We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden treasure at Pine creek” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pine Creek Railway Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pine Creek
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pine Creek Railway Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Pine Creek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Gambier, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A hidden treasure at Pine creek”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Found it by accident travelling from mount gambier to Darwin via Brisbane , Hervey Bay, Mt Isa etc etc .Had lunch in a beautiful setting ,food was great service great would highly recommend it.Wished we had stayed there instead of Katherine.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 68mouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    38
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
30
50
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Darwin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Rooms are cute and clean, pool looked inviting, no complaints about any of that - but 2 small things;
Breakfast at 8 is too late for travellers.
While we were sitting on our little veranda, two lots of potential guests came and asked us where they could find some staff so they could book in! They had checked the office and the bar, and could find no-one. Ran into one of the couples at breakfast (at Maisies!) and they had reluctantly had to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pin00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Stayed at the Pine Creek Railway Resort on the Anzac long weekend..
It is a real gem full of character. Excellent well appointed cabin and lovely pool area
Friendly helpful staff and reasonably priced.
Excellent breakfast menu and good coffee would recommend it over any hotel in Katherine.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darwin
Level Contributor
217 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Wanted to getaway from Darwin for the Anzac long weekend. We decided on Pine Creek as wanted to go to Umbawarra Gorge.
2hour drive from Darwin , great friendly reception on arrival.
Our cabin wonderfully set out and wonderful decor.Family cabin... Kitchen with full size fridge, microwave, and 2 hot plates. All kitchen utensils one needs including detergent and dish washing equipment along fly and insect spray.
Unique idea for bathroom and toilet with all soap, shampoo provided. Small lounge room with tv. All air conned. Lovely little veranda with pot plants to sit on each morning enjoying the peace and quiet.
Great bar which we used the first night along with the restaurant. Great friendly staff which really makes the difference.
Bearing in mind where Pine Creek is one cannot expect gourmet meals .. Our meal was great, large serves but what amazed me was the use of fresh herbs. Serving size large. Price .. What one should expect in a place like Pine Creek.
The next morning looking out our cabin window I found where our fresh herbs came from.
Mobile herb pots abundant but the prize herbs are located near the restaurant.
Pool looked lovely as did the pool area however we did not get to use it... Next visit !
Great BBQ for use..
We were kept busy with our visit to Grove Hill Pub for Anzac Day and then our 2days spent exploring and swimming at Umbawarra Gorge.
Next visit we will spend more time in Pine Creek and will definitely use this resort again. The wonderful warm atmosphere and the care and attention to detail has won us over!
This has become our little getaway destination when we need to get out of Darwin for a day or two

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank sam63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed here for 1 night and it was great. The room was tiny but had everything in it that was needed for an overnight stay. We had dinner at the restaurant which was a choice of Chinese ($23 all u can eat) or pizza. We chose pizza and it was fine - plenty of filling and tasty. The restaurant is very cute and looks fabulous with all the interior trimmings. The tariff included a continental brekkie which was ample for a good start to the day (cereal, yogurts,toast, juices etc)! All in all thus was a great little find and would recommend you study here if you are spending any time in the Litchfield national park or on way between Katherine and Darwin.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halls, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Pine Creek Resort truly is an oasis. The pool alone could sell this place-the water unlike most in the north is actually cool! The pool furniture is stylish and the entire area has that well finished feel. The rooms are gorgeous, comfy couches, pressed tin ceilings, decent size kitchen and fittings, super adequate air con. I loved looking out my window to see a series of small veggie/herb gardens, composting (completely clean and smell free of course!)
There are many lovely finishing touches to this place, attention to detail that is not common in many accomodations. Whoever built this place it feels like they wanted to make it like they would want their home. The bar and restaurant are also lovely-just couldn't speak highly enough of our stay!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marneyteas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Really great place to stay. Exquisite taste in room decor. Just loved the pressed tin ceilings and attention to detail. Everything was realistically in keeping with railways of the past. Fabulous restored old relics dotted around the property. Original old fuel pump, railway lights etc.
Quiet. Exceptionally clean. Great air con, shower, kitchenette, verandah. Really accommodating, friendly staff AND children were welcomed and treated as little guests not as an inconvenience!
The pool is to die for. Crystal clear , CLEAN and cool (unlike many other pools in the NT - warm baths with hideous floating bit of human debris and snot). Drinks by this pool - just heaven. Would have stayed longer but it was booked out so make sure you book ahead if you can and don't chance missing out!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tillytoddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Pine Creek Railway Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Creek Railway Resort

Property: Pine Creek Railway Resort
Address: 1 Railway Tce, Pine Creek, Northern Territory 0847, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Pine Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Pine Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I would like to introduce the brand new, Pine Creek Railway Resort. We have 18 stylishly furnished cabins ranging from single, queen, self-contained and family cabins. We have been in operation since 2009, have successfully completed the requirements of the Australian Tourism Accreditation Standard and are an accredited tourism business. We are the Crossroads to Kakadu, Litchfield and Douglas Daly regions. Only 1 hours’ drive to Cooinda – Yellow water cruises and 1 hours’ drive to Katherine. Rated 4.5 stars, all of our cabins are air-conditioned and include Foxtel, comfortable beds with clean linen and are finished with unique décor. With our lagoon style, shaded swimming pool, guests are welcome to cool themselves down from the outback heat. We have also recently completed constructing our Restaurant which is built in the shape of two trains parked at a Railway Station, which is furnished and styled after Pine Creeks’ Chinese heritage. Complete with a showcase of images from local archives and attractions, the Pine Creek Railway Resort has already become a talking point up and down the Stuart Highway, and is a long overdue attraction to the town. Our restaurant offers ready to go food which will be an advantage with your clients when calling into Pine Creek. We also have complimentary refreshments and all day breakfasts on offer for the driver. Our air-conditioned, a la carte restaurant features poolside and alfresco dining, over 40 items on our menu and is a chic, yet comfortable way to dine. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing