as to stay, it's acceptable, just!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lear0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2013

We had pre-booked a room at the Bayview Motel during the christmas season as part of our trip to Australia traveling from Sydney to Melbourne by car. The reviews seemed ok and the pictures looked good, so imagine our shock when we arrived. I had my suspicions as we drove in to the property, but when we got our keys to the room and opened the door, we were floored.

The views are indeed nice, but the rickety windows and windowscreens that have bent frames and seem to have had someone try to claw their way out makes it hard to appreciate it. It seemed safer to leave the luggage in the car than take it into the room. The bed was thoroughly uninviting, so much so that we couldn't stand the idea of crawling into it... The bathroom at the rest-stop we had just been to seemed more inviting than the bathroom in the room.

We didn't feel safe and we didn't feel comfortable and couldn't stand the idea of actually sleeping there, a first for us having travelled all around the world sleeping in all manner of places, so we mutually decided that there was no way we could sleep there after heading in to the strangely disappointing town of Eden (which has so much potential!) to try to find some food (and ultimately settling for pizza when we would've loved a good meal at a restaurant).

The owner had been smart and had charged us the price of the room at check-in, so when we returned to inform them of a change of plans (we had found a room at the Best Western down the street), he informed us there was nothing he could do and he couldn't refund any part of the exorbitant $140AUD price (should be a $19.95 motel) for our one night of stay (BW was $10 cheaper and it was actually clean and safe feeling).

Needless to say, we're very disappointed and recommend it's probably best to skip Eden all together. There were other people staying at the Bayview motel, so it's probably ok for some, but for us it was unacceptable. And to be clear, we've stayed in back-packing hotels all around south-east asia with no problem, but couldn't handle this one... Stay at your own risk, and maybe you'll write a positive review like some, but we would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank edsbybo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

We stopped here for one night and the accommodation, whilst very basic, was comfortable and we needed nothing more. Costa, the owner, was so lovely and his dog Maggie was just as friendly!

Amazing view over the bay when we woke up the next morning and the pool was very refreshing in the heat!

As it is an Eco lodge there is no air conditioning, but the fans were fine at night and you had a fabulous breeze through the room when the front and rear doors were opened.

Recommend this place for a night or two.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank elf_1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Costa the owner was very nice. We stayed one night ground floor but still could see the bay from the our back window. Beds were comfortable. Bathroom clean and nice water pressure in the shower. Need a car to go to shops but that was ok for us. Basic but a good place to stay for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maris55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed for just one night on our scenic trip from Melbourne to Brisbane. Costa the owner was super friendly and very helpful when recommending places to eat and things to do whilst in town. Our room had a nice view of the bay, was clean and had all we needed - comfortable bed and pillows,bathroom, tv, heater and tea/coffee facilities. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamesOHara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Stayed for just one night en route from Melbourne to Sydney. Arrived late teatime and the owner, Costa, could not have been more welcoming! Showed us to our room (which had a nice view of the bay), and recommended where to go for supper. The room was spotlessly clean, the bed comfortable and there was a small pool although we did not use it as it was heading towards Autumn and a bit cool! Would certainly recommend this motel!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrancesBlodwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

We had an overnight stop here and this place was lovely. Basic room but all you need really. Nice comfortable bed with bathroom, tv and coffee and iron facilities. The gentleman owner was extremely nice and helpful which was very warming! Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eden hotels
1.0 mi away
Eden Motel
Eden Motel
#3 of 8 in Eden
125 reviews
1.1 mi away
Eden Nimo Motel
Eden Nimo Motel
#7 of 8 in Eden
25 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coachman's Rest Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Eden Beachfront Holiday Park
0.7 mi away
Twofold Bay Motor Inn
2.8 mi away
Discovery Parks – Eden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Motor Inn

Address: Corner of Princes Highway and Bellevue Place, Eden, New South Wales 2551, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Eden
Amenities:
Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Eden
Price Range: £47 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayview Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bayview Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing