We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over priced and outdated motel -avoid if you can” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay Air Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bay Air Motel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Over priced and outdated motel -avoid if you can”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2012

There is a reason why there is always rooms available at this motel. Beds were old and well past its used by date. Furniture in the rooms were the same. This place is very run down with the service to match. Once checked in we were advised that only towels would be replaced if its put outside. No house keeping services available during your stay. No changing of bed linens etc. For $/night, you are better off staying closer to town in a better motel or go into Brisbane city for a few more dollars extra. Definitely not a 3.5 star property. Additionally, some of the management staff needs training on how to interact and treat guests.
One good point is cheap internet for $2 for 24 hours.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank koro25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    38
    11
    2
    6
See reviews for
26
32
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

this motel is in a very convenient location for those wishing to visit the very good RSL club at Cleveland. The Motel includes membership rights to this club. Meals there are very good quality and decoratively presented. The motel room itself is clean and the management are friendly and helpful. Bed was comfortable and the shower hot.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ninaoriana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings Point, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Bay Air Motel for the second time recently and as with last time we found our room very clean, quiet and comfortable. The Manager greeted us warmly when we booked in and proudly showed us the delivery of new split system air conditioning units that were to be installed the next day. This motel is great value for money and is close to the train station, shops, restaurants etc and the ferry to Stradbroke Island. Cleveland RSL Club is just across the road where we had a really nice evening meal at a discounted rate because we showed them our Bay Air Motel key tag. We highly recommend the Bay Air Motel at Cleveland and will be staying there again.

Room Tip: Ground floor so you don't have to drag luggage upstairs, especially if you are a senior!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusieB1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSW
Level Contributor
41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit here recently and found it reasonable in standard and a great location. The property is old so you get what you pay for, the benefit is the location. The staff were friendly and the property clean so overall it's OK.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coghlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Beach, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

Our family stayed here. We have three children. I didn't want to pay a fortune for a holiday and was met with GREAT value for money. The rooms were very clean and tidy, with all the amenities you would expect. The service was fantastic. They gave us adjoining rooms even though we never asked. It was raining on the day we left, they held unmbrellas for us while we packed our car. I even witnessed them dropping people into town and picking them up from train station. Rare old fashioned service.
Good breakfasts to. I highly recommend them.

Room Tip: Ring and advise managers as they go out of their way to accomadate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alistair1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Beach, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

Booked into bay air motel as it was close to wedding venue we had to attend.. what a delightful find.. we were meet at the cleveland train station, by our host eddie who also took us to the wedding the following day.. rooms are very clean and tidy and the tarriff was reasonable. we can highly reccommend this motel as the service and the hospitality was more then we could ask for, apon leaving we were also offered a return trip back to the train staton and help with our luggage.... thanks for a lovely weekend...

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alistair1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fitzroy Crossing, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2010

I live in Wa and visit family in Cleaveland on a regular basis. I always stay at the Bay Air Motel and find the motel to be very comfy, clean and quiet.
I was staying on the night of the people staying from Cairns, on the same floor. I was awoken by these people who were extremely noisy and appeared to be intoxicated. They were knocking on doors and another women was in the room yelling out also a male in the walkway yelling out 'Where's the room'? I put up with it for a while then phoned the after hours number to complain.
The manager apperared and tried to reason with these people but they turned and started verbally abusing him.
I feel for the managers as they do a great job at this motel and certainily dont need guests like these staying.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hecate2540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cleveland
5.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Diana
Best Western Plus Hotel Diana
#34 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
16.8 mi away
Stradbroke Island Beach Hotel Spa Resort
11.8 mi away
Allure Stradbroke Resort
Allure Stradbroke Resort
#2 of 4 in North Stradbroke Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Cleveland Motor Inn
Cleveland Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Cleveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cleveland Visitors Villas Motel
2.7 mi away
The Alexandra Hills Hotel
The Alexandra Hills Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alexandra Hills
3.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Air Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Air Motel

Property: Bay Air Motel
Address: Bay Motel 218 Middle St, Cleveland, Redland City, Queensland 4163, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Redland City > Cleveland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Air Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bay Air Motel features 18 non-smoking rooms and suites. The 3.5 star motel offers a swimming pool, free wireless internet, Foxtel, free to air TV, cooked / continental breakfast, laundry, dry cleaning service, STD/ISD telephone, on site parking, free shuttle to train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bay Air Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing