We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The manager is rude and unprofessional....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gateway Lifestyle Rainbow Waters
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The manager is rude and unprofessional....”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We arrived to the main reception to register and make a payment but to my surprise the manager Sue was so rude and even asked me to go out of the office. I was sorting out the booking with my friend thru the phone but impatiently she rudely asked me to go out of her office. She screamed and shouted at me. I can't imagine what kind of manager is she, to treat the customers rudely.I was trying to explain to her but she even told me to leave his office and crumpled my registration papers in front of me. How rude is that...I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone so no one else will be treated badly. Dallas even approached us regarding what happened and like Sue he was also rude and sided her.If I were you don't waste your money and time to come to this place, it's not worth it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank managerial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    45
    17
    9
    29
See reviews for
47
29
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Rude woman on the front desk who happened to be the manager or the wife of. Tore paper in front of the costumer and asked the lady to "Get out of my office!". Even said, "I don't care where you've come from, I have been here since six o'clock(in the morning)!" Selfish, inconsiderate attitude, unworthy of such responsibility. Did not even bother showing restraint seeing that the lady costumer had an eleven year old boy who was petrified by her rude attitude and arrogant behaviour. That boy was so upset, he might need some counselling now and moreover now scarred for the rest of his life. I have read many similar reviews and it seems to be the same case! Rudeness, zero communication skills, arrogant attitude and (acting like a) bully behaviour. But they seem to get away with stuff like this. Seriously stay away!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank HappyCampersOz101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rainbow Beach hotels

Mermaid Waters, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

After driving most of the day to find a caravan park that would allow dogs during school holidays we came across Rainbow Waters Holiday Park in the Qld caravan book. We drove in fingers crossed we could camp, we were greeted by Dallas & Sue the managers who were the friendliest people you will meet. We have a 21ft van & the site we were given had amazing bush & water views, very spacious for our 3 kids & 2 dogs. We are definitely coming back to the park. All amenities are spotless along with the park grounds. Kids spent most of their time fishing, playing in the playground and sitting around the camp fire at night. The beach at Rainbow is only a 5min drive. Will be letting people know about this hidden gem on 23acres. I normally get eaten alive by midges which we were warned about, put repellent on morning & arvo not one bite, so don't let that stop you from coming here. Highly recommended for a stop when your on your travels.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

After reading a few of the comments on here we were expecting to meet an ogre park manager! How wrong we were. The staff from our first visit to reception to the groundsman asking us if we wanted to borrow a long extension lead were always helpful and polite.The toilet block was always clean and well equipped and we have just found the well equipped camp kitchen which has a pizza oven in it and again it's all super clean.We are quite fussy people but would definitely stay here again. Two negatives:if you are staying at the sites next to the waters edge it's a bit of a walk to the showers but its not the end of the world. And the midges! This is something that the owners can do absolutely nothing about. We were warned about this and ensured that we kept ourselves sprayed and so far we have not been bitten.RECOMMENDED!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank TheHibberds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Hi, We have been coming here for years and the new owners have made a couple of good changes most notably the placement of some large industrial bins around he park. We had a very annoying neighbour who had two dogs he constantly let run riot after dark. Had a word with him so that got sorted. I believe one of our neighbours also complained to the park staff about this. One of the biggest negatives with this park and it is not something the owners can fix is that at times you will get eaten alive by sandflies and mosquitoes. We were just up there recently and it is the first time ever that we have been attacked by sandflies in Winter. So be warned and I know for a fact they are very bad in the warmer months. We are going to give the place a break for a while as the sandflies and mozzies just took the edge off our most recent stay. Otherwise it is OK.

Room Tip: No pool and fitness centre so please disregard rating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nambour, Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2013

It was a very nice clean park and had everything we needed and close by to shops like IGA and Fish and chip shops if your unlucky to catch any fish lol good boat ramp and bbq areas good showers and toilets. Kids had a great time also roasting marshmallows and play with glow sticks while running around. Ive got camping fever and want to go back again soon lol we camped on a no powered site cause who needs power while camping lol :) xxx

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ajayne83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

This would have to be the worst caravan park I have been to. At $50 per night staying at the back of a shed full of rubbish no slabs, very ordinary to say the least. The lady on reception was really nice and some of the staff but I think it was the caretaker, he was about as unfriendly as you could get. Only plus is you can have a fire, that's it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nik888888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Gateway Lifestyle Rainbow Waters, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
In response to your comments about your stay at our Park I would just like to give our view.
First if a customer is not happy with their site they only have to ask and we try to move them to another site of their choosing, as we have 23 acres there are plenty to choose from. I would like to point out that you returned to the park within a week for a second time and stayed on the same site without any negative comment to staff.
Secondly we do not charge $50 per night our rate is $37 per night for 2 people and $10 per head for any extras which is standard for this area.
In response to your comments to our cleanliness ,managment and staff take great pride in the state in which we keep our park , cabins and ammenities.
As for the rating on our rooms I dont know how you could even comment on this as you have never even seen inside any of them.
Our staff went to great lengths giving you advise on camping and caravaning throughtout Australia.
You asked for a late checkout to do some washing and we afforded you this.
Once it became obvious you were making no attempt to pack up after 1.30pm and we had the site rebooked the manager politely came and requested you to move as the site was booked.
As for you saying the groundsman was unfriendly, this was the manager and I would ask anybody reading this to refer to previous comments about managment and draw their own conclusion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rainbow Beach
1.9 mi away
Rainbow Getaway Holiday Apartments
1.4 mi away
Rainbow Beach Resort
Rainbow Beach Resort
#5 of 13 in Rainbow Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rainbow Sands Resort
Rainbow Sands Resort
#9 of 13 in Rainbow Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Debbies Place
Debbies Place
#1 of 13 in Rainbow Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
3.8 mi away
Tin Can Bay Tourist Park
Tin Can Bay Tourist Park
#1 of 4 in Tin Can Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
3.6 mi away
Tin Can Bay's Sleepy Lagoon Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Lifestyle Rainbow Waters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Lifestyle Rainbow Waters

Property: Gateway Lifestyle Rainbow Waters
Address: 308 Carlo Rd | Carlo Point, Rainbow Beach, Queensland 4581, Australia (Formerly Rainbow Waters Holiday Park)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Gympie Region > Rainbow Beach
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Rainbow Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gateway Lifestyle Rainbow Waters 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gateway Lifestyle Rainbow Waters is located just north of the Sunshine Coast in the Wide Bay - Burnett region of Queensland. Situated at Carlo Point, we are only minutes from the popular coastal township of Rainbow Beach. Positioned on a tidal inlet of the Great Sandy Straits and with boat ramps on your doorstep this is the perfect location to take advantage of boating, fishing, crabbing, kayaking, stand up paddle boarding and countless other water based activities. Or perhaps take a daytrip to the coloured sands or World Heritage listed Fraser Island in your 4WD or book a tour with one of the local operators. Gateway Lifestyle Rainbow Waters is a stunning coastal retreat and offers a myriad of wonderful activities for holidaymakers of all ages and interests. We have a range of accommodation options from cabins and villa's to slab and bush camping. Only 3 hours north of Brisbane, 1.5 hours north of the Sunshine Coast Airport (Maroochydore) and 50 minutes from the historical goldmine town of Gympie, Rainbow Beach is a popular tourist destination with stunning beaches and outstanding National Parks to explore! Some features and facilities at this holiday park include- - Camp kitchen with pizza oven - Recreation room with TV, library & games room - Kids playground - Open campfires permitted - Kiosk with ice, bait & firewood Gateway Lifestyle Holiday Parks are dedicated to providing you with the best holidays possible and wish to advise some locations are undergoing development as we continue to improve our parks. You may experience some noise during your stay, for further details, please contact our friendly park managers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, PitchUp and Priceline so you can book your Gateway Lifestyle Rainbow Waters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing