We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just an average ice-cream place”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Creme de la Creme

Creme de la Creme
Ranked #2 of 3 Dessert in Rainbow Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Bundaberg, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Just an average ice-cream place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

The ice cream was ok, but it seems like the days of a nice refreshing treat at the beach are long gone. As the only place to serve 'fresh' ice-cream in town they had a bit of a monopoly and it was clear they knew they didn't have to try too hard. The flavours weren't anything to get excited about and the price certainly wasn't family friendly.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Petrina111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    10
    5
    0
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
Level Contributor
458 reviews
233 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Staff is friendly and the place looks really nice. We were told about it in Tin Can Bay. The quality of the ice cream itself is really subpar or average at best. they surely can do better

Helpful?
Thank Hassan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackwater, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Worst customer service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

Went there two nights running as it was below our accommodation and we were looking forward to a nice dessert after eating out. First night, told us he was closing in 20 minutes and didn't want to make a sundae because he would have to clean up again. Second night, went a half hour earlier so as not to miss out. Same guy told us same story. I asked him about his closing times, reply was that it was a quiet night so he was closing early. It got the better of my wife and the next day (after some investigating at our accommodation desk) went and saw the owner who also owns the surfwear shop to let her know her business was being represented by this guy, and it wasn't a good look. She was apologetic and suspected something wasn't right. I see from the last review it appears he is still there. Not sure why it is in the restaurant guide as it is only an ice-cream shop.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Quaint, delicious little ice cream shop.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

Friendly staff and full flavoured creamy ice cream. Great variety, with lots I flavours. There is very limited outside seating therefore half of the party had to stand. The premises are probably limited per seating via body corp. overall Delicious!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank naipl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Staff need a lesson in customer service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Two times on Thursday Jan 9th 2014 i know of people were refused what they asked for. 1st time was Waffles as the customer was told "i dont do the waffles a woman comes in and does them"so obviously he couldnt make them for her. I went in around 6.45PM and was told he cant make me a banana split as it would take too long and his $20 of food that he bought would be ruined. So i asked for a Sundae instead. To which the reply was "That will take me just as long".
Unfortunately what may have been a good ice cream shop was ruined by rude and obnoxious young man. My suggestion to the owner is re-train this employee of yours or get rid of him as he is destroying your business. On that night alone he lost 5 customers that i know of .

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dissapointed813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Creme de la Creme also viewed

Rainbow Beach, Gympie Region
Rainbow Beach, Gympie Region
 
Rainbow Beach, Gympie Region
Rainbow Beach, Gympie Region
 

Been to Creme de la Creme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing