We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice room but bathroom could use a good clean.”
Review of Ned Kelly's Motel

Ned Kelly's Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ned Kelly's Motel
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Maryborough
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We were greeted by friendly management, ready to help in any way. Room was very tidy and comfortable. We could choose a boxed cereal for breakfast, and also got offered some raisin toast. Pleasant location, short drive to supermarkets.

The only thing that put a negative point to our stay was the bathroom, the room had obviously being cleaned, bed made up but There were no towels in room, or bathroom, they had obviously started the bathroom, as there was a bowl on the uncleaned hand basin, which had used shampoo and soap wrapper in. The shower had mould and could do with a good clean, there was a plastic shavers cap on shower floor, obviously from previous people.

This was the only thing I could fault with the premises.

Obviously they had forgotten to give the room a once over before customers arrived.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandraB63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2014

They were really good. The customer service was 9.5/10 for sure no doubt.

Everything inside the room was really good and in order. From my point of view, there was no problems at all.

I will recommend any of my friends who could traveling a long way to anywhere to stop by at the motel and before they leave to take a photo of Ned Kelly.

Again, great work. Will come back to them for sure.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We found Neds to be quite good. The new owners had only been on deck for a few weeks when we stayed there and didn't have much knowledge on where to go to dinner except for the pub up the road or out front of their motel. There was a very noisy generator in the building next door to our little room which was a bit of a pain when trying to get off to sleep after a long journey.
I am hoping they will have learnt a lot more about the town so they can be of more assistance to travellers. The bathroom was only just adequate but very clean. The door needs to be changed possibly to a sliding door so you can enter and exit the shower without banging into it.
Overall not a bad stay over on our way to Gladstone. Hope it gets better, handy spot.
Mark & Debbie Briggs

Room Tip: Maybe the cabins at the back would be ideal for families or just more than a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verna P, Manager at Ned Kelly's Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Hi Mark and Debbie,
Thank you,for your review.......... sorry you had difficulty getting to sleep after your long trip, but now having been made aware of this generator noise, and will be looking into that situation.

Verna and Doug

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Have stayed here a few times now. The new Managers are great, they are friendly and helpful. Rooms are always very clean and tidy and if you need something else, all you have to do is ask. If your looking for something on a budget and want to cool off in the pool and relax for a day or two, this is the place to stop.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the road are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sherie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verna P, Manager at Ned Kelly's Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Hi Sherie O
Thanks for the review I'm happy that you had a enjoyable time
The pool is great for a cool off at this time of year

Look forward to seeing you again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

nice clean little motel at a good price . if travelling the Bruce Hwy - Mayborough is just about the right stop for Day out of Bris.. found the Ned Kelly Motel good value with very clean rooms.. adjoining servo has a indoor kids play area and coffee shop ya we'll stop there again..

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ray p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

i stayed there for 2 days recently- attended a family birthday in Maryborough. While it is budget accommodation the room was very clean and tidy. New managers there apparently they were extremely nice and approachable. The Motel itself was very clean and the great nieces enjoyed the pool - had a great breakfast there using the BBQ. Would recommend very good value for money. Will come back again.

thanks

Paula

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Paula D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verna P, Manager at Ned Kelly's Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Hi
Thank you for choosing Ned Kelly's Motel we are pleased you had such a great time here
Yes the pool area IS great for breakfast or any time of the day always a cool breeze
just what you need with the heat lately. Come again and mention travel adviser response for a discount on your next room
Verna P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We had not planned to stay in Maryborough. Glad we found Ned Kelly Hotel as the Manager was very helpful and friendly. For the cost I was surprised at the hotel room very clean and tidy making our stay. For a budget Hotel it is the best we have stayed at.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verna P, Manager at Ned Kelly's Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Anna,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Ned Kelly's Motel and you response to us here on Trip Advisor............ mention you review for a discount on your return visit.

Verna P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maryborough hotels
2.6 mi away
Maryborough Motel and Conference Centre
1.7 mi away
Carriers Arms Hotel Motel
Carriers Arms Hotel Motel
#7 of 11 in Maryborough
51 reviews
1.4 mi away
Arkana Motel
Arkana Motel
#9 of 11 in Maryborough
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Blue Shades Motel
Blue Shades Motel
#4 of 11 in Maryborough
91 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cara Motel
Cara Motel
#1 of 11 in Maryborough
264 reviews
1.6 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ned Kelly's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ned Kelly's Motel

Address: 148 Gympie Rd, Maryborough, Queensland 4650, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Maryborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Maryborough
Price Range: £43 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ned Kelly's Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ned Kelly's Motel, Family friendly with 23 Motel rooms and 30 + 2 bed room cabins, renovations are in progress with freshly painted rooms NEW Beds and Mattresses for that great night sleep on the road. NEW MANAGERS DOUG AND VERNA, are here to assist you!! just ask! Pool at complex and child friendly play center next door. All you need for that stop over or break away!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ned Kelly's Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing