We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mineral Sands Motel and Colony Restaurant
Nearby Hotels
Ned Kelly's Motel(Maryborough)
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Maryborough Motel and Conference Centre(Maryborough)(Great Value!)
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Cara Motel(Maryborough)
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Shades Motel(Maryborough)
US$89
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arkana Motel(Maryborough)
US$71
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$103
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maryborough City Motel(Maryborough)(Great Value!)
US$71
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Room Service
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveller rating
23
25
5
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
23
25
5
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbed was comfortabletake awaynext morningyogurtfree wifieasy parkingclose to shopsfriendly ownerswithin walking distancemain roadhervey bayfriendly serviceroad tripon arrivalgreat place to staysandalsminerals
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 59 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2013 via mobile

This stay was in an older room and unfortunately the bed was not comfortable as I did feel the springs. The decor was fine, but area in the bathroom was limited, i.e. was a bit tight getting to the toilet, shower a nice size though. The room was clean, but the fridge had an odd smell.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ness C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve C, Manager at Mineral Sands Motel and Colony Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2013

Thanks Ness C,
We are a 3.5 rated motel so while we can't offer the same as the 4 star's, but most of our guests just want a nice clean room so thanks for your feedback.

We just need to encourage our guests to fill out the feedback form rather that post a review on this site, that way we know exactly what the problem is and in which room so we can deal with it straight away.

We'd rather fix something with a friendly smile rather than find out something weeks later. Just wish we could put up all the good feedback forms we have on this site to balance out the reviews a bit.

Anyway, thanks again,
Regards,
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

I wish I'd read the reviews before I stayed here. Right now I'm laying awake in one of their beds, unable to sleep because of the springs sticking into my back. How old are they!!! The location isnt bad except for the never ending frogs crocking because of the rain. Someone standing behind the counter when I arrived looked like a family member and just gave me a filthy look, didn't say anything and waited for someone else to realize I was there. Never again.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anraeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve C, Manager at Mineral Sands Motel and Colony Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2012

There's no need to post these sorts of comments. Fair enough if the bed was uncomfortable for you, you let us know at 6:30am and we happily refunded your 2nd night, which we were under no obligation to do so. We understand that when you wrote the review you must have been very tired as it seemed a reflection of the previous review to get your frustrations known to as many people who would care to listen.
We have checked the bed you referred to, and are confident to report that there are definitely no springs poking through, in fact when we looked at previous guest feedback forms it was surprising the number of compliments on that particular bed, so we find your comment quite out of the ordinary. We will try and halt any further rainfall at night in an effort to eliminate all frog noises. Also apologies for our disabled friend, she shouldn’t have been behind the counter and most people realize her communication issues are something she cannot help.
None the less, thank you for your feedback and we will attempt to improve where we can.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

the mattress , felt like they should of been throw away 5 years ago, springs digging in the side alnight. the room needs a good clean

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds
Thank Richard241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve C, Manager at Mineral Sands Motel and Colony Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2012

Sorry to read your review, sadly sometimes it's the only way to find out issues, so I wish you would have filled out the feedback form so we could have fixed the problem. We'll try and work out which room it was, thanks for staying with us, hopefully we can make up for this next time. Regards, Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012 via mobile

Newly refurbished rooms and comfy comfy comfy. For the price it is a very nice find. Comfortable bed!!!! Rooms are small, but designed so that it is not a detraction. Value for money in a three and a half star motel.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ness C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve C, Manager at Mineral Sands Motel and Colony Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2012

Thanks Ness C, hopefully we'll see you again. Regards, Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Quite good compared to other 3.5 star we've stayed at. It pays to ask for a refurbished room as these are fairly good for the price. Our friends had an older room which was OK but probably due for a paint and tidy up, ours was a bit more modern. Hope they open the restaurant again soon as the $10 weekend specials were great!
Don't know where the last review got their info from as I checked with the managers, it's AAA rated at 3.5 stars and I reckon that's about right.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room!
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve C, Manager at Mineral Sands Motel and Colony Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2012

Thanks Jack, slowly getting all the rooms refurbished and hopefully all will be complete within the next 12 months or so. Regards, Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews