We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stop there ! Horrid place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coachman's Rest Motor Inn
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Eden
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Don't stop there ! Horrid place”
Reviewed 6 January 2011

This has to be the worst motel we have ever stayed in. Even by motel standard, this bad !
Do not be deceived by the front nor the fresh coat of yellow paint on the outside walls. The rooms must not have been updated since the 70's ! Ours was 3 shades of maroon with vastly curtains. The bathroom sink is in the room which just adds to the depressing atmosphere of the room. The place was also filthy. Hair in the bath/shower, cracked tiles. Horrid. Now to top it all the night was 200$, we had no choice. It was late, all other places were full and the kids had just had enough of the road. We did not even try breakfast !
We left at 6 am ! Bottom line don't stop there period

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bambasydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    37
    25
    6
    4
See reviews for
22
41
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2010

thanks god it was one night
rooms are small, old, with out view and in my opinion
no safe , shower needs a lifting
breakfast was delivered in the room
couse the hotel was empty
a fanta from the fridge and 2 slices of toast bread
all that 50% more that the price that we have pay for the hilton at sydney and melbourne

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dreamerworldtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Eden hotels

washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2010

pretty much just what we were after during a trip along the coast. Clean, comfortable, easy to find. Wasn't anything plush but when after a bed this worked well.

Walls were a bit thin so we could hear the neighbours tv. Internet wasn't working when we were there.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wilcifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2009

A one night stay en route from Melbourne to Sydney.
A nice sized room with all the facilities, aircon was fine, bathroom clean and well equipped, bed very comfortable.
Better than your average motel, with a small pool and barbecue if you had the time.
We ate in the restaurant, to save walking into town, and were very impressed with the quality of food and service, which was provided by a family concern. Not too pricey either.
Would stay again if passing through.

  • Liked — Good restaurant
  • Disliked — Bit out of town
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pecabarratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2008

Driving from Sydney to Adelaide along the coast we stopped in Eden our 2nd night. The Coachman's is located right on the Princes Hwy which makes it conveniently located.

Make no mistake this is a motel with all the basics, but it really is just basics. Anything over 100$aus a night is too much money.

Nice staff, and clean rooms.

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank bgagnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2008

It’s a motor inn. It’s a Best Western. That’s it. If you’ve been to one in Australia before then you’ve been to this one too. The Eden BW is clean and decorated a nice relaxing yellow against the bare brick walls. A large king size bed awaited me in room 13 (actually, like most motel/hotels, it was two beds fixed together). The lady on reception was a true country bumpkin Aussie who was friendly and chatty. There were four things about this place to point out (which may, or may not, be important to you depending on your time of visitation and personal circumstances): Firstly, the rooms get oddly cold. Perhaps it’s all that bare brick. I dunno – I had the heat up to 30 degrees and it took ages to heat up. Secondly, the advertised pool is bang on the highway so don’t expect sea views and salt air (truck fumes and the aroma of petrol are flavor du jour). Thirdly, the bathroom is odd insofar as the shower and toilet are in one room (the bathroom?) and the sink, toiletries, hand towels and railing are outside (in the kitchen?). Talking of kitchens, you’re given a toaster but no knives or plates so it’s very handy if you fancy a slice of unbuttered toast that you each straight out of your hand. I suggest the motel simply take away the toaster: duh! Forth, the accommodation isn’t in town. It’s about a 15 minute walk in, or ten to the bay. Actually, that’s not a bad thing because although Eden as an area is beautiful the town and its residents are a bit backward and odd. Unless it’s the height of the holidays don’t bother with the restaurants or bars cause they’ll either be shut or full of the local odd squad. Actually, the restaurant in the motel boasts it’s award winning and the menu certainly look good (if pricy for a roadside inn) so maybe stick to that. Or better still skip Eden as a stopover and do yourself a favour and see a real town with friendly Aussies at Orbost in Victoria. But if you do plump for Eden you could certainly do a lot worse than the Best Western (or perhaps a little better). The Comfort Inn up the hill looked alright or the two-Fold Inn in the heart of town (brave soul) was also recommended to me. Just don’t expect Eden.

  • Liked — It wasn't in town
  • Disliked — It was oddly cold
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CamilleJeanPierre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eden hotels
4.0 mi away
The Seahorse Inn
The Seahorse Inn
#4 of 8 in Eden
205 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eden Motel
Eden Motel
#3 of 8 in Eden
112 reviews
1.4 mi away
Twofold Bay Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Halfway Motel
Halfway Motel
#8 of 8 in Eden
85 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eden Nimo Motel
Eden Nimo Motel
#7 of 8 in Eden
24 reviews
4.0 mi away
Discovery Parks – Eden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coachman's Rest Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coachman's Rest Motor Inn

Property: Coachman's Rest Motor Inn
Address: 46 Princes Hwy | (Cnr of George Brown Street and Irene Cres), Eden, New South Wales 2551, Australia (Formerly Best Western)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Eden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Eden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coachman's Rest Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run motel based in Eden, NSW Australia. We have 26 ground floor rooms including Queen size double bedding, twin share and family rooms. All rooms are Non smoking and have free parking available in front of the room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Coachman's Rest Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing