We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed atmosphere by the sea.”
Review of The Seahorse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Seahorse Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Eden
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Relaxed atmosphere by the sea.”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed here for just one night and it was lovely - very quiet - great bed, lovely food, and the location is remarkable, you feel like you are a guest in an English stately home by the sea...
We had the continental breakfast sitting in a wonderful stained glass bay window with a view out to the lawn and the sea beyond.
The room's floor is up and down as you would expect in a building of this age, more fun than annoying.
The ceiling can be a bit low in some parts of the upstairs area - watch out !!!

Room Tip: Sea view King room is lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneSailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    64
    20
    14
    8
See reviews for
41
119
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

If you are looking for a tranquil escape by the sea this is a great place
The upstairs out look across an almost natural bay that is visited by few and kept secret by those who appreciate and enjoy its tranquility. In reality a few minutes drive from extra resources and pleasantries in the Eden and ambulance area but at the same time complete enough that you can simply choose stay and do all your dining and relaxing in house, soak up the mix of old world and modern charm and just soak up the acres of natural beauty and coast side enjoyment the open spaces the ozone freshness it's a wonderful escape place I almost don't want to write about lest it is flooded with people next time I go.

Room Tip: The rooms either end have wonderful large windows opening onto the parlance and ocean I front and ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wally213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Recently stayed for 1 night and this hotel, quality of food, and standard of service is absolutely AWESOME!
Dinner at Bettena's was fantastic! Julie, the chef, and Shannon, the waiter, provided a wonderful dining experience. We were left alone to enjoy our evening. My scallop and prosciutto entree was sensational and my lamb ragu gnocchi was wonderful.
A light continental breakfast is included and my coffee (from the bar) was great.
Rooms are spacious and are in an incredibly beautiful setting.
All of these features, plus the beach side location make this my favourite hotel. Looking forward to my next visit already.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LJG27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

My partner stayed at The Seahorse Inn 30 years ago, he was astonished at the refurbishment and improvements that have been made. Our room was up stairs, very comfortable and roomy. Continental breakfast was included, staff very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyOzetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed for 1 night and the overall was nice. The room was big clean and good level of amenities . Bed was enormous.
Staff was friendly but seems that the organisation on low season is too be reviewed. We explained that will do a late check in as arriving from far and we discover that the waitress who was as we'll the hotel receptionist needed to leave as soon as possible 8.00pm do leaving the hotel with no staff...however she was very nice and wait for us..
The breakfast was totally low value few toast and poor croissant. If you wanted a barista coffee (the way they call it) you have to pay extra unless your happy to use a instant powder coffee. The barista coffee arrived and was not drinkable. After a bit of fight it was voided from our bill. We ordered an omelette and was poor quality. The location was great and view on beach very nice but I think because of low season the staff is a bit of multi function staff and things are maybe less good quality.
However for 1 night it was totally fine.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicolas i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Victoria
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We recently had dinner at the Brasserie. The waitress took our orders, my husband ordered steak, whilst she asked how he would like it cooked, she didn't ask whether he wanted it with salad and chips or vegetables. He had to go up to the servery and tell the chef who was very pleasant and accommodating. When our bottle of wine arrived in an ice bucket, the waitress left t it on the table unopened and walked away. My husband opened the wine removed it from the ice bucket to pour and realised it was the wrong wine - right brand, wrong variety! It was replaced of course. I had the kingfish which was nice. My husband's steak was average - a bad cut of meat. The waitress seemed a bit disinterested in her work. There are plenty of places in the country that have service on a par or better than many city establishments. This is a beautiful place and spoilt by this service.

You can forgive a lack of finesse in service if it is delivered with enthusiasm and friendliness which we find in most country places that we visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExplorersAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We have stayed at the adjacent caravan park and eaten and drunk at the Seahorse Inn on several occasions, most recently this week. The location is stunning, the food and bar were well above average, and the facilities were excellent. We spent Easter lunch there, with a jumping castle and egg-hunts for the kids. It was just lovely.

The adjacent park is really ideal for camper trailers and large groups who want to put the wagons into a circle, have a big fire and not be bothered by too many rules, or by parties who want lots of separation and privacy. The facilities are three-star only, but visitors are rewarded with loads of space and beachfront, and the nearby Seahorse Inn. We love it.

My only criticism is that, like many operations in regional Australia, the Seahorse Inn seems to be limited by unprofitable award rates on public holidays, so they appear to be under-staffed and under-trained at times. I think that is what many fellow reviewers are getting at. Visitors should probably be a little realistic - you won't get Sydney Harbour standards of service, at top award rates on weekends and public holidays, at such a remote location with low volumes and little drive-by traffic. What you will get, is an unbeatable locations, views, gardens, good food, a nice bar, a great adjacent caravan park and a little country "charm" ;-).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Littondoddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eden hotels
2.9 mi away
Twofold Bay Motor Inn
0.6 mi away
Discovery Parks – Eden
2.9 mi away
Heritage House Motel & Units
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Eagle Heights Holiday Units
1.8 mi away
Eden Beachfront Holiday Park
4.0 mi away
Coachman's Rest Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Seahorse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seahorse Inn

Property: The Seahorse Inn
Address: Boydtown Park Road, Eden, New South Wales 2551, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Eden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Eden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Seahorse Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Seahorse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Seahorse Hotel Eden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing