We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, Honest Accommodation - Beautiful garden”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wauchope
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Devils Marbles Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good, Honest Accommodation - Beautiful garden”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Don't expect the Hilton with this place as it's in the middle of nowhere. I tell you what the Hilton hasn't got though - beautiful sunsets over the Devils Marbles. Make a point of heading down the road to the Marbles (only 10km) for sunset it's spectacular - don't forget the Aerogard though.The rooms are basic and affordable and most importantly - spotlessly clean. Another surprise for us was the garden. Being keen green fingers oursleves we could see how much work and thought has gone into this garden. The pool is also clean although it's getting a bit cool for us ol' fuddy duddy's to swim this time of year. A nice glass of wine and a lovely meal topped the day off for us perfectly.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    67
    19
    5
    1
See reviews for
23
67
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Charters Towers, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This place should advertise more as you wouldn't know this little gem existed from the highway. The garden is immaculate and the pool is sparkling clean - a welcome relief after driving all day. Only a stone's throw from the Devils Marbles this is the perfect place to stop for a meal. The schnitzels are home-made and the steak my wife had was one of the best she's had for quite some time.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aalborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

The dongas rooms (50 dollars) are aren't big, but they certainly are quite nice and well equipped (fridge, kettle and aircon). The staff and the owner are very nice and helpful and they are good at making you feel welcome.

The pool is very nice and a good place to hang around on hot and sunny day

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fan1803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

On a long drive up the Stuart highway there aren't many places to stay. It looked like the reviews were okay for here so we decided to pay a bit of a steep price hoping for a nice room. What we actually got was a filthy small cabin. There were dead moths and grasshoppers on the floor, someone else's hairs on the (tiny) bathroom floor and a lumpy bed. The fridge had dead bugs in it and in order to use the kettle we had to boil and scrub it several times until the water came up clean. Defiantly nicer places to stop on the highway. Best thing was when we left and saw the devils marbles which was nearby.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChristineLucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg T, Owner at Devils Marbles Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Hi Christine Lucy, Sorry it's taken so long to get back to you - we're just getting our head around the mechanics of TripAdvisor. Thankyou so much for you comments because it has highlighted an ongoing problem that we have had for a few months now - that is inconsistency with housekeeping standards. Like most remote roadhouses we tend to turn over a lot of staff (backpackers) who invariably have their own interpretation of operating procedures. We are pleased to say that for the last month we have secured a full-time housekeeper who is absolutely meticulous with cleanliness. We have gone in to each room and performed deep and detailed cleaning of every nook and cranny imaginable - moreover the rooms are inspected every day to ensure we have done our job properly. We're very sorry we let you down - but if anything it's the best thing that could have happened.
If you ever find yourself up this way again we would happily provide a complimentary room for you. Thanks again - Greg Targett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
1,944 reviews
195 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6,179 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Although Wauchope is only a stop over Roadhouse with cabins and a caravan park available, it does have some great meals available in the restaurant and a great pool to cool off in.
It is the best place to stay to view the Devils's Marbles in the evening.
as the location is only 8km away, so a safe drive without having any wildlife collisions.
We have stayed here a few tines

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 1TraveltheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I've stayed at Wauchope a couple of times whilst either visiting Ali Curung or transiting the highway. I've also stopped there on numerous occasions. This place has great accommodation for the price and location. The food really is excellent, as are the quality wines, and the pool provides welcome relief. These are not things to be taken for granted in the middle of no-where. The staff are always polite and deserve to succeed. Well done!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OzLawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucca
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Friendly reception,gravel site, poor shower facilities, loads of grasshoppers all over the place, loads of flies, but hot water, super pool, very nice restaurant, lovely beer garden, mixed feelings, but pool drew us!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Convalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wauchope
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
0.0 mi away
Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
0.0 mi away
Bluestone Motor Inn
Bluestone Motor Inn
#1 of 3 in Tennant Creek
3.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Goldfields Hotel Motel
Goldfields Hotel Motel
#2 of 3 in Tennant Creek
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.0 mi away
BIG4 MacDonnell Range Holiday Park
0.0 mi away
Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devils Marbles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devils Marbles Hotel

Property: Devils Marbles Hotel
Address: Stuart Highway | via Alice Springs, Wauchope, Northern Territory 0872, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Wauchope
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Wauchope
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An unexpected oasis in outback Australia. Fine food, wine and beer selection. Beautiful beer garden, spotlessly clean rooms, pool and closest amenity to the Devils Marbles. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing