We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Country Comfort Gin Gin, Wild Scotsman
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Gin Gin
Reviewed 12 April 2014

This was our second stay at the Wild Scotsman. It was even better than the first time - a great night's sleep with little road noise, very clean room with plenty of light and space. We had a wonderful first impression with Elizabeth, our hostess taking special care to see that we were comfortable and all our needs taken care of. Our meal in the restaurant was well-cooked, tasty and just enough portion to feel well-fed without overdoing it. There are plenty of adequate motels around, but it takes the personal touch to make an overnight stay memorable. Well done Liz! We will certainly make the Wild Scotsman our permanent stopover when we travel north to visit our relatives. We certainly recommend other travellers to give it a try. Karen & Bruce G

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2013

Stayed in a family unit at the Wild Scotsman. The unit was clean and the lady was very hospitable. The motel featured a small pool. The motel is situated close to an all night diner and service station.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EungellaMountainEdge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

We would stay here again, as mentioned about rooms were perfect, good selection of different pillows and the bed was great. Only downside is that there wasn't pay tv in the rooms. Other than that Everything was great.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CraigRT12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

After reading other Tripadvisor reviews we thought that we would give this place a go.

Prior to our arrival Liz the owner/operator gave us a warm over the phone welcome, with details of room number and a heads up to the 24hr Diner across the road which was greatly appreciated.

After a very long drive from Townsville and arriving hours later than anticipated in Gingin, we were pleased to find our room was beyond our expectations.

Our room was spacious and our bed was so comfortable!!
The bathroom was clean and we were pleased to find a nice sized bathtub for a well needed soak.
Shower had pretty good pressure too.

Our only regret is that due to our late arrival and relatively early departure we didn't get a chance to fully utilise all facilities and meet Liz to say thank you in person.

Overall if you are looking for a clean and comfortable place to rest or that stop over between long drives we can highly recommend the Wild Scotsman.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LittleMissMelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

We pulled in after struggling to get through the flood waters heading south. Liz (owner) went out of her way to accommodate our family of 2 Adults and 2 Monsters. Room was VERY clean and facilities were acceptable considering the town was out of nearly all food stuffs. We booked for 2 nights as advised by the local authorities but when the roads were opened after 1 night Liz wouldn't charge us for the 2nd unused night even though it was well past checkout and the housekeeper was almost past our room. Thanks Liz and crew we'll highly recommend you to everyone we know.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We stayed for the night in their two bed apartment. It was really neat, tidy and clean. The staff were very friendly. The meals from their restaurant were excellent and they delivered to our room which wasconvienient when travelling with children.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jpg74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

We stayed in this motel on the way to rockhampton. Our truck broke down. The hotel is basic compares to to what is on offer. We agreed for them to $125.00 but they have taken $370.00. No notification as to what it was for. This motel have now charged us 4 different amounts and trying to get a refund. The room was left the same way we found it apart from the sheet and towels used. My suggestion is don't give these people your credit card number. I have arranged a dispute with my bank.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gin Gin hotels
0.5 mi away
Gin Gin Central Motel
Gin Gin Central Motel
#1 of 2 in Gin Gin
96 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gin Gin Village Motor Inn Motel
11.3 mi away
Lake Monduran Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
Gin Gin Hotel (Pub)
#2 of 2 in Gin Gin
3 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Country Comfort Gin Gin, Wild Scotsman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Comfort Gin Gin, Wild Scotsman

Address: 5 Mulgrave St | (Bruce Highway), Gin Gin, Queensland 4671, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gin Gin
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Gin Gin
Price Range: £78 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Country Comfort Gin Gin, Wild Scotsman 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country Comfort Wild Scotsman Motor Inn is located in Gin Gin, a picturesque historic town located on the Bruce Highway just half an hour inland from the coastal city of Bundaberg in Central Queensland.Whether you are travelling for business or leisure, the Country Comfort hotel is a wonderful place to stop over to relax and re-charge in this fun-filled destination. Amongst the rural countryside and sugar cane fields is Lake Monduran, known for its swimming and fishing areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Country Comfort Gin Gin, Wild Scotsman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing