We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldnt fault this trip one bit”
Review of Pippies Beachhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pippies Beachhouse
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We had a mix up with our Fraser Island trip through Nomads, so we got our trip changed to Pippies in Rainbow beach and i'm glad we did.

Rainbow beach itself is pretty small with not much there, however, i couldnt fault Pippes at all. The hostel is for people coming to stay going on their Fraser Island tour. We stayed there the night before our trip, arrived late afternoon and were put in to a 6 bed dorm, with three bunkbeds, The room was pretty small but ideal for the time we were there for. The surroundings and the garden area of the hostel is lovely, peaceful with hammocks and benches. The kitchen area has everything you need and is pretty clean.
The IGA is where we went to get all our stuff for the trip, but was big enough for everything you need and the liquor store is next door which is handy.

We went on the tag along 3 day - 2 nights tour. The tour guide (forgot his name) but he was brilliant!!! such a laugh and everyone loved him! We had a great group on the tour, which i guess is what really makes it!! We had amazing weather and the days were amazing, its a beautiful island with so much to see. The campsite banter was great and the tour guide had some funny games to get us all going. We all had walky talkies in the jeeps so we had such a laugh with those.

After our 3 days on the island, we came back and stayed at Pippies for the night. Everyone from the trip got together and we had a great night having drinks at the hostel and the beach. We also had dinner at the sports bar which was really good, the food was great and the drinks were reasonable. The menu has a lot to offer.

Rainbow beach and pippies and their tour was overall an amazing experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaurenDAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (329)
There are newer reviews for Pippies Beachhouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 329 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

Small rooms right next to kitchen, small place and reception staff were pretty average. Plus they shut after the Premier/Greyhound bus rush which wasn't helpful after they tried to check 4 guys into our 4 bed dorm... 2 too many!!? Stayed here for a night before our Fraser Island trip, which we then moved next door to Dingoes for the night before and after. Much preferred there!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LJ87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We was two (A COUPLE) and we were very satisfied about the good private room, located in the first floor with terrace, and spacious bathroom. morevoer the kitchen was accessible and we had a free breackfast. it was very good

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Natacha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed at Pippies while on an east coast 'adventure' with my boyfriend! We stayed here primarily to visit Fraser Island! Our tour guide Steve was amazing he was really informative and a great laugh! He showed us the sights of Fraser Island and we had so much fun in the process! Pippies hostel was pretty average but it had a homely feel with a tv room and tons of DVDs to watch! We took a walk up to the huge sand dune to watch the sun set which was really nice and the free breakfast was a bonus! As I said the Fraser Island trip was great fun and I would highly recommend we met some great people and as a first time camper I think I managed pretty well! Pippies and their Fraser Island tour is amazing and a must do if your visiting the east coast!! 10/10

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Rainbow Beach is a really small town and all the hostels are next to each other. Pippies Beachhouse has everything from tent dorms to normal rooms. There was one central kitchen (which was too small and rather dirty) and some kitchen in other buildings (which had too few pots and pans). But the accommodation itself was ok.
You probably can't borrow a surfboard from the hostel as they only have two. So you have to be the first to ask.
The bathrooms were clean but quite interestingly distributed.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Stefan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Turned up just after 8pm to find no staff about, and no signs for late check in. Turns out we should have received an email, which had not been sent, regarding instructions for check in. After several expensive international calls, found out that staff had also forgotten to leave the key in the late check in box. Then we had to wait for around an hour for someone to come, who then turned up 15 minutes later than we were told to expect someone, without an apology and just saying she shouldn't have to be there after a long shift. After 300km of driving, this wasn't a great welcome!

Once in the room, it was a decent size with nice balcony, but certainly needed a good clean, particularly the bedding. There are good laundry facilities and a well equipped kitchen, but at busy times you're lucky to be able to get a look in at this without barging dozens of fellow backpackers out of the way.

Has the potential to be a really good hostel in a lovely little town, and to be good for lone travellers to meet others, but needs some serious updating and significantly more hands on running and direction from whoever owns it, as it seems to be run with minimal management or organisation skills by anybody.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank alex_44_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Had booked a double room at the Beachhouse before our trip to K'gari - bit dismayed as it was a not exactly what I thought I was booking. With very little fuss or extra cash, was offered a two bedroom apartment just across from the beach. Excellent service looking after us over 50s, laid back, lovely staff.

Room Tip: Apartments are hard to beat for location and price.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank spayney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rainbow Beach
0.2 mi away
Debbies Place
Debbies Place
#1 of 13 in Rainbow Beach
424 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rainbow Sands Resort
Rainbow Sands Resort
#9 of 13 in Rainbow Beach
60 reviews
1.9 mi away
Gateway Lifestyle Rainbow Waters
Gateway Lifestyle Rainbow Waters
#12 of 13 in Rainbow Beach
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Rainbow Beach Resort
Rainbow Beach Resort
#5 of 13 in Rainbow Beach
113 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rainbow Getaway Holiday Apartments
5.2 mi away
Tin Can Bay Motel
Tin Can Bay Motel
#2 of 4 in Tin Can Bay
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pippies Beachhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pippies Beachhouse

Address: 22 Spectrum Ave, Rainbow Beach, Queensland 4581, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Gympie Region > Rainbow Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Rainbow Beach
Price Range: £32 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pippies Beachhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pippies Beachhouse Backpackers is centrally located in the Heart of Rainbow beach just 200m walk to the beach, opposite the bus stop. We are the smallest hostel in Rainbow Beach with no bar, so have a relaxed atmosphere where you can swim in the pool, or relax in a hammock with your own glass of wine if you like. We have a variety of adventure activities for you in Rainbow Beach as well as our Famous 3 Day 2 Night Guided Tag-Along Tour to Fraser Island where you can drive your own 4wd or hop in with one of our experienced guides to show you a camping adventure of a life-time!! We have our base camp at Cathedrals with hot showers & toilet facilities, camp fire each night and best of all a permanent camping area, so it is ready for you when you arrive!! No setting up and packing up! Now with FREE WIFI & Breakfast for every guest! We also offer boomerang workshops, with lessons :) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Pippies Beachhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing