We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lots of fun for the kids!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cedar Glen Farmstay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beaudesert
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cedar Glen Farmstay
Queensland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lots of fun for the kids!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2010

Well worth a visit. The hosts are warm & welcoming & our stay was enjoyed. The children (aged 7 to 10 years of age) had lots of fun with spalshing in the creek, supping billy tea & eating damper, feeding the assorted livestock, trying their hands at milking, whip cracking, boomerang throwing ...& the highlight, the horse trek.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank QueenslandSassyone2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    15
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
47
1
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2009

We had a wonderful time, staying in an authentic cottage with great views, animal feeding and milking, picnic lunches, great meals and very interesting activities. My friends here in Malaysia can't believe the range of activities we enjoyed. I think my kids enjoyed this stay more than the theme parks. I know my wife and I did. Wonderful hosts, guides and friends at this place with Nigel and the family, including the woofers. Very highly recommended for a great holiday away from all the stress and worries.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nucmedMalaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2009

The farm is a fun place for city kids with lots of activities that they will never get to enjoy in the city. Animal feeding (sheeps, pigs, chickens, ducks, ponies), picking eggs, milking the cow. My 5 yr old enjoyed the animal feeding, the pony ride and toasting marshmallow at the bonfire. What I enjoyed most was the beautiful scenery – the mountain, river, clear skies where you could see lots of stars. Best of all, it was 3 days away from phone calls and black berry (can’t receive any signals). Due to the smaller set up where only 3 to 4 family could stay on the farm at a time, the service was personalised and warm. Maureen was friendly and always ready to accommodate our schedule.
I still miss the clear night sky and the sound of the river.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pte-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2009

Visited the farm with my extended family, including 3 young children. The kids occupied themselves with activities feeding the animals, riding the horses(mozzy and polly), and getting dirty on the farm. 3 days without any television programmes and no complaints. It was definitely the most memorable stay for them, even beating the theme parks. The boomerang session with Nigel was equally fun for the adults, and of course, his wonderful singing.

Best of all, we couldn't find any better tasting meals elsewhere, especially the caramel slices. Yum Yum.

Thank you for the wonderful stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happyfamilyever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nige73, Owner at Cedar Glen Farmstay, responded to this review, 9 July 2009
Thanks for the great feedback - we really enjoyed having you here. Its fantastic for us to regularly meet new people from all over the world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2009

My family enjoyed the stay at Cedar Glen. The little river that runs thru the property is great for dipping and relaxing. The farm animals are very friendly the horses ( specially Tiffany and Mozzy) went up to our cottage and my daughters feed them. The horses like to be patted and fed. The place was beautiful, perfect for photos. We trek up the hill and saw the valley of the lost world. Along the route up we encountered a couple of wallabies. They run off when we got near. There is also daily feeding of animals at 8am and at 5 pm. The food is great and plenty for those with voracious appetite. hehe The owners and staffs are all very friendly. The place might be quite a drive both from Brisbane and Goldcoast but rest assured you wont get lost. Peter, Matt and the others, two thumbs up for you are all great.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank timemasterSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2009

We had a great memorable farm stay at Cedar Glen. It is tucked away by the Lamington National Park which has magnificent scenery ! It was a great opportunity to get close to the animals - there were peacocks, sheep, chickens, turkeys, a donkey, pigs, horses and cows! we stayed at the Stinston Cottage which had a magnicifent view of the Lost World and gave our daughter the once in a lifetime opportunity to have horses and cows come right up to our doorstep ! The Nigel family are warm and hospitable and made it very much like a home stay ! We had a catered package and the food was absolutely great ! We still miss Katie's pizza rolls and caramel cookies !

We especially enjoyed the picnics by the river with billy tea and the horse riding round the farm. Great place to chill out and unwind. Easy to get there as well from surfer's paradise - just an hour and a half's drive will take you there. Overall, a great family experience - especially for families with kids ! Highly recommended !

  • Liked — It was a homely cottage with breathtaking views of the Lost World and gave the family an opportunity to be close to horses which we love.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank melissaSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2008

We just returned from a 3 day stay at the Cedar Glen Farmstay.
It was a wonderful stay and the kids absolutely loved it. The owners of the farmstay - Nigel and his dad Peter are your typical friendly Aussies and did what they can to make our stay a great one.

Lot's of activities - besides the usual animal feeding and cow milking and horse riding, there's also the 4WD up to a scenic peak, picnic by the river and boomerang throwing all organised by the farmstay folks.

It's a fairly small farmstay, with 3-4 properties so quality is there.
If you are staying, try to to stay at the main homestead as the rooms are nicer, bigger and cleaner.

Most of all - we like the location, which is in a nice scenic valley surrounded by hills and the Lamington National Park.

If you are driving from Gold Coast, do plan your route and stop by Tamborine for a nice lunch before proceeding to the farm.

  • Liked — Good food, great hosts
  • Disliked — Rooms can be cleaner
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank EllieCh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaudesert
19.5 mi away
Lillydale Farmstay
Lillydale Farmstay
#1 of 3 in Rathdowney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
20.5 mi away
Clandulla Cottages, Beaudesert
4.1 mi away
O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Worendo Cottages
Worendo Cottages
#1 of 1 in Darlington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
8.1 mi away
Binna Burra Mountain Lodge
3.4 mi away
Christmas Creek Cafe`& Cabins
Christmas Creek Cafe`& Cabins
#5 of 5 in Lamington National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Glen Farmstay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Glen Farmstay

Property: Cedar Glen Farmstay
Address: 3338 Kerry Road, Beaudesert, Queensland 4285, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Scenic Rim > Beaudesert
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Beaudesert
Hotel Class:2 star — Cedar Glen Farmstay 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1050 acre Cedar Glen cattle property has been in the Stephens family since 1882, and has been a Farmstay since 1981. It is located in the stunning Lost World Valley, just 90 minutes from Brisbane and the Gold Coast. Farmstay accommodation includes the 1901 Homestead or one of three historic Cottages. Animal feeding, cow milking and egg collecting occur daily. Horse riding is a highlight for all ages and levels of experience. Other activities include boomerang throwing, whip cracking and 4WD tours. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing