We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hostel, good Fraser Island tours”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dingos Backpacker Adventure Resort
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice hostel, good Fraser Island tours”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

The hostel has a nice pool, good open air kitchen and a social eating area. There's nothing to do in rainbow beach so only come for The Fraser Island trip. The tour was well organised and we stayed in a campsite surrounded by a fence to keep the dingos out. So much depends on how well you get on with the group in your car, however there is a campfire and drinking in the evening to socialise with others. Lucky my group was great and I had a brilliant time. The hostels and tours are probably all fairly similar, I think the biggest difference between them is the accommodation on the island

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    105
    62
    37
    56
See reviews for
2
55
122
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rainbow Beach, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2014

friendly greeted off the bus by staff, lively entertainment, cheap drinks,
the room was clean, kitchen was really clean, lots of cooking space, great staff fun to hang out with, very recommended to stay, free wifi and computers, $6 meal every night good value,

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zara c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Had my best night meeting people in dingo'a super social bar. Credit due to the friend English barmaid who kept the place going (must be because she's smart enough to do a maths degree).

We stayed in camper van around the back. This was ok. No power, but showers etc good.

Owner was really moody in the morning when trying to leave early. We got blocked in and couldn't get our stuff from the safe. Shame as we needed an early getAway.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank RetfordAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I stayed in this backpacker for two nights. It is clean and the stuff is very friendly. For dinner it offers you meals for 6 dollar. They are tasty but the portion are too small so you have to order again one or you must go to the next supermarket if you are too hungry.

However, I booked my tour in Fraser Island from this hostel. All in all I can say that I met nice people and had a great time.

I would recommend this hostel to backpacker or younger people who like adventure and places where you can chill out with people from everywhere.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vandimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maghera Co.Derry
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Booked into Dingos at Rainbow beach for our 2 nights 3day tour on Frazer Island, Hostel was good 8 bed dorms were clean and had good shower, great kitchen and communal area, thou it has a bar and no byo but most hostels are like this, tag along tour to Frazer with dingo/rbac was awesome! Our guide Geoff was a legend his passion for the island rubbed off on everyone, I see some people complain about not enough food an sleeping in tents, crazy your backpacking on a paradise island! Had chicken stirfry one night and steak the second, I've been living on noodles so this was awesome haha its a backpackers tour they want you to bond enjoy the island an have a good party and they delivered! Made friends for life on here! Frazer island was amazing and the driving was awesome proper 4x4 driving, crazy lakes, whales, sharks, dingo,bbqs,ipod parties, camp fires etc . Massive thanks to Geoff and all involved in he tour!ps I stayed same tour as that bad review listed 17th June, go figure
Niall

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank niallbradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

A friend and I spent 3 nights at Dingos recently and found it to be everything we needed.. Arrived on a greyhound bus directly opposite the entrance, greeted by a hostel employee for those doing a Fraser Island tour (we weren't) but nice to arrive relatively new to hosteling with nothing to worry about. $6 meals every night were good value as generally generous portions, especially when adding a pint for $4 more as part of a meal deal. 5 minute walk to the beach and free walk to Carlo Sandblow every day at 4pm definitely worth doing, either for sunset watching or free sandboarding. Varied nightlife in the hostel when we were there included live music and karaoke. Comfortable beds (not squeaky) with reasonable sized rooms, a bit tight but manageable. Only real complaints were the WiFi while we were there (very poor connection - although, you know, if you need WiFi to have a good time have a word with yourself) and pool area seems to be in constant shadow, but the beach is less than a 5 min walk away if you fancy a refreshing although brisk dip. All guests who booked Fraser Island tours that we met came back saying it was awesome. Also noticed room renovations going on so looking to refresh decor. 3 days in Rainbow is enough, tour depending, but we met some nice people and had good nights sleep. Maybe not the best for the quiet traveler but great for meeting people

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

(This is a review of just the hostel and not the company that did the tours to Fraser)

We stayed at the hostel for three nights and found it to have everything we needed. The rooms were a good size for the number of bunks, which meant everyone had room for their own stuff.
There's a pool and a nice area with hammocks to chill out in.
The place is kept clean, theres lots of space for cooking and eating and, although it is expensive, there's laundry.
From what I heard from others your definitely better off staying here over Fraser Backpackers overbthe road - if not just for the free morning pancakes!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JKerching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rainbow Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Pippies Beachhouse
Pippies Beachhouse
#6 of 13 in Rainbow Beach
328 reviews
0.3 mi away
Debbies Place
Debbies Place
#1 of 13 in Rainbow Beach
415 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rainbow Getaway Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rainbow Sands Resort
Rainbow Sands Resort
#9 of 13 in Rainbow Beach
60 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plantation Resort at Rainbow
Plantation Resort at Rainbow
#3 of 13 in Rainbow Beach
273 reviews
1.8 mi away
Gateway Lifestyle Rainbow Waters
Gateway Lifestyle Rainbow Waters
#12 of 13 in Rainbow Beach
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dingos Backpacker Adventure Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dingos Backpacker Adventure Resort

Property: Dingos Backpacker Adventure Resort
Address: 20 Spectrum Ave, Rainbow Beach, Queensland 4581, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Gympie Region > Rainbow Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Rainbow Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Dingos Backpacker Adventure Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing