We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Place”
Review of Cocora Cottage B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cocora Cottage B&B
Ranked #2 of 7 Eden B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Stayed twice at this place. Gail and David are wonderful hosts and the accommodation is excellent. The rooms are lovely, the views are fantastic, drinks on the deck in the evening and a glorious breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gail W, Owner at Cocora Cottage B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

It was great to have you stay again. Glad you enjoyed it. Thank you for taking the time to review our B&B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

62 - 68 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2013

we had the room looking out over the lawn and gardens which was very pleasant, although smaller than the other downstairs room we were offered. The shower was over the bath, and for the 2 of us travelling, just enough room in the bedroom to open our suitcases which are the new sort, both sides equal so no real lid and don't, therefore fit on a suitcase stand. The owners were super friendly, and the upstairs room and terrace, where we were served the welcome drink and next morning, breakfast, had a magnificent view over the inner harbour/boat dock and jetty area.
Breakfast was more than adequate.

Room Tip: The bigger room is near the front door, the back room has a garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david255106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gail W, Owner at Cocora Cottage B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review Cocora Cottage B&B. We appreciate your feedback. It is difficult to make space for some of those larger bags.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

we stayed here with another couple for 2 nights on the tail end of a holiday through the High country of Victoria. warmly welcomed by Gail on our arrival she was a treasure trove of information on where everything was, what to do, where to dine. Town centre is only a short 5 minute walk away.
The property is a beautifully maintained cottage almost 150 years old. the rooms are cozy & well appointed. the breakfast provided was fabulous but it was all the other little touches that made this visit special like the cosy living room with a roaring fire place complete with port, wine & chocolate, the home baked cake with afternoon tea. the weather was cold & rainy but we were quite content to sit on the comfy couch in front of the warm fire place & while away the afternoon watching TV, movies or just reading the vast aray of books available.
the views are spectacular from the rear of the cottage & on a sunny day it would be great to sit on the balcony taking in the scenery. Host Gail & David are friendly & spoil you but dont intrude. we enjoyed the visit so much we didnt want to leave, we will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glentc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cocoracottage, Owner at Cocora Cottage B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review. It was a pity the weather was not kinder for you but you all seemed to enjoy your time in front of the fire relaxing. Hopefully you can come back and enjoy some sunshine on the deck next time. Cheers
Gail and Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

After spending a day in Eden in March 2010 on an unscheduled port of call stop whilst circumnavigating Australia on HAL’s Ms Volendam we decided that we would one day likes to return. This opportunity came about in January 2013 following another round-trip cruise from Sydney to New Zealand. After the cruise we planned a week’s touring around NSW, which of course, would include Eden. But where would we spend the night?

I spent a long time shopping around the internet using trip adviser and other web sites but found all hotels more expensive than I would normally pay in the UK and some were not very good quality/reviews. I then had a brain wave - how about guest houses? I searched for B&B's in Eden and Cocora Cottage B&B came up! I checked it out on trip adviser and was surprised to see maximum scores awarded on all reviews and excellent comments to support those reviews.

Although the cost was, in actual fact, more expensive than local hotels I felt it would be worth it for this 'something special'.

I wrote to Gail on email and made my booking ... then, later, changed the date so that I could do everything that I wanted to do in the weeks tours around NSW. Gail was very accommodating. It turned out that Gail is also the cruise ship co-ordinator for Eden and was the person who, at very short notice, back in March 2010 set everything up ready for Ms Volendam's visit.

On January 27th. we made our way to Eden from Batemans Bay. It was raining, apparently the worst weather in Australia for 40 years!!! We arrived at lunch time and too early to check into the B&B so we found a cafe and had some lunch. We then went to Cocora Cottage B&B to see if we could check in early. Gail and David were so welcoming. They showed us our room and then showed us the upstairs sun room available to guests. Gail offered both my wife and I a complimentary drink. She suggested a traditional Australian beer for me which she insisted would taste better in an Australian stubby cooler. As mentioned earlier the weather wasn't kind to us so we were unable to utilise the veranda or, unfortunately, any of the outside facilities. Gail offered suggestions as to what we could do for entertainment in the afternoon and we took her advice to see wild kangaroos at the golf club. What we really wanted to do was spend some time on the beach in Eden's bay, which was so wonderful back in 2010. We re-traced our steps ... but it wasn't the same in the rain so we made an earlier return than expected to Cocora Cottage.

Gail advised us that she and David were going out for the night to meet family for an evening meal and I asked where she would recommend for us to eat. Following a most enjoyable and relaxing bath in our private en-suite jacuzzi bath we made our way to the pub across the street from the fisherman's club. It was about a 2-minute walk from the guest house. It was about 5 minutes past 8 in the evening. We walked through the pub (Great Southern Hotel?) to the restaurant but was told that they stopped serving meals at 8pm. We quickly crossed the road to the fisherman's club and was similarly told that they had stopped serving meals. Now feeling hungry and a little desperate we made our way to the Chinese takeaway/restaurant back on the other side of the road. It wasn't the cleanest of places to eat but the food was OK and at least they were OPEN. After dinner we went back to Cocora Cottage. Once we left the main street of Eden it was quite dark, although we knew that we would be 'home' within a couple of minutes.

When we got back to Cocora Cottage we went straight to the guests lounge on the ground floor where we met the other bedrooms guests. In the lounge there was homemade cake, which was very very nice, mints, tea/coffee facilities and a new bottle of port provided for our consumption ... mmmm. We had the large screen LCD TV on in the background but enjoyed some time talking with our fellow guests before heading for bed.

Our room was the one at the back of the house. It had a lovely view with large windows. The bed was very comfortable with a very high thread count on the sheets, which made them feel silky. There were chocolates on the bedside tables and a flat screen LCD TV in the wardrobe. It was a comfortable bedroom with everything provided that you could need.
After filling in the breakfast menu the night before we looked forward to the breakfast. WE WERE NOT DISSAPPOINTED. Imagine the world’s best full Ausie breakfast and then add speciality breads and a full range of cereals, preserves, fruit, toast and Cafetiere for tea and coffee. My wife’s comment was “the best full cooked breakfast I have ever had” … and she meant it!

Would I recommend Cocora Cottage B&B …. 100% YES!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gail W, Owner at Cocora Cottage B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

Wow that was a great review. Thank you. Glad you enjoyed your stay and so glad you retraced your steps from the previous cruise visit on the Volendam.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Gail & David are very warm hosts, expertly balancing friendliness with professionalism.
On arrival we were tired after a long but interesting drive from Melbourne, and the welcome we received was excellent. It was just what we needed to be able to sit up on the spacious elevated deck overlooking the harbour and enjoying light refreshments.
My friend and I occupied both of the two rooms, and both are equally good, with comfortable beds, lovely furnishings and beautifully appointed bathrooms featuring whirlpool baths and generous sized showers. As others have said, the attention to detail is impressive, with thoughtful touches such as provision of a hairdryer and in the guest lounge there is a small fridge, plus further complimentary refreshment (such as port, chocolates & delicious homemade banana bread). There are also DVDs and a TV here, although we were too busy exploring Eden to utilise these.
Breakfast was very nicely presented in the upstairs area with its gorgeous views, and there were ample choices on offer ( such as fruit, cereal, juices & tea or coffee; other items such as pancakes or eggs, to be ordered the night before). I highly recommend Gail’s pears poached in marmalade!
I did need to make an international call in order to secure my booking with a credit card, but fortunately that wasn’t expensive, and it was convenient to be able to pay the final bill with a credit card, which isn’t possible at every B&B.
My friend and I thank our hosts for a lovely stay and certainly hope to return to this beautiful part of the world and be fortunate enough to stay again with Gail & David.
Eden is a small pretty town around which it is well worth taking a walk, and there are a few options for dinner, although you do need to remember that places close early…

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EurovisionUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gail W, Owner at Cocora Cottage B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our B&B. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip in Australia. We love to share our beautiful patch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

my with and i throughly enjoyed our stay in the room at the back of the house, David and Gail are great hosts, nothing is too much bother, you can relax with a drink on a great terrace with views to the harbour and beyond, the breakfasts were brilliant. everything was right about Cocora Cottage, we want to go back,

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandr268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gail W, Owner at Cocora Cottage B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to review our B&B. we are looking at rainbows over the bay today. Not as warm as when you were here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We spent two nights at Cocora Cottage, we loved the old house very well kept and our beautiful room. We were able to take our breakfast (very plentiful and varied) on the terrace of the cottage which offers a magnificent 360 ° view of the bay. the hosts, Gail and Dave have been friendly and giving very good advice for the rest of our trip. Definitively a very good address.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fastbamboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freddles, Owner at Cocora Cottage B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2013

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our B&B. It is wonderful when you can sit out on the deck and enjoy the views. We are so lucky to own such an historic home and be able to share it with others.
Thank you for taking the time to review Cocora Cottage B&B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eden hotels
2.8 mi away
The Seahorse Inn
The Seahorse Inn
#4 of 8 in Eden
215 reviews
0.1 mi away
Twofold Bay Motor Inn
0.1 mi away
Heritage House Motel & Units
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Eden Motel
Eden Motel
#2 of 8 in Eden
145 reviews
2.2 mi away
Discovery Parks – Eden
1.4 mi away
Eden Nimo Motel
Eden Nimo Motel
#7 of 8 in Eden
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocora Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocora Cottage B&B

Address: 2 Cocora St, Eden, New South Wales 2551, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Eden
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Eden
Price Range: £65 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy spectacular views over both bays from heritage listed Cocora Cottage B&B (circa 1850's). It was the original Police Station in Eden. It is centrally located in a quiet area close to Eden's famous Killer Whale Museum, the Wharf and Eden's fine restaurants. Breakfast which you can select from our menu is served upstairs with views down to the Wharf and across Twofold Bay to the foothills of Mt Imlay. Both bedrooms have a Queen sized bed, a television and an ensuite with a spa. The front bedroom features the original open fireplace while the back bedroom offers bay views.We serve a complimentary welcome drink and port and chocolates are available in the guest lounge for later in the evening. Whales can often be seen from the deck of our B&B from August to the end of Nov. FREE WIFI. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing