We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hostel!”
Review of Pippies Beachhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pippies Beachhouse
Ayr, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Hostel!”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed for 2 nights in Pippies before going on a Cool Dingo tour of Fraser Island.
We couldn't have picked a better hostel, the location was ideal and easy to find and upon arrival we were checked in by a lovely girl who had a vast amount of knowledge about the area and was only too keen to offer us help.
On our departure morning the guy on reception kindly got up early to check us out at 6.30, so we could get on the road again, which we were very appreciative about.
The room were basic and clean, exactly what we wanted and the toilet/shower room was very close.
In the morning we could help ourselves to free tea, coffee and toast provided by the hostel.
Overall it was a lovely stay, in a lovely hostel with very accommodating staff.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cara_Mc27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pippies, Manager at Pippies Beachhouse, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Thanks for the review, so glad to hear your stay with us was enjoyable. As you said we do try to accomodate as best we can any early checkouts or late checkins. Enjoy the rest of your travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    92
    70
    29
    21
See reviews for
6
91
71
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Quepos, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We were lucky to have the Sunshine room at Pippies and loved the room. Here are our quick positives and negatives of the stay:

Pros:
*Our room was amazing, large and with a shared balcony with the other double room on the floor.
*Bathroom was only shared with one other couple and was large
*Very clean
*Facilities are great with a nice lounge area and kitchen area and outdoor seating
*Friendly Staff with great advice
*Complimentary Wifi, breakfast (toast and various spreads) plus free Tea and Coffee
*Able to bring in and drink your own Alcohol

Cons:
*Free sand-boards advertised are actually just boogie boards
*Advertised a walk to the nearby Sandbowl for the sunset at 430, but you actually just get directions and go by yourself as there is no guided walk so you really could do this at anytime rather than wait for the walk. (sunset at the sandbowl is an absolute must though)

Overall not much to complain about, Pippies is pretty awesome so you should probably stay there!

Room Tip: If you're a couple request the Sunshine Room if you can. Also if you're doing Laundry make s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DGNZ88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pippies, Manager at Pippies Beachhouse, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Thankyou for your review, as stated we do not always have a guide available to take guests up to the sandblow however whenever possible we do try to ensure a guide is available. Like you said it is an amazing spot which should not be missed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Was a wonderful place!
Was under staffed but the staff that were there were absolute gems. (Jess you beauty!)
They did lots to help us with our tours, and to make our stay in town the best.
Kitchen was clean and tidy and rooms were some o the cleanest I had seen.
Sorry reviews so late still haven't forgot how amazing you all were at pippies.
Stayed June ish 2013
From Chris,Darren, Carter

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pippies, Manager at Pippies Beachhouse, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Thanks for the review, glad to hear that you still remembered your stay with us and took the time to complete the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights total in two different 4 bed dorms. The hostel and rooms were at an acceptable level of cleanliness but could definitely be cleaner. One of my rooms was right by the kitchen and so was very noisy in the morning. The noise would also start very early as people were preparing to head to Fraser Island. The service here was reasonable and staff would help out with whatever was needed but it was sometimes difficult to locate the staff as reception wasn't manned all day. I often found myself quite bored while at the hostel as there is very little to do.
Overall, the hostel does have everything you would need but the place is very basic.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the rooms by the kitchen as it gets very noisy in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gandalfthepink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pippies, Manager at Pippies Beachhouse, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
As you have stated, the rooms by the kitchen can sometimes be noisy on days when we have a tour departing, however where possible we do try to ensure that noise is kept to a minimum.
Thanks for taking the time to complete the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Rang to check that it was okay to check in late, we were assured that it would be fine and was just told to ring the number. We attempted to call the number for 30 minutes before asking another guest if they knew of any staff members around. We then had to walk over to one of the pubs to speak to an off duty staff member who had to help us find our room key. The room is located right next to the kitchen so I imagine it will be very noisy and unpleasant. There is mold on the roof and also the smoke alarm has been opened and I'm fairly sure the battery has been removed. Can't wait for the free breakfast that will probably be served with a side of rat poison.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Cameron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I have been staying at Pippies for two nights this year. It is a small nice Hostel. The kitchen and bathrooms are good and tidy, you have everything there what you need. But the rooms, I have been in an eight bed dorm, are really small. There is not even enough space for all the backpacks so it is also quite complicated to walk in there. The wifi is also very slowly. The Pool is nice and the stuff and the activities also.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Loved my stay here had such a cool vibe and homely feeling, not even like a hostel more like a b&b. there's a lounge with a hard drive with a ton of movies for free and everyone just seemed really nice and chatty. nice and clean and helpful staff, highly recommend it.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Francoise7538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rainbow Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Debbies Place
Debbies Place
#1 of 13 in Rainbow Beach
415 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rainbow Sands Resort
Rainbow Sands Resort
#9 of 13 in Rainbow Beach
60 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rainbow Getaway Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Plantation Resort at Rainbow
Plantation Resort at Rainbow
#3 of 13 in Rainbow Beach
273 reviews
1.8 mi away
Gateway Lifestyle Rainbow Waters
Gateway Lifestyle Rainbow Waters
#12 of 13 in Rainbow Beach
125 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rainbow Beach Resort
Rainbow Beach Resort
#5 of 13 in Rainbow Beach
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pippies Beachhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pippies Beachhouse

Property: Pippies Beachhouse
Address: 22 Spectrum Ave, Rainbow Beach, Queensland 4581, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Gympie Region > Rainbow Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Rainbow Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pippies Beachhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pippies Beachhouse Backpackers is centrally located in the Heart of Rainbow beach just 200m walk to the beach, opposite the bus stop. We are the smallest hostel in Rainbow Beach with no bar, so have a relaxed atmosphere where you can swim in the pool, or relax in a hammock with your own glass of wine if you like. We have a variety of adventure activities for you in Rainbow Beach as well as our Famous 3 Day 2 Night Guided Tag-Along Tour to Fraser Island where you can drive your own 4wd or hop in with one of our experienced guides to show you a camping adventure of a life-time!! We have our base camp at Cathedrals with hot showers & toilet facilities, camp fire each night and best of all a permanent camping area, so it is ready for you when you arrive!! No setting up and packing up! Now with FREE WIFI & Breakfast for every guest! We also offer boomerang workshops, with lessons :) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pippies Beachhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing