We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the past is the past”
Review of Ned Kelly's Motel

Ned Kelly's Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ned Kelly's Motel
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Maryborough
Reviewed 10 August 2013

I have read some of the negative reviews and fair go they may be well founded. The new managers are nice down to earth people and they treat you as family. I have stayed there four nights and can tell you what a great place to stay on a budget not flash but honest . I have seen first hand their efforts to enhance the place and new visitors will be impressed. to all have stayed before and write negativity come again and change your minds go down the road at 5 star hotel and get jack what they are offering .

Room Tip: drive past others to get to this place they are awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phil v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verna P, Manager at Ned Kelly's Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Phil V,
Thank you for your great review look forward too seeing you again
Mention your review for a discount on your next visit
It was a pleasure to have you with us here at Ned Kelly's Motel

Thanks again
Verna P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2013

We recently stayed in a basic cabin. On first glance it had everything we needed without all the bells and whistles(which we didn't expect for the price we paid).. Things could be improved though. Several things in the cabin either didn't work, or were very dirty - (hotplates were revolting). Useful items were also missing ie. egg flip for the frypan.
The kids loved the pool however the surrounds are very basic. Is a fair way out of the centre of town too.
Service was apathetic.
I would recommend this accomodation for those on a budget - just don't have high expectations.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ncherrylindsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

One of things we've found, is that it's not always easy to get decent accommodation at prices we can afford with a family. This wasn't a problem with the affordable price we discovered at Ned Kelly's. We took the kids for a weekend stay, and found there's even a great play centre right next door. The kids loved it! We found the staff to be helpful and friendly, and the rooms were comfortable, clean and tidy. Not a 5-star resort, but we weren't expecting that anyway!
We had a fantastic time and if we're ever thinking of heading back up that way, I wouldn't hesitate to book again!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
Thank Kirsti C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Self rated at four stars-I don't think so, perhaps two and a half.
It's a pity the owners don't maintain their asset and leave the managers to handle the irate
customers. Things just didn't work, the alarm clock, air conditioner which keeps you up all night with the noise. As there are no ceiling fans or security screens it is the only option?
Continental breakfast is a small box of cerial and a couple of pieces of dry bread which have
been sitting out all day, on this bread once toasted you put your butter which has been
previously melted and reset- one bight and into the bin.
Unless this is the last motel you can find with a vacancy drive on.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Nothing and I do mean nothing out of the hat with this place, bland rooms, less than modern decor, receptionist with a "ho hum" attitude. However one simply gets what one pays for!One can not expect luxury at this place, what you will get is a basic room which has been "dollied" up but upon closer inspection it is simply second or third rate. The staff in the office appeared to be "put out" when dealing with us, it was as if it was a case of too much trouble. There was a film of grime on the windowsill and the air conditioner has seen much better days. It was handy having the service station next door but the prices and once again the attitude of the staff left a lot to be desired. In all honesty I would suggest driving a bit further into Hervey Bay and staying there.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

We stayed in may, we were on a tight budget but found staff to be lovely - romm was tidy, not brand new but very comfortable. For what we paid I thought it was great!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nakos75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2011

The room was not clean. Layer of black grease in grill tray, dirty microwave, pubic hairs in shower, the floor made our feet black. Water basin tap heads fell off. Receptionist was nasty, made to feel very uncomfortable by her. Pool was filthy, residents were loud and there was domestic abuse at 3AM making it hard to sleep. Where were the 'surrounding tropical gardens'? Worst holiday experience of our lives. Would not wish the torture upon anyone. Don't stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ScreenName1Kingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maryborough hotels
2.5 mi away
Maryborough Motel and Conference Centre
1.7 mi away
Carriers Arms Hotel Motel
Carriers Arms Hotel Motel
#7 of 11 in Maryborough
51 reviews
1.3 mi away
Arkana Motel
Arkana Motel
#9 of 11 in Maryborough
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Cara Motel
Cara Motel
#1 of 11 in Maryborough
267 reviews
1.3 mi away
Blue Shades Motel
Blue Shades Motel
#4 of 11 in Maryborough
91 reviews
1.9 mi away
No photo provided
Maryborough City Motel
#6 of 11 in Maryborough
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ned Kelly's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ned Kelly's Motel

Address: 148 Gympie Rd, Maryborough, Queensland 4650, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Maryborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Maryborough
Price Range: £42 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ned Kelly's Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ned Kelly's Motel, Family friendly with 23 Motel rooms and 30 + 2 bed room cabins, renovations are in progress with freshly painted rooms NEW Beds and Mattresses for that great night sleep on the road. NEW MANAGERS DOUG AND VERNA, are here to assist you!! just ask! Pool at complex and child friendly play center next door. All you need for that stop over or break away!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Ned Kelly's Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing