We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful choice in pretty location”
Review of Cocora Cottage B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cocora Cottage B&B
Ranked #2 of 7 Eden B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Gail & David are very warm hosts, expertly balancing friendliness with professionalism.
On arrival we were tired after a long but interesting drive from Melbourne, and the welcome we received was excellent. It was just what we needed to be able to sit up on the spacious elevated deck overlooking the harbour and enjoying light refreshments.
My friend and I occupied both of the two rooms, and both are equally good, with comfortable beds, lovely furnishings and beautifully appointed bathrooms featuring whirlpool baths and generous sized showers. As others have said, the attention to detail is impressive, with thoughtful touches such as provision of a hairdryer and in the guest lounge there is a small fridge, plus further complimentary refreshment (such as port, chocolates & delicious homemade banana bread). There are also DVDs and a TV here, although we were too busy exploring Eden to utilise these.
Breakfast was very nicely presented in the upstairs area with its gorgeous views, and there were ample choices on offer ( such as fruit, cereal, juices & tea or coffee; other items such as pancakes or eggs, to be ordered the night before). I highly recommend Gail’s pears poached in marmalade!
I did need to make an international call in order to secure my booking with a credit card, but fortunately that wasn’t expensive, and it was convenient to be able to pay the final bill with a credit card, which isn’t possible at every B&B.
My friend and I thank our hosts for a lovely stay and certainly hope to return to this beautiful part of the world and be fortunate enough to stay again with Gail & David.
Eden is a small pretty town around which it is well worth taking a walk, and there are a few options for dinner, although you do need to remember that places close early…

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EurovisionUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gail W, Owner at Cocora Cottage B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our B&B. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip in Australia. We love to share our beautiful patch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

67 - 73 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2013

my with and i throughly enjoyed our stay in the room at the back of the house, David and Gail are great hosts, nothing is too much bother, you can relax with a drink on a great terrace with views to the harbour and beyond, the breakfasts were brilliant. everything was right about Cocora Cottage, we want to go back,

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandr268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gail W, Owner at Cocora Cottage B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to review our B&B. we are looking at rainbows over the bay today. Not as warm as when you were here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We spent two nights at Cocora Cottage, we loved the old house very well kept and our beautiful room. We were able to take our breakfast (very plentiful and varied) on the terrace of the cottage which offers a magnificent 360 ° view of the bay. the hosts, Gail and Dave have been friendly and giving very good advice for the rest of our trip. Definitively a very good address.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fastbamboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freddles, Owner at Cocora Cottage B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2013

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our B&B. It is wonderful when you can sit out on the deck and enjoy the views. We are so lucky to own such an historic home and be able to share it with others.
Thank you for taking the time to review Cocora Cottage B&B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Our week long stay at Cottage was delightful. We just loved everything about this b&b. Our room was splendid and the old world charm that Gail and Dave have so lovingly brought back to life, was beautiful. Our breakfasts were to die for, not to mention the breathtaking views we enjoyed from the upstairs area. Will definitely be recommending Cocorra Cottage to our friends and hope to return next year.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamelarvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freddles, Owner at Cocora Cottage B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our B&B. We enjoyed having you stay and meeting your family. Thank you also for the lovely email you sent us.
Hopefully we will see you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012 via mobile

Literally a top spot in Eden, amazing views of this beautiful part of the world, I could have stayed for weeks!
The rooms are beautifully furnished, where everything has been thought of. The building has a quite a history too and is a short stroll into town.
I travelled with a friend and the price was quite reasonable for a room each, which included a lovely cooked breakfast.
The hosts, Gail and Dave certainly made us feel very welcome.
I wish I had time to use the lovely spa bath!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YarraVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freddles, Owner at Cocora Cottage B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. Being able to watch the whales from our deck is such a wonderful experience. It is a pity they don't stay round all year. We just have to be content with the sea eagles, pelicans, seals and dolphins at other times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

The room was fantastic inside a renivated Heritage building with original sandstone walls and fireplaces . We were welcomed with a glass of wine on the top balcony to see the magnificent water views and hear stories of whale watching from the top floor! We were also welcomed with a common room fire , coffee, port and chocolate ! We filled in our breakfast Menu which will be served up on the top floor with views of the water and whales! Lovely private room with ensuite , tv etc. room all beautifully decorated . We highly recommend this b& b !!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Treestrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cocoracottage, Owner at Cocora Cottage B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We value your feedback. Hopefully you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012 via mobile

This is the most outstanding B&B we have stayed at.
Gail and David are the most accommodating hosts and great company to boot.
I especially enjoyed the lovely breakfast over looking Twofold Bay.
All good !

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheadstripin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cocoracottage, Owner at Cocora Cottage B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2012

What an accolade! Thank you taking the time to review our property. We hope you can visit again and stay for longer next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eden hotels
2.8 mi away
The Seahorse Inn
The Seahorse Inn
#4 of 8 in Eden
228 reviews
1.5 mi away
Coachman's Eden (formerly Coachman's Rest Motor Inn)
0.1 mi away
Twofold Bay Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Discovery Parks – Eden
1.3 mi away
Eden Motel
Eden Motel
#2 of 8 in Eden
160 reviews
1.4 mi away
Eden Nimo Motel
Eden Nimo Motel
#7 of 8 in Eden
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocora Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocora Cottage B&B

Address: 2 Cocora St, Eden, New South Wales 2551, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Eden
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Eden
Price Range: £65 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy spectacular views over both bays from heritage listed Cocora Cottage B&B (circa 1850's). It was the original Police Station in Eden. It is centrally located in a quiet area close to Eden's famous Killer Whale Museum, the Wharf and Eden's fine restaurants. Breakfast which you can select from our menu is served upstairs with views down to the Wharf and across Twofold Bay to the foothills of Mt Imlay. Both bedrooms have a Queen sized bed, a television and an ensuite with a spa. The front bedroom features the original open fireplace while the back bedroom offers bay views.We serve a complimentary welcome drink and port and chocolates are available in the guest lounge for later in the evening. Whales can often be seen from the deck of our B&B from August to the end of Nov. FREE WIFI. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing