We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to standard”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mineral Sands Motel and Colony Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Maryborough
Certificate of Excellence
Gladstone, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not up to standard”
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Lastminute had this motel rate at 4 star. It didn't live up to a 4 star rating - family room was tiny, bathrooms were ensuites (there is a size difference!), tiny airconditioner couldn't cool the room, no restaurant (many pictures of it in the advertising), the bed bows on the sides so that half of you hangs off the sides (and we are small people).
On the plus side - it was clean and convenient. We were able to walk to a great Thai restaurant up the road.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllAroundTrip1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve C, Manager at Mineral Sands Motel and Colony Restaurant, responded to this review, 18 January 2013
Thanks AllAroundTrip1,
We are not, and never have, advertised our motel as a four star. Please take another look and have a good think before putting these reviews up for all to see. This motel offers 3.5 rated accomodation and is priced to the same standards as every other motel in the district.

The restaurant has been closed for some time due to economic circumstances; there is a sign on the front window advising guests, as well we have inserted “Our restaurant is temporarily closed” on our website www.mineralsands.com.au. This has been in place since the restaurant closed so not sure why or how you missed this?

Not sure what room you stayed in but if you hang out of a queen size bed then maybe we need to look at replacing them with Kings??

Thanks for staying with us and we can see where we can improve. Just wish that all the happy and contented guests would write a review for us now and then!

Regards,
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    21
    4
    5
    1
See reviews for
6
14
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

I have stayed at my fair share of budget accommodation and I don't expect much, a bed and bathroom is really all I need, I don't care about the quality of showers, or the amount of room we have. But I booked here due to the extras we were offered on the website - free Internet, restaurant on site, tropical beer garden... Well none of these were available during my stay, the restaurant and beer garden were closed (during summer - I would have thought this would be their busy time?!?) and when I enquired about the Internet password I was told it wasn't working - yet I can clearly see the connection when I search for available internet connections on my laptop...
On top of this, I was woken up this morning by the staff at 8:30am ready to clean my room - only the chain stopped her from walking right in - perhaps waiting till at least 9 or 10am would be more appropriate?!? We left the room at 9am, got back at 5pm and the room ended up not being serviced at all.
Not the most unpleasant hotel I've ever been in - I found the room acceptable, however I feel like I could have been informed sooner (perhaps even at check in) that all these extras were not available so I could have been given the option of choosing to stay elsewhere in Maryborough.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pulpful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve C, Manager at Mineral Sands Motel and Colony Restaurant, responded to this review, 18 January 2013
Thanks pulpful,
Firstly let me say that we had a relief manager looking after the place while we were on break, so we sincerely apologise that our service wasn't up to the standards which we normally put in place.
We haven’t been able to confirm what happened to your room not being cleaned but assume it was miscommunication as it’s our policy to service the rooms daily.

The internet is offered free to guests and entering the password supplied usually gets this service, again we apologise but we don’t know why you couldn’t gain access.

The restaurant has been closed for some time due to economic circumstances; there is a sign on the front window advising guests, as well we have inserted “Our restaurant is temporarily closed” on our website www.mineralsands.com.au. This has been in place since the restaurant closed so not sure why or how you missed this?

We have advised guests that there is are 2 restaurants and a take away food strip 50m up the street and another 50 will get you to 2 of the biggest fast food chains in the country, so the choice of food is well catered for.

Regards, Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013 via mobile

This stay was in an older room and unfortunately the bed was not comfortable as I did feel the springs. The decor was fine, but area in the bathroom was limited, i.e. was a bit tight getting to the toilet, shower a nice size though. The room was clean, but the fridge had an odd smell.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ness C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve C, Manager at Mineral Sands Motel and Colony Restaurant, responded to this review, 18 January 2013
Thanks Ness C,
We are a 3.5 rated motel so while we can't offer the same as the 4 star's, but most of our guests just want a nice clean room so thanks for your feedback.

We just need to encourage our guests to fill out the feedback form rather that post a review on this site, that way we know exactly what the problem is and in which room so we can deal with it straight away.

We'd rather fix something with a friendly smile rather than find out something weeks later. Just wish we could put up all the good feedback forms we have on this site to balance out the reviews a bit.

Anyway, thanks again,
Regards,
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

I wish I'd read the reviews before I stayed here. Right now I'm laying awake in one of their beds, unable to sleep because of the springs sticking into my back. How old are they!!! The location isnt bad except for the never ending frogs crocking because of the rain. Someone standing behind the counter when I arrived looked like a family member and just gave me a filthy look, didn't say anything and waited for someone else to realize I was there. Never again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anraeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve C, Manager at Mineral Sands Motel and Colony Restaurant, responded to this review, 29 December 2012
There's no need to post these sorts of comments. Fair enough if the bed was uncomfortable for you, you let us know at 6:30am and we happily refunded your 2nd night, which we were under no obligation to do so. We understand that when you wrote the review you must have been very tired as it seemed a reflection of the previous review to get your frustrations known to as many people who would care to listen.
We have checked the bed you referred to, and are confident to report that there are definitely no springs poking through, in fact when we looked at previous guest feedback forms it was surprising the number of compliments on that particular bed, so we find your comment quite out of the ordinary. We will try and halt any further rainfall at night in an effort to eliminate all frog noises. Also apologies for our disabled friend, she shouldn’t have been behind the counter and most people realize her communication issues are something she cannot help.
None the less, thank you for your feedback and we will attempt to improve where we can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bundaberg
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2012

the mattress , felt like they should of been throw away 5 years ago, springs digging in the side alnight. the room needs a good clean

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Helpful?
Thank Richard241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve C, Manager at Mineral Sands Motel and Colony Restaurant, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Sorry to read your review, sadly sometimes it's the only way to find out issues, so I wish you would have filled out the feedback form so we could have fixed the problem. We'll try and work out which room it was, thanks for staying with us, hopefully we can make up for this next time. Regards, Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012 via mobile

Newly refurbished rooms and comfy comfy comfy. For the price it is a very nice find. Comfortable bed!!!! Rooms are small, but designed so that it is not a detraction. Value for money in a three and a half star motel.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ness C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve C, Manager at Mineral Sands Motel and Colony Restaurant, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Thanks Ness C, hopefully we'll see you again. Regards, Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moranbah
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Quite good compared to other 3.5 star we've stayed at. It pays to ask for a refurbished room as these are fairly good for the price. Our friends had an older room which was OK but probably due for a paint and tidy up, ours was a bit more modern. Hope they open the restaurant again soon as the $10 weekend specials were great!
Don't know where the last review got their info from as I checked with the managers, it's AAA rated at 3.5 stars and I reckon that's about right.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve C, Manager at Mineral Sands Motel and Colony Restaurant, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Thanks Jack, slowly getting all the rooms refurbished and hopefully all will be complete within the next 12 months or so. Regards, Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maryborough
0.4 mi away
Carriers Arms Hotel Motel
Carriers Arms Hotel Motel
#6 of 11 in Maryborough
49 reviews
21.3 mi away
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
#1 of 23 in Hervey Bay
267 reviews
1.7 mi away
Maryborough Motel and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
McNevins Maryborough Motel
McNevins Maryborough Motel
#3 of 11 in Maryborough
125 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Kimba Lodge Motel
0.3 mi away
Blue Shades Motel
Blue Shades Motel
#4 of 11 in Maryborough
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mineral Sands Motel and Colony Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mineral Sands Motel and Colony Restaurant

Property: Mineral Sands Motel and Colony Restaurant
Address: 75 Ferry St, Maryborough, Queensland 4650, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Maryborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Maryborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mineral Sands Motel and Colony Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With twenty air-conditioned rooms, a fully licensed restaurant, tropical beer garden and swimming pool, we will do our very best to ensure you have a pleasant stay and are completely relaxed during your time as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mineral Sands Motel and Colony Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing