We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Edge On Beaches
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and did not enjoy the accommodation.
The only good thing was the pool area.
We had no T.V for our stay we did ask about it and they let us have 3 sports channels and a cartoon channel.No local channels at all.The T.V in the master room was not even connected.
Our washing machine stained our clothes and our dryer did not work.
We had to pay for the Internet and it never worked .
I did not enjoy my stay .This is not four star accommodation.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ShazzJ2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2013

Ok, being totally un-emotional here, this resort completely misrepresents what it is about when advertising. Se my points and pictures below to make you own judgment and decide if you wish to stay there. I stayed from 13/11/13 to 16/11/13
* I have been going to Agnes Water since the 90's and this is the first time I stayed at Beaches
* Emma the receptionist is very friendly , polite and helpful
* The grounds and pools are really nice
* BBQ's are great but 3 out of 4 had no gas so u share cooking
* I stayed at Unit 41 (Remember this number)
* No Free WiFi (Its advertised as Free) it prompts for payment when connecting (Assuming it works)
* Noise, Noise, Noise, builders, road workers et al live there and stay up late and noisy every night to at least 1am (Sat night from 3am to morning)
*The Unit is drearily furnished , not what you see in the advertising pictures
* The bed is a cheap bed and the floor is more comfortable to sleep on
*The Ensuite bathroom, the shower is mouldy
*The TV does not work properly, e.g. change channel to change volume, change volume to change channels, RC's don't work
*The cheap little stereo has had its speaker cones all pressed in (so sounds terrible if u want some music)
* The fried will not keep you food cold, I threw out my fish and meat as it went off in 24 hours, so don't expect you beer to be cold as it is at your place!
* The Fry Pan was all greasy and stick, clearly no one does the washing up
* The main blinds were damaged and they would not open close properly

So all Up, I personally would not recommend this resort if you expect it to be like the advertising material, or you just have no taste at all and are happy to stay in 2.5 star accommodation.
I would not rate this as 4 star as advertised.
Don't judge Agnes by this review, as Agnes is a wonderful town full of friendly people and some great attractions like the LARC to Bustard Head (Ive done it 3 times) and the cruise to Lady Musgrave Island is is awesome.
The joy flights too are great value as well. As I say I have been going to Agnes since the late 90's , but this experience at the Edge was a negative for me. Next year the new resort next to it will be open and it will probably take the business away from The Edge if it does not wake up to itself!

Room Tip: Don't pick Unit 41 which is a Single Pool Side unit. View the photos I have included here. May...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Scotchy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEdgeonBeaches, Manager at The Edge On Beaches, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Thank you for your review of the Edge on Beaches resort. All of our units are individually owned and individually furnished, we have passed this information onto the unit owner of 41.

With respect to the BBQ's not having gas this is checked on a daily basis however they do show as empty when incorrectly turned on in order to avoid a gas leak. This is something which is easily solved if reception is advised. Management is onsite at all times after hours and can be contacted to deal with any issues including permanent tenants, we prefer guests to contact us so that we are able to advise the real estate that their guests are causing a disturbance as we do not manage these units. Our WIFI is free and codes are provided at reception on request. Should your television, fridge, or fryer have not been working to a high enough standard we are happy to assist and rectify the issue if we have been told.

We hope that you do not let this be a poor reflection of the resort and we invite you to stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed 5 nights in a one bedroom poolside apartment. Everything we required was there. Beautifully appointed, extremely clean. Bed a little firm for me but my husband liked that. Resort was very quiet - not school hols. It's half way between Agnes and 1770. We will be back again for another short, restful break.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEdgeonBeaches, Front Office Manager at The Edge On Beaches, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

We appreciate your review of the Edge On Beaches Resort and hope to have you stay again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Wow, what a beautiful place to stay. Right from my initial phone call to the end of our stay, I could not fault anything. The staff were lovely and very happy to help and answer any questions. Our room was perfect, we chose a poolside villa and the villa was actually poolside. The rooms where clean and well maintained and perfect for a couple for a weekend. We had the heated pool and unfortunately for us, the kids in the place discovered the "warm" pool and decided it was the best pool so it was a little noisy sitting in our courtyard but once inside with the doors closed, we heard nothing. We had a small maintenance issue but that was dealt with very quickly and efficiently and the terrific maintenance man came back around 7ish that night just to check we were happy and all was good. The location is perfect, fairly quiet and walking distance to the beach. Next time we stay there we will get a villa with a full kitchen and stay for a week. If you are looking to relax and read and while away the days, this is the spot. Thank you to the staff at Edge on the Beach for a memorable weekend.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank JMR0967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEdgeonBeaches, Front Office Manager at The Edge On Beaches, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Thank you for your positive review of the Edge on Beaches Resort. We look forward to having you stay again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Husband and I (aged early 60s) stayed 2 nights, definitely recommend, welcoming staff, high standard of accommodation, very roomy. Went on Lady Musgrave Island Cruise which was a great experience. Dined at local Thai restaurant, good food. Although not situated close to shops and eateries, it was only a few minutes drive which we did not mind for a short stay. Only negatives were we felt it should have had a larger fridge, not just a beer fridge, as having stayed in Big4 parks, we had got used to having this available. Also, pleased to have a washing machine available BUT the taps to turn it on were only accessible by crawling on your knees between the toilet and cupboard door and reaching behind the pipes with one hand!! Ridiculous for what looks like a new unit. The pool outlook was lovely at the back of the unit, bed comfortable and quiet air con. All up, a very enjoyable stay. 1770 is a delightful area with beautiful scenery having been recommended by my adult son who camped there with his family. Definitely a place to visit. We stopped in on the way back from Airlie Beach and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Room Tip: We had a pool view room which we would recommend, good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rickanpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEdgeonBeaches, Front Office Manager at The Edge On Beaches, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Thank you for your positive review of the Edge on Beaches Resort. All of our units are individually owned and furnished, we have passed the information onto the owner relating to the size of the Fridge. We hope to have you stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We cancelled our booking at Pavilions in preference to the Edge on Beaches purely because they advertised that they had free wifi in the rooms. Although on holiday I needed to check my emails each night.

I could only get email on 1 evening for a few hours and I could only receive and not send.
The process to try to log on was long-winded and confusing and then it didn't work. I had to go to another resort and a staff member was kind enough to let me use her private network.

Not good enough. If you don't have it then don't advertise it. If you have it and its not working then let people know when they check in so they can make other arrangements. Don't let then sign in and then tell them it doesn't work

We stayed in room 16. There is an electric pump outside the bedroom window which starts and stops at all hours. Very annoying. There were plenty of other empty room away from the pump.

On a minor issue, I found the bed and pillows to be too soft for my liking.

This is the first time I have ever complained about accommodation/services. Congratulations.

Room Tip: Room 16 is noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMC2010122207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEdgeonBeaches, Front Office Manager at The Edge On Beaches, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Thank you for your review of the Edge on Beaches resort. We apologise that the internet was not working on this occasion due to an error on Behalf of Telstra, this was an issue which we were not expecting and had hoped would be rectified quickly and therefore guests were not notified. Our WIFI is free to all guests and excluding issues out of our control does work.

All 1bedroom units are beside the pumps which provides tank water to our units. Our windows when closed block out most of this noise unless their is an underlying issue which may need to be fixed by maintenance. If this was the case in your scenario we would have been happy to assist had we been notified.

We hope that you do stay with us in the future and may suggest booking a two bedroom unit so ensure you are not situated beside a pump.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

The accomodation package came as part of a promotional deal so we had no real idea of what to expect. We were pleasantly surprised by the villas which comfortably accomodated myself, my husband, his parents and our little one. The villas were clean and quiet with easy access to both the beach and a very nice gardened pool area. The villas had everything you might think to need however the comfort of the beds left a little to be desired. The staff were polite, informed and helpful so all in all a great stay and a nice easy and affordable break.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OlleeGone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEdgeonBeaches, Manager at The Edge On Beaches, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay here at The Edge on Beaches Resort and thank you for providing a review.

Our villas are owned by individual owners, we simply manage these villas on the owners behalf and as such furniture e.t.c. can vary from villa to villa. Unfortunately if we do not receive the feedback in our office we are unable to identify which villas contain issues that might impact on the guest experience in the opinion of the guest. I have been unable to identify from your review which villa you stayed in and subsequently has poor comfort levels of it's beds. If you are able to contact our office and advise of this it would be greatly appreciated.

When matters are brought to our attention we do address them with the owners and provide our recommendations for improvements to ensure ongoing guest satisfaction with the facilities that they provide. The owners then make improvements at their own discretion.

Again we thank you for your valuable review and feedback and hope to see you again some time soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agnes Water
0.1 mi away
Lagoons 1770 Resort & Spa
Lagoons 1770 Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Seventeen Seventy
240 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pavillions on 1770
Pavillions on 1770
#1 of 3 in Agnes Water
181 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sandcastles 1770 Motel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
1770 Beach Shacks
1770 Beach Shacks
#2 of 4 in Seventeen Seventy
107 reviews
1.9 mi away
1770 Getaway
1770 Getaway
#2 of 17 in Agnes Water
130 reviews
1.1 mi away
Captain Cook Holiday Village
Captain Cook Holiday Village
#1 of 4 in Seventeen Seventy
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edge On Beaches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edge On Beaches

Address: Cnr Captain Cook Dr. & Beaches Village Circuit, Agnes Water, Queensland 4677, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Agnes Water
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Agnes Water
Price Range: £76 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Edge On Beaches 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Edge on Beaches Resort, Agnes Water/1770 Queensland, is situated approx. 120 kilometres north of Bundaberg and approx. 120 kilometres south of Gladstone and is the nearest point to The Southern Great Barrier Reef. Set in 3 1/2 acres of tropical landscaped gardens, The Edge on Beaches offers 1 & 2 bedroom self contained villas & is only an approx. 300m walk from the pristine beaches of Agnes Water. Activities available from our Tour desk: Take a day cruise to the Great Barrier Reef,snorkel,dive, kayak. Take a Quadbike tour in the national park, fish, surf. Take a scenic flight, play golf or bowls,kite Surf, stand up paddle board. Take a yoga class or cooking lesson, wine and dine or just laze by one of the four resort style pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Edge On Beaches reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing