We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fraser Island trip and nice hostel”
Review of Pippies Beachhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pippies Beachhouse
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Fraser Island trip and nice hostel”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Definitely recommended for Fraser Island Tour and if you want a friendly, happy place to stay. Great tour of Fraser Island (2 nights). Danny was a really cool, knowledgeable and organised leader. Beautiful scenery, swimming opportunities in boatloads and loads of wildlife seen, including whales, eagles and dingos, of course! Camp is well set up and amazingly hot showers! Everyone got a go at driving who wanted to. Make sure you take enough warm clothes for this time of year as it gets cold in the evenings!

Accommodation at the hostel at Rainbow beach was good: it was clean and breakfast and tea is provided. Hostel staff are super friendly and very helpful: it makes such a difference to feel welcomed! Showers were ok and extra blankets are provided for cold nights. Campfire outside and general relaxed and friendly vibes all round! We also stayed a night in a unit which cost a bit more but was quite nice as a couple. Thanks Pippies!

Room Tip: Unit is a good choice if you are a group or a couple!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sophwild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    92
    70
    29
    20
See reviews for
6
90
71
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Me and my mates spent 2 nights there. We just used the Facilities (kitchen and bathrooms) as We were in a campervan. The staff is very friendly and the Facilities are cleaned every day !
Just one thing, the wifi is very poor.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Gambi06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We had a mix up with our Fraser Island trip through Nomads, so we got our trip changed to Pippies in Rainbow beach and i'm glad we did.

Rainbow beach itself is pretty small with not much there, however, i couldnt fault Pippes at all. The hostel is for people coming to stay going on their Fraser Island tour. We stayed there the night before our trip, arrived late afternoon and were put in to a 6 bed dorm, with three bunkbeds, The room was pretty small but ideal for the time we were there for. The surroundings and the garden area of the hostel is lovely, peaceful with hammocks and benches. The kitchen area has everything you need and is pretty clean.
The IGA is where we went to get all our stuff for the trip, but was big enough for everything you need and the liquor store is next door which is handy.

We went on the tag along 3 day - 2 nights tour. The tour guide (forgot his name) but he was brilliant!!! such a laugh and everyone loved him! We had a great group on the tour, which i guess is what really makes it!! We had amazing weather and the days were amazing, its a beautiful island with so much to see. The campsite banter was great and the tour guide had some funny games to get us all going. We all had walky talkies in the jeeps so we had such a laugh with those.

After our 3 days on the island, we came back and stayed at Pippies for the night. Everyone from the trip got together and we had a great night having drinks at the hostel and the beach. We also had dinner at the sports bar which was really good, the food was great and the drinks were reasonable. The menu has a lot to offer.

Rainbow beach and pippies and their tour was overall an amazing experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurenDAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Small rooms right next to kitchen, small place and reception staff were pretty average. Plus they shut after the Premier/Greyhound bus rush which wasn't helpful after they tried to check 4 guys into our 4 bed dorm... 2 too many!!? Stayed here for a night before our Fraser Island trip, which we then moved next door to Dingoes for the night before and after. Much preferred there!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LJ87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We was two (A COUPLE) and we were very satisfied about the good private room, located in the first floor with terrace, and spacious bathroom. morevoer the kitchen was accessible and we had a free breackfast. it was very good

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Natacha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed at Pippies while on an east coast 'adventure' with my boyfriend! We stayed here primarily to visit Fraser Island! Our tour guide Steve was amazing he was really informative and a great laugh! He showed us the sights of Fraser Island and we had so much fun in the process! Pippies hostel was pretty average but it had a homely feel with a tv room and tons of DVDs to watch! We took a walk up to the huge sand dune to watch the sun set which was really nice and the free breakfast was a bonus! As I said the Fraser Island trip was great fun and I would highly recommend we met some great people and as a first time camper I think I managed pretty well! Pippies and their Fraser Island tour is amazing and a must do if your visiting the east coast!! 10/10

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amymay1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waedenswil, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Rainbow Beach is a really small town and all the hostels are next to each other. Pippies Beachhouse has everything from tent dorms to normal rooms. There was one central kitchen (which was too small and rather dirty) and some kitchen in other buildings (which had too few pots and pans). But the accommodation itself was ok.
You probably can't borrow a surfboard from the hostel as they only have two. So you have to be the first to ask.
The bathrooms were clean but quite interestingly distributed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stefan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rainbow Beach
5.0 mi away
Dolphin Waters
Dolphin Waters
#3 of 4 in Tin Can Bay
52 reviews
0.2 mi away
Debbies Place
Debbies Place
#1 of 13 in Rainbow Beach
408 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rainbow Sands Resort
Rainbow Sands Resort
#9 of 13 in Rainbow Beach
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rainbow Getaway Holiday Apartments
0.2 mi away
Plantation Resort at Rainbow
Plantation Resort at Rainbow
#3 of 13 in Rainbow Beach
266 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rainbow Ocean Palms Resort
Rainbow Ocean Palms Resort
#4 of 13 in Rainbow Beach
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pippies Beachhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pippies Beachhouse

Property: Pippies Beachhouse
Address: 22 Spectrum Ave, Rainbow Beach, Queensland 4581, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Gympie Region > Rainbow Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Rainbow Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pippies Beachhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pippies Beachhouse Backpackers is centrally located in the Heart of Rainbow beach just 200m walk to the beach, opposite the bus stop. We are the smallest hostel in Rainbow Beach with no bar, so have a relaxed atmosphere where you can swim in the pool, or relax in a hammock with your own glass of wine if you like. We have a variety of adventure activities for you in Rainbow Beach as well as our Famous 3 Day 2 Night Guided Tag-Along Tour to Fraser Island where you can drive your own 4wd or hop in with one of our experienced guides to show you a camping adventure of a life-time!! We have our base camp at Cathedrals with hot showers & toilet facilities, camp fire each night and best of all a permanent camping area, so it is ready for you when you arrive!! No setting up and packing up! Now with FREE WIFI & Breakfast for every guest! We also offer boomerang workshops, with lessons :) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pippies Beachhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing