We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mineral Sands Motel and Colony Restaurant

Mineral Sands Motel and Colony Restaurant
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mineral Sands Motel and Colony Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Maryborough
Rockhampton, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

I stay here when passing through for work. Motel has improved vastly since new management has taken over. The hostess is lovely and friendly and attentive to any needs and up for a good conversation at night in the beer garden. Makes those lonely travel nights feel like you are staying with family. Those discouraged in the past should give it a second shot as its definitely improved.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    19
    4
    5
    1
See reviews for
6
12
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Mineral Sands is now under new management and well worth a second chance! New manager very friendly and obliging; great service and a genuine interest in the clientele. My room was large, clean and well set up - not often a family room has two bathrooms. Great location, close to shops and amenities. Easy parking. Will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a downstairs room if you have large amounts of luggage - saves lugging it up a flight of ste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sara972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

Not sure why this has been given such a bad wrap by others.
We had great service, they let us view the rooms before we booked. Clean & tidy, good location, a little noisy with a couple of big trucks but you can see that from the location so if you don't want noise then find a back street motel.
Good nights sleep had by the whole family. No problem recommending this one for an over nighter or two.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NancyACotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve C, Manager at Mineral Sands Motel and Colony Restaurant, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Thanks Nancy, We were starting to think we did something in a previous life to deserve all the bad reports! We try and give good value and service so not sure why people have to write such reviews but I guess you can't please everyone.
Thanks again, we really appreciate your review
Regards, Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryborough, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

stayed one night the room was not clean a god vacuum would not have gone astray sneezed all night from dust. $90 for a room double bed and small carton of milk given at reception on the way in. not one thing was offered by staff who were in need of a personality. Give it a miss up the road is Ned Kellys at least you get value for money and staff are really courteous and helpful.

Room Tip: keep driving
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phil v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve C, Manager at Mineral Sands Motel and Colony Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Phil, all our rooms are serviced daily, this includes vacuuming, making the bed, cleanup, restocking of tea, coffee and biscuits.
Yes, we also give guests a small carton of milk on arrival to go with the tea and coffee provided, as would 99% of other motels, what did we miss out on? Bacon & Eggs served up to your highness on a silver platter?
Staff are always on hand to offer anything that a guest requires within reason, take a good look at yourself, maybe you are the one in need of a personality.
Phil V of Maryborough (?), fair dinkum, if you're going to give your mates at Ned Kelly a rap then do it by all means, but don't do it at someone else's expense, or, if you are a bona fida traveller then maybe you need to bring your boyfriend and mother next time to wipe your sneezy nose, sounds like you need both of them with you for pampering.
Regards,
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gladstone, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013

Lastminute had this motel rate at 4 star. It didn't live up to a 4 star rating - family room was tiny, bathrooms were ensuites (there is a size difference!), tiny airconditioner couldn't cool the room, no restaurant (many pictures of it in the advertising), the bed bows on the sides so that half of you hangs off the sides (and we are small people).
On the plus side - it was clean and convenient. We were able to walk to a great Thai restaurant up the road.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AllAroundTrip1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve C, Manager at Mineral Sands Motel and Colony Restaurant, responded to this review, 18 January 2013
Thanks AllAroundTrip1,
We are not, and never have, advertised our motel as a four star. Please take another look and have a good think before putting these reviews up for all to see. This motel offers 3.5 rated accomodation and is priced to the same standards as every other motel in the district.

The restaurant has been closed for some time due to economic circumstances; there is a sign on the front window advising guests, as well we have inserted “Our restaurant is temporarily closed” on our website www.mineralsands.com.au. This has been in place since the restaurant closed so not sure why or how you missed this?

Not sure what room you stayed in but if you hang out of a queen size bed then maybe we need to look at replacing them with Kings??

Thanks for staying with us and we can see where we can improve. Just wish that all the happy and contented guests would write a review for us now and then!

Regards,
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

I have stayed at my fair share of budget accommodation and I don't expect much, a bed and bathroom is really all I need, I don't care about the quality of showers, or the amount of room we have. But I booked here due to the extras we were offered on the website - free Internet, restaurant on site, tropical beer garden... Well none of these were available during my stay, the restaurant and beer garden were closed (during summer - I would have thought this would be their busy time?!?) and when I enquired about the Internet password I was told it wasn't working - yet I can clearly see the connection when I search for available internet connections on my laptop...
On top of this, I was woken up this morning by the staff at 8:30am ready to clean my room - only the chain stopped her from walking right in - perhaps waiting till at least 9 or 10am would be more appropriate?!? We left the room at 9am, got back at 5pm and the room ended up not being serviced at all.
Not the most unpleasant hotel I've ever been in - I found the room acceptable, however I feel like I could have been informed sooner (perhaps even at check in) that all these extras were not available so I could have been given the option of choosing to stay elsewhere in Maryborough.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pulpful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve C, Manager at Mineral Sands Motel and Colony Restaurant, responded to this review, 18 January 2013
Thanks pulpful,
Firstly let me say that we had a relief manager looking after the place while we were on break, so we sincerely apologise that our service wasn't up to the standards which we normally put in place.
We haven’t been able to confirm what happened to your room not being cleaned but assume it was miscommunication as it’s our policy to service the rooms daily.

The internet is offered free to guests and entering the password supplied usually gets this service, again we apologise but we don’t know why you couldn’t gain access.

The restaurant has been closed for some time due to economic circumstances; there is a sign on the front window advising guests, as well we have inserted “Our restaurant is temporarily closed” on our website www.mineralsands.com.au. This has been in place since the restaurant closed so not sure why or how you missed this?

We have advised guests that there is are 2 restaurants and a take away food strip 50m up the street and another 50 will get you to 2 of the biggest fast food chains in the country, so the choice of food is well catered for.

Regards, Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013 via mobile

This stay was in an older room and unfortunately the bed was not comfortable as I did feel the springs. The decor was fine, but area in the bathroom was limited, i.e. was a bit tight getting to the toilet, shower a nice size though. The room was clean, but the fridge had an odd smell.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ness C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve C, Manager at Mineral Sands Motel and Colony Restaurant, responded to this review, 18 January 2013
Thanks Ness C,
We are a 3.5 rated motel so while we can't offer the same as the 4 star's, but most of our guests just want a nice clean room so thanks for your feedback.

We just need to encourage our guests to fill out the feedback form rather that post a review on this site, that way we know exactly what the problem is and in which room so we can deal with it straight away.

We'd rather fix something with a friendly smile rather than find out something weeks later. Just wish we could put up all the good feedback forms we have on this site to balance out the reviews a bit.

Anyway, thanks again,
Regards,
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maryborough hotels
1.7 mi away
Maryborough Motel and Conference Centre
0.4 mi away
Carriers Arms Hotel Motel
Carriers Arms Hotel Motel
#6 of 11 in Maryborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cara Motel
Cara Motel
#1 of 11 in Maryborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kimba Lodge Motel
0.8 mi away
McNevins Maryborough Motel
McNevins Maryborough Motel
#3 of 11 in Maryborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blue Shades Motel
Blue Shades Motel
#4 of 11 in Maryborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mineral Sands Motel and Colony Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mineral Sands Motel and Colony Restaurant

Property: Mineral Sands Motel and Colony Restaurant
Address: 75 Ferry St, Maryborough, Queensland 4650, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Maryborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Maryborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mineral Sands Motel and Colony Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With twenty air-conditioned rooms, a fully licensed restaurant, tropical beer garden and swimming pool, we will do our very best to ensure you have a pleasant stay and are completely relaxed during your time as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Mineral Sands Motel and Colony Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing