We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice clean park, but pricey and the sand flies are horrendous” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gateway Lifestyle Rainbow Waters

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gateway Lifestyle Rainbow Waters
Sunshine Coast, QLD
Level Contributor
105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Nice clean park, but pricey and the sand flies are horrendous”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

A (family) group of us camped on powered sites just before Christmas for a long weekend. The park is very clean and tidy and amentiies were immaculate, but dated. The park has a friendly, relaxed, laid-back feel and even though it was a very busy time, it didn't feel crowded.

I found comments about the managers unfounded - they were very professional, courteous and helpful.

The camp kitchen is great. We made use of the pizza oven and had a delicious feast! Plenty of fridge and freezer space.

The fishing was great - plenty of bream and even a good sized mud-crab caught off the banks.

The negatives: there is no pool and the midgies almost carried us away. No insect repellant seemed to stop them - we tried rid, aeroguard and off. My brother-in-law was so coated in bites we had to dose him up with antihistamine. A week later he is still itching and coated in sores. On the last day a lady told us that you need something oil-based as their bites can't penetrate it. Bushman's is about the only repellant that works, or baby oil..

The price is quite expensive for what you get - the same price as the park in town that has a big pool and is central to everything.

It really is alovely park, but due to the lack of pool and those horrible biting insects we wont be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    44
    17
    9
    28
See reviews for
47
28
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Absolutely terrible. Arrived with my mother sisters and partner with a bit of music playing and immediately got told to leave. Manager was very rude and had a terrible attitude. Extremely rude. Apparently we have a life ban for having a bit of music on in the car. Never ever recommending that park to anyone. All the staffs attitude was disgusting. We
Drove ages to get there and were told to leave after paying in full. Don't go there !

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Whattee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Gateway Lifestyle Rainbow Waters, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Firstly, it was not the Managers that asked you to leave, it was the Owner. You arrived into our park with music thumping and going at a speed well over our limit of 10km/hour. Secondly, when you came into the office to receive your "FULL REFUND" you continued on with your foul language. As we are a family orientated park, your behaviour was not welcome and not appropriate, thus resulting in you and your family being asked to leave.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rainbow Beach hotels

Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

My partner and I spent two nights camping here during a Fraser Island tour and I must say the actual caravan park was in great condition with great amenities. There was a sheltered outdoor kitchen that included a wood fired pizza oven which would be a great addition for the kids. The bathrooms were even clean and nice! There was waterfront camping if you don't need power which was also a plus. The only downside if the bloody sand fleas nearly killed us! Beware of dawn and dusk cover your legs and close your tent. These little minion were everywhere and devoured my boyfriend. They made their way into our tent on the second night and had a feast of us in our sleep. Unfortunately, they were so bad I doubt we would return, but if you are feeling adventurey and or have a life supply of bug spray then it is a great option for camping!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lanna7890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We camped here this long weekend and all I can say is it was my first time ever camping even kids had a fab time staff so friendly loved morning chat at tents as the staff go checking out every where very clean and kids friendly defo staying again

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kurrimine Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Booked in yesterday to the Rainbow Waters Caravan Park, we are not normally caravan park people as we drive a 30ft motorhome and tow a trailer, we invariably cannot fit into most caravan parks and when book ahead or try to book in we are told in no uncertain terms how we are too big. From the moment we walked into the reception the welcome was so friendly and nothing was too much trouble. It was extremely busy but both staff and management went over and above what we expected. The manager also came around after we had parked to make sure everything was ok and did we need anything. Take note this is the standard set for others to follow. Cannot recommend highly enough.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Jean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

We arrived to the main reception to register and make a payment but to my surprise the manager Sue was so rude and even asked me to go out of the office. I was sorting out the booking with my friend thru the phone but impatiently she rudely asked me to go out of her office. She screamed and shouted at me. I can't imagine what kind of manager is she, to treat the customers rudely.I was trying to explain to her but she even told me to leave his office and crumpled my registration papers in front of me. How rude is that...I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone so no one else will be treated badly. Dallas even approached us regarding what happened and like Sue he was also rude and sided her.If I were you don't waste your money and time to come to this place, it's not worth it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank managerial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Rude woman on the front desk who happened to be the manager or the wife of. Tore paper in front of the costumer and asked the lady to "Get out of my office!". Even said, "I don't care where you've come from, I have been here since six o'clock(in the morning)!" Selfish, inconsiderate attitude, unworthy of such responsibility. Did not even bother showing restraint seeing that the lady costumer had an eleven year old boy who was petrified by her rude attitude and arrogant behaviour. That boy was so upset, he might need some counselling now and moreover now scarred for the rest of his life. I have read many similar reviews and it seems to be the same case! Rudeness, zero communication skills, arrogant attitude and (acting like a) bully behaviour. But they seem to get away with stuff like this. Seriously stay away!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank HappyCampersOz101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rainbow Beach
2.0 mi away
Rainbow Getaway Holiday Apartments
1.9 mi away
Rainbow Sands Resort
Rainbow Sands Resort
#9 of 13 in Rainbow Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rainbow Beach Resort
Rainbow Beach Resort
#5 of 13 in Rainbow Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Debbies Place
Debbies Place
#1 of 13 in Rainbow Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
3.6 mi away
Tin Can Bay's Sleepy Lagoon Motel
3.8 mi away
Tin Can Bay Tourist Park
Tin Can Bay Tourist Park
#1 of 4 in Tin Can Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Lifestyle Rainbow Waters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Lifestyle Rainbow Waters

Property: Gateway Lifestyle Rainbow Waters
Address: 308 Carlo Rd | Carlo Point, Rainbow Beach, Queensland 4581, Australia (Formerly Rainbow Waters Holiday Park)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Gympie Region > Rainbow Beach
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Rainbow Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gateway Lifestyle Rainbow Waters 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gateway Lifestyle Rainbow Waters is located just north of the Sunshine Coast in the Wide Bay - Burnett region of Queensland. Situated at Carlo Point, we are only minutes from the popular coastal township of Rainbow Beach. Positioned on a tidal inlet of the Great Sandy Straits and with boat ramps on your doorstep this is the perfect location to take advantage of boating, fishing, crabbing, kayaking, stand up paddle boarding and countless other water based activities. Or perhaps take a daytrip to the coloured sands or World Heritage listed Fraser Island in your 4WD or book a tour with one of the local operators. Gateway Lifestyle Rainbow Waters is a stunning coastal retreat and offers a myriad of wonderful activities for holidaymakers of all ages and interests. We have a range of accommodation options from cabins and villa's to slab and bush camping. Only 3 hours north of Brisbane, 1.5 hours north of the Sunshine Coast Airport (Maroochydore) and 50 minutes from the historical goldmine town of Gympie, Rainbow Beach is a popular tourist destination with stunning beaches and outstanding National Parks to explore! Some features and facilities at this holiday park include- - Camp kitchen with pizza oven - Recreation room with TV, library & games room - Kids playground - Open campfires permitted - Kiosk with ice, bait & firewood Gateway Lifestyle Holiday Parks are dedicated to providing you with the best holidays possible and wish to advise some locations are undergoing development as we continue to improve our parks. You may experience some noise during your stay, for further details, please contact our friendly park managers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo and PitchUp so you can book your Gateway Lifestyle Rainbow Waters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing