We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of town with lots of space!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Discovery Parks – Eden
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Eden
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Out of town with lots of space!”
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We hired a campervan and stayed at an ensuite site on this holiday park which was reasonably priced. The ensuite was clean and modern. The pitch had plenty of space but no shade and was good as you were not too close to your neighbours. The only downside for us was we hadn’t realised the park was 7km out of town although this was not a problem and would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLF12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    24
    7
    8
    2
See reviews for
41
28
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012

It might not be walking distance to town but it was only a 5 minute drive. The cabin had plenty of room and was in perfect condition. Plenty of hot water for showers and nice big fluffy towels for after the shower. The lady at the front counter was very friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012 via mobile

We chose this van park because of its beach location, it is an older style park & was very quiet because of low season. It was clean, friendly and close to the beach & kid friendly. Close to Boyd town to see old church & tower - worth a look.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Joskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trafalgar, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2012

The two things that made me decide on this location even though keep in mind it is 7km out of town, were -comfortable beds (Hard as a rock) and upgrade to an ocean view-(NOT)these two thing could easily have made me up my rating,you get a tiny peak through the trees at the ocean view which could be beautiful if the trees were trimmed back,also a foam underlay on the rock hard bed would help.On the plus side it was a nice enough cabin-clean(although a slight smell like asparagus) and the beach was nice.Would I stay here again?Probably not,may suit a family that intend to mainly stay around the park to relax.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank no1granmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

We stayed with a group of friends in tents on powered campsites. During peak time there were an astounding number of people in the park. Surprisingly, it never seemed to be busy or all that noisy (apart from the incredibly loud snorer in the tent on the next site). For such a large park we didn't believe that there would be enough amenities to suit, there was a temporary toilet block available for use - we never had to wait for the use of showers etc and they were always relatively clean. The shop supplies were extremely disappointing considering town is more than a stroll up the road. A good range of basics would have sold well. The morning fight for a newspaper was also a bit of a worry. If you weren't there at 9.15 when they came in, you missed out by 9.20. A good range of facilities for the kids except the pool was a bit grotty and needed some additional chemicals. Unfortunately we didn't get to use the beach as there were masses of blue bottle jelly fish for the whole week that we were there. We have booked again for next year but only because we couldn't get anywhere else. We also couldn't even secure the same sites on the day that the bookings opened for the following year. Most places give the previous user the first right of refusal for the next year, Hopefully it will be better stocked, better beach and a cleaner pool next year.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FalFam05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New South Wales, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2010

Beach - tick
Pool - tick
Playground - tick
Safe for Kids to play - tick

We stayed in one of the resorts fully contained cabins and didn't want for anything. Clean, comfortable and everything provided for a family stay. A small kiosk at reception helps with those little things you may have forgotten and there is heaps to keep the whole family amused. Great BBQ areas (cleaned every day) and generally just a beautiful park.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tez823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip Island, Victoria
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2007

2 bedroom pool side unit. Looked out onto the pool however this would be a nightmare in peak season. located next to the unit was a covered BBQ area.
The fully self contained kitchen was adequate. Bedrooms were very small with little room to move however they were comfortable beds. The bathroom didn't have a full bath but did have heatlamps. One room contained a double bed and the other had 2 x bunk beds. The couch also folded out. In house movies and kids channel for rainy days. Stayed there with a 4 and 6 y/o.
The pool facilities were fantastic. Childs pool was perfect depth and the adults pool was enjoyable. On the downsize, this place calls itself a resort however you had to pay for the spa and you also had to book it in peak season. It costs $2 per cycle and you need to take coins with you so you can get in and out to place your money in the machine! It makes no mention of this on their website.
The playground is suitable for toddlers to about 10-12 y/o. Slides, climbing wall and jumping pillow. My children spent most of their time on this. Tennis courts were good and they had a halfcourt basketball / cricket pitch. This was located away from main playground. All laundry facilities were external in a common room. The staff were average. Didn't really go the extra mile I would have expected them to go. It is a caravan park so don't think of plush resorts when you book here.
Near by Eden, Pambula and Merrimbula were great towns to visit. Eden's whale museum was a hit. The Fishermen's Club in Eden was great value for money and the service was flawless. Merrimbula offers you your smaller chain stores and Pambula is a lovely character filled town. Many oyster farms nearby and the local oysters were amazing.
The private beach was pristine however it could possibly get rough, we experienced good weather. A good time was had by all. The only thing I would say is that I guess the bedrooms could have been bigger, just to have your own space as after a while you feel like you are on top of each other. Oh, and they have a shocking ant problem. The place is filled with ant nests, black ants and bullants so take your sprays with you!

  • Liked — The pool and playground facilities
  • Disliked — The small bedrooms
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank chabby73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eden hotels
0.6 mi away
The Seahorse Inn
The Seahorse Inn
#4 of 8 in Eden
206 reviews
1.6 mi away
Eden Beachfront Holiday Park
3.1 mi away
Twofold Bay Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Garden of Eden Caravan Park
3.6 mi away
Eden Gateway Holiday Park
3.8 mi away
Eden Motel
Eden Motel
#3 of 8 in Eden
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Parks – Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Parks – Eden

Property: Discovery Parks – Eden
Address: 731 Princes Hwy, Eden, New South Wales 2551, Australia (Formerly Twofold Bay Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Eden
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Eden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Discovery Parks – Eden 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We know why this is called the Sapphire Coast – this region is a true gem. Three hours from Canberra and set on the magnificent shores of Twofold Bay, your accommodation at Discovery Parks – Eden (formerly Twofold Bay Beach) awaits. Drive down to Sung Cove in the early morning and you’ll see boats arriving with their catch. The rugged beauty of Ben Boyd National Park is something to behold. Feeling adventurous? Try the multi-day Light to Light Walk. Even a small section of the walk will impress, as the views are ever-changing. Ben Boyd’s lookouts are excellent for whale watching (May-November) or tour the Eden Killer Whale Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Discovery Parks – Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing