We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the drive.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ben Boyd Tower

Ben Boyd Tower
Ranked #3 of 15 things to do in Eden
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Worth the drive.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Well worth the drive to view a fascinating aspect of our exploitative and entrepreneurial past, unfortunately as it is set against the background of killing whales. The tower is spectacular, especially as it is set a the teatree forest on a cliff overlooking the vast ocean. This is a really great place to walk around, have a sit, and think what we are now doing to our environment that people are going to judged us on in years to come...

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    74
    8
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Eden, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Worth the drive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Take your walking shoes and water.
After you have marvelled at the tower, walk to the lookout at the base and be awed by the rock formations. Red rocks, teal sea, a fabulous site. Good spot for land based whale watching in spring.
The walk to Leather Jacket Bay is worth doing. About 9kms return. Pack a camera and sandwich.
Enjoy!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank oldseagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Tribulation
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Much more interesting than expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

A great little walk with excellent views of the coastline. Not sure why they don't build a stairway inside the tower, the view from the top would be awesome

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank truelocal5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Imposing Relic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Ben Boyd had this tower built in 1843 mainly for whale spotting but he also intended it to used as a lighthouse - only turned on for his own ships!
The tower is about 20 km south of Eden on made roads except for last half km. There are a few signs explaining its construction and significance but perhaps worth a little research before visiting

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank oztraveller61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
84 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A walk in the park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Good photo shots from the cliffs just past the tower and a nice picnic lunch spot when the sun is shining. You cannot walk up the tower but the story narration boards tell the story well.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ben Boyd Tower also viewed

 
Eden, New South Wales
Eden, New South Wales
 

Been to Ben Boyd Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing