We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good country style motel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Comfort Gin Gin, Wild Scotsman

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Country Comfort Gin Gin, Wild Scotsman
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Gin Gin
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good country style motel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We found the room to be very comfortable and very well equipped. Spotlessly clean. The meals are large in size and quite nice. The manager was very friendly and accommodating. The noise from the highway is not an issue we couldn't hear any noise. I guess the only negative is the price of the room, very expensive for what and where it is, we travelled up and down the highway for a few weeks and this was the most expensive motel we stayed in, demand for motels was the same as everywhere we stayed so I don't know the answer to why this motel is so expensive. Not much else to choose from in Gin Gin

Room Tip: The motel is two storey so you need to be aware of this if stairs worry you, the rooms are off the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristobelle14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    20
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
15
12
2
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

I stay at the Country Comfort whenever I go to Gin Gin as it is conveniently located to where I am working. The rooms are always exceptionally clean and well-equipped, and not too noisy considering you are right on the highway. Room service is excellent (although pricey).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bribie Island, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

This was our second stay at the Wild Scotsman. It was even better than the first time - a great night's sleep with little road noise, very clean room with plenty of light and space. We had a wonderful first impression with Elizabeth, our hostess taking special care to see that we were comfortable and all our needs taken care of. Our meal in the restaurant was well-cooked, tasty and just enough portion to feel well-fed without overdoing it. There are plenty of adequate motels around, but it takes the personal touch to make an overnight stay memorable. Well done Liz! We will certainly make the Wild Scotsman our permanent stopover when we travel north to visit our relatives. We certainly recommend other travellers to give it a try. Karen & Bruce G

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eungella
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

Stayed in a family unit at the Wild Scotsman. The unit was clean and the lady was very hospitable. The motel featured a small pool. The motel is situated close to an all night diner and service station.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EungellaMountainEdge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

We would stay here again, as mentioned about rooms were perfect, good selection of different pillows and the bed was great. Only downside is that there wasn't pay tv in the rooms. Other than that Everything was great.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CraigRT12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

After reading other Tripadvisor reviews we thought that we would give this place a go.

Prior to our arrival Liz the owner/operator gave us a warm over the phone welcome, with details of room number and a heads up to the 24hr Diner across the road which was greatly appreciated.

After a very long drive from Townsville and arriving hours later than anticipated in Gingin, we were pleased to find our room was beyond our expectations.

Our room was spacious and our bed was so comfortable!!
The bathroom was clean and we were pleased to find a nice sized bathtub for a well needed soak.
Shower had pretty good pressure too.

Our only regret is that due to our late arrival and relatively early departure we didn't get a chance to fully utilise all facilities and meet Liz to say thank you in person.

Overall if you are looking for a clean and comfortable place to rest or that stop over between long drives we can highly recommend the Wild Scotsman.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleMissMelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

We pulled in after struggling to get through the flood waters heading south. Liz (owner) went out of her way to accommodate our family of 2 Adults and 2 Monsters. Room was VERY clean and facilities were acceptable considering the town was out of nearly all food stuffs. We booked for 2 nights as advised by the local authorities but when the roads were opened after 1 night Liz wouldn't charge us for the 2nd unused night even though it was well past checkout and the housekeeper was almost past our room. Thanks Liz and crew we'll highly recommend you to everyone we know.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gin Gin
0.5 mi away
Gin Gin Central Motel
Gin Gin Central Motel
#1 of 2 in Gin Gin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
Gin Gin Hotel (Pub)
#2 of 2 in Gin Gin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gin Gin Village Motor Inn Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 mi away
Tropical Gardens Motor Inn
Tropical Gardens Motor Inn
#10 of 17 in Bundaberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
11.3 mi away
Lake Monduran Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Comfort Gin Gin, Wild Scotsman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Comfort Gin Gin, Wild Scotsman

Property: Country Comfort Gin Gin, Wild Scotsman
Address: 5 Mulgrave St | (Bruce Highway), Gin Gin, Queensland 4671, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gin Gin
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Gin Gin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Country Comfort Gin Gin, Wild Scotsman 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country Comfort Wild Scotsman Motor Inn is located in Gin Gin, a picturesque historic town located on the Bruce Highway just half an hour inland from the coastal city of Bundaberg in Central Queensland.Whether you are travelling for business or leisure, the Country Comfort hotel is a wonderful place to stop over to relax and re-charge in this fun-filled destination. Amongst the rural countryside and sugar cane fields is Lake Monduran, known for its swimming and fishing areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Country Comfort Gin Gin, Wild Scotsman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing