We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very tired but clean” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coachman's Rest Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Coachman's Rest Motor Inn
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Eden
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Very tired but clean”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a tour from Melbourne to Sydney. Comparing this hotel to the others on the tour, it was one of the poorer quality establishments. It's definitely seen better days. As it was part of a package I don't know what we paid for it, but potential guests should know that this is not a luxury hotel! It was clean enough, but there wasn't a lot to commend it. It is located a little way out of the town - if you want to go out for a meal and have a couple of drinks, you'll need to order a taxi, although the journey is only 5 minutes or so.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Philking64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coachmansrest, Manager at Coachman's Rest Motor Inn, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
We would like to thank you for taking your time to review our motel. We agree that it is time for an upgrade and it is something we are looking into. We are not a luxury motel and we have never claimed to be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    35
    25
    6
    4
See reviews for
21
40
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

We were pleasantly surprised at the welcoming friendly owner managers who went out of their way to make our stay comfortable and well serviced.
The rooms were freshly renovated in lovely light colours, giving an overall sunny impression of the space. Which was pleasant in the winter month of July.
The beds were very comfortable being somewhat like our new latex bed at home which allowed for a very good nights sleep. At first we were concerned at the amount of noise that might echo from the road being that the motel is situated on a main road but we were unable to hear any traffic at all from our room.
We chose to eat in at the restaurant which was lovely and cosy with its open fireplace our meals were superb easily best restaurant quality. The manager was delightful showing a real interest in our trip and being very informative of the local attractions. I would recommend a trip to Eden for anyone and most definitely recommend the Coachman's Rest as the place to stay whilst in Eden.

Room Tip: All rooms seem good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coachmansrest, Manager at Coachman's Rest Motor Inn, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Thank you so much for taking your time to review us. Your comments are very much appreciated. It certainly helps us to improve and continue our good service to the customers coming through the doors. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

Hotel in excellent location for golfing - drive to town centre. Rooms clean, no sink in bathroom, only one small sink in main area. No pay TV or DVD player. Plenty of tea and coffee provided.
Was disappointed not have our room "made up" with clean towels or bins emptied for the whole long weekend. Was told by another guest that we had to pay extra and request this service. Was not told this at check in.
Only real bonus was that the beds are very comfortable and rooms are warm, suited our needs for a golfing weekend as we were not there for much of the time.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coachmansrest, Manager at Coachman's Rest Motor Inn, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Thank you for your time in reviewing us. The groups always get a better package deal than individual bookings.
As for the rooms not being serviced, the organizer and the party with him was informed that we can service the rooms but at a better rate. They wanted the cheapest rate possible and so decided against getting rooms serviced. As the guests checked in on the day of arrival, I informed everyone one of them about this. Every single guest said they did not require any service. Being a long weekend, the rates are normally more dearer. So the team decided to go for the cheaper option and not have the rooms serviced. If the information was not passed along, I am sorry but I cannot take responsibility for that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

Stayed here for 1 night. Got in very late but the managers were very kind and assisted us with the bookings. The TV did not work but the manager got it working and this was at midnight. Had a great sleep on the King bed. The rooms are not big but clean with all the basic amenities, the shower/bathroom is a good size. It is a small motel in need of some improvements which the managers say they are doing bit by bit. If you are looking for something flashy this is not it but a comfortable stay with great service. Did not eat at restaurant but the menu looked nice, especially the seafood platter.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coachmansrest, Manager at Coachman's Rest Motor Inn, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Your review is very much appreciated as it helps us to improve our service to our guests.
As mentioned by you and we agree that we are not a flashy motel but we do offer a comfortable night stay. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devonport, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

Not what we were expecting.After staying at the Best Western in Lakes Entrance and being so impressed we decided to ring ahead and book in here.Just a cheap looking motel rather than an Inn.Bed was hard,nasty smell coming from drain in floor of kitchen.Originally quoted $120 which was fine if the standard was as good as the previous Best Western,but it wasn't,so upon queerying this it was dropped to $105,still too expensive for what it was.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tobie_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coachmansrest, Manager at Coachman's Rest Motor Inn, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
We thank you for staying at our motel and for taking the time to review the property.
This property has been here for over 30 years and has gone through a few refurbishments. We agree that it is due for another one and we are in the process of doing something about it. We never claimed to be flashy motel. We are after all a 3 1/2 star motel as assessed by AAA Tourism.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013 via mobile

The lady at reception who I assume is the manager seemed friendly. That is the only good thing I can say about this motel. We were shocked to find broken glass sitting in the tray that held the face wash cloths. In the middle of the night I accidentally knocked my glasses off the bedside table, and whilst searching for them discovered a herd of dust bunnies that I think had been hanging out under the bed since 1982. We also found a note from a previous guest, which although humorous to us was of a slightly sexual nature and showed that along with the broken glass, the room had not been cleaned properly in a while. The decor is dated and colour scheme strange. If you want to revisit the 80's, this is the motel for you!

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ally1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coachmansrest, Manager at Coachman's Rest Motor Inn, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
We thank you for taking your time to review our motel.
First of all we would like to apologise for the shortcomings you had to face when in the room. Please rest assured that the person responsible has been notified about the issues and appropriate action has been taken so that this sort of incident do not happen again.
As for the decor of the room, plans are underway to redo the place and give it a modern look.
Once again, we do apologise for the whole incident.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Eden hotels

Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

We stayed at the Motel for a night and were offered a "Spa Room" at AUD 195 (and were charged an additional AUD 21 for a very simple breakfast). We are quite frequent travellers and have never seen a place where we got so little value for money.

Positives: Our room was clean (apart from a few dead insects near the windows) and we were greated by a very cheerfull and friendly staff at check-in.

Negatives: Room was very, very dated (a/c unit probably from the 70s and more a museum piece than anything else), room decor horrific ad very dark. It seems like the owners are not willing to invest any money in improving the condition of the hotel and are willing to charge their customers way beyond fair value. I would be ashamed to offer such rooms and overpriced meals to my guests.

We won't be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexF82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coachmansrest, Manager at Coachman's Rest Motor Inn, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
I would like to thank you for submitting a review for our property as without these reviews, it makes it hard to understand what the guests want.
Please accept our apologies for not meeting your expectations and also note that we are taking your feedback very seriously.
The new owners have only taken over for a year and we are trying to fix the place up. But like any othe project, these things take time and money. Plans are on the way to redo all the rooms in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eden hotels
4.0 mi away
The Seahorse Inn
The Seahorse Inn
#4 of 8 in Eden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
1.4 mi away
Twofold Bay Motor Inn
0.2 mi away
Eden Motel
Eden Motel
#3 of 8 in Eden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Halfway Motel
Halfway Motel
#8 of 8 in Eden
3.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
4.0 mi away
Discovery Parks – Eden
1.4 mi away
Heritage House Motel & Units
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coachman's Rest Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coachman's Rest Motor Inn

Property: Coachman's Rest Motor Inn
Address: 46 Princes Hwy | (Cnr of George Brown Street and Irene Cres), Eden, New South Wales 2551, Australia (Formerly Best Western)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Eden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Eden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coachman's Rest Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run motel based in Eden, NSW Australia. We have 26 ground floor rooms including Queen size double bedding, twin share and family rooms. All rooms are Non smoking and have free parking available in front of the room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Coachman's Rest Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing